Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Richard Thompson’s best album in years
I have always felt that, despite his undoubted guitar and songwriting talent and his distinctive and original style, Richard Thompson’s solo albums have been quite hard work to listen to, on account of his somewhat expressionless voice and the often bleak subject matter of his songs. In contrast, his albums with his former wife Linda were greatly enhanced by her...
Published on 24 Feb 2004

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great man; slightly disappointing album
Richard Thompson's 1999 album Mock Tudor seems to follow the trend of much of the former Fairport Convention guitarist's solo output. It's well crafted with some fine gutsy singing and tasteful playing. All in all very worthy...but a little dull!

Despite this, there are some highlights with the early Joe Jackson-like new wave reggae of Crawl Back (Under My...
Published on 26 Feb 2009 by Greg Farefield-Rose


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Richard Thompson’s best album in years, 24 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mock Tudor (Audio CD)
I have always felt that, despite his undoubted guitar and songwriting talent and his distinctive and original style, Richard Thompson’s solo albums have been quite hard work to listen to, on account of his somewhat expressionless voice and the often bleak subject matter of his songs. In contrast, his albums with his former wife Linda were greatly enhanced by her voice, which brought out the best in both melancholy and cheerful songs. For well over a decade Richard’s many solo albums have seemed rather lugubrious, and this was not helped by the slightly incongruous production on some albums. However, this is all rectified on Mock Tudor, a loosely thematic collection of great songs about life in suburbia, which has a sensitive and contemporary production sound that enlivens the songs rather than weighing them down. Richard is as sardonic as ever, but the songs bound along effortlessly in a manner slightly reminiscent of Mark Knopfler. A great album that is serious but won’t make you miserable. It’s good value at nearly an hour long, and the artwork is stylish too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite - even for Richard Thompson..., 5 Nov 1999
This review is from: Mock Tudor (Audio CD)
Although I was not particularly keen on the rockabiliy-type feel of the title track, the lyrics of "Cocksferry Queen" hit you squarely in the groin. I don't enjoy sounding sycophantic, but this is truly a five-star job. These are catchy, well-crafted tunes and R.T. easily deserves the "guitartist/songwriter of the millenuim" award. The album reeks with humour and stylistic versatility throughout. The songs never lose their power or lyrical sharpness. I know that these tunes will never receive airplay, as they are too good for radio! My favourite tune - the bittersweet "Sights and Sounds of London Town" and the acidic "Bathseba Smiles". Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars English folk rocker on form, 29 May 2002
This review is from: Mock Tudor (Audio CD)
Richard Thompson fans already know to expect finely crafted tunes with haunting lyrics, and this album will not disappoint. We're in the familiar territory of unrequited love, betrayed love and the fag end of failed relationships, and Thompson has lost none of his ability to tug at the heartstrings. But the uninitiated needn't be put of by the thought of all this unrelenting misery, because some of these songs really rock! "Sibella" and "Sights and Sounds of London Town" stand out as catchy songs with singalong choruses, and should be enough to convert even those suspicious of folk rock. I'm sure by now that Richard Thompson is resigned to critical acclaim, and relative commercial obscurity, but on the basis of this album, failure to achieve mass popularity is not easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, superb musicianship, 27 Oct 2004
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mock Tudor (Audio CD)
This album once again displays Thompson's mastery of styles to great effect, whilst the looser production represents a break with the albums that came before. For example, there is beautiful harmonica on Cooksferry Queen and excellent acoustic guitar playing on Sights And Sounds Of London. One of the highlights is the poetic masterpiece Walking The Long Miles Home. Uninhabited Man, Hard On Me and Bathsheba Smiles are powerful and intense rock songs about loss and regret. This is a superb album of memorable songs that match the best tracks on Amnesia and Rumor And Sigh. As to be expected, his guitar playing is brilliant throughout. Mock Tudor is right up there with Thompsn's best work of the last ten years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best in years, 24 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mock Tudor (Audio CD)
Richard Thompson has the problem of living up to early brilliance. All his albums with ex-wife Linda are excellent, with the last, Shoot Out the Lights, among the greatest pop records ever made.
Since then, he's struggled to find his voice (literally and figuratively), and has had some regrettable associations with heavy-handed producers whose cobbled-together-in-the-studio approach never showed him at his best.
Mock Tudor has that live-in-the-studio feel of his early eighties records, and it just crackles. The songwriting is varied and of evenly high quality, and he's in fine form as a singer, using his bad vocal qualities to great effect. It's also a guitarist's guitarist's album, with Richard's usual never-a-cliche-to-be-found playing just blistering on top of Danny Thompson's powerful bass grooves.
And see him live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars That's All Amen!, 19 Oct 2003
This review is from: Mock Tudor (Audio CD)
There really isn't a lot more that can be said about Richard Thompson. Terrific live, wonderful guitarist, prolific writer and critically praised. But still virtually ignored in his own country. Now I know he has a loyal following (I'm one of them), and I'm sure he makes a tidy living. I'm also sure he has no desire to be on the "Des O'Connor" show or on the front page of "Hello" magazine. But to quote Eddie Cochran "C'mon Everybody" - this guy has been writing songs for over thirty years and it would be easy to list at least 6 absolute classic songs he has written. So why don't more people know his work. It really cheeses me off (I thought of another phrase but I can't use it) when at every years end, some trendy critic (trendy = someone younger than me - not doing a days work) bangs on about how RT's latest album is the one of the best of the year. When previously he hasn't even mentioned it. So to quote Mr Townshend - "Lets see action" - start buying his records now. On this very album there is some very fine material, but the track called "Uninhabited Man" is a must hear - must buy classic. So don't wait till Steve Smarmy in "The Protector" newspaper or Samantha Smirk in "W" magazine tell you in 5 years what an essential song this is. Buy this album now, search his back catalogue tomorrow...That's All Amen, Close the Door.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost (but not quite) as good as his earlier stuff, 21 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mock Tudor (Audio CD)
A tremendous album, if not quite to the spectacular standards set on You Me Us, Mirror Blue and I Want to See The Bright Lights Tonight. Thompson's incredible guitar playing is shown to best effect on the gutter observations of "Sights and Sounds of London Town" and the pounding rock of "Hard On Me". Once again, he manages to encompass a whole range of styles and emotions on different tracks - almost cajun on "Cooksferry Queen", a lovely touch of silver band on "Dry My Tears and Move On", and a dark, sinister 'folk' in "Hope You Like The New Me". The lyrics are (mostly) as sharp as ever - though perhaps not of the consistently 'subtle yet vicious' high standard of Mirror Blue. In all, one of the outstanding albums of 1999.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to top form, 5 Jun 2004
By 
This review is from: Mock Tudor (Audio CD)
Despite being the best guitarist in the world, RT has been producing a few curate's eggs of late. With this album, however, he returned to his best form. There's not a dud track here, and everything about this homage to his North London roots is excellent. (By the way, if you read "The Guv'nor" by Ashley Hutchings, everything on this album will be explained.) Sitting here writing this, only a mile or two from the Cooksferry roundabout (now devoid of queens), I'm listening to "Walking the Long Miles home" - a song about missing the last bus and having to leg it back to the suburbs. We've all been there, but RT says it better than anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant album, 18 Aug 2011
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mock Tudor (Audio CD)
Even by Richard Thompson's stellar standards, this is a brilliant album. It hadn't come across it for some reason until a friend described it to me recently as "one of the great disregarded albums," which is a very good description. The songs are musically excellent and very singable in a terrific variety of styles, and played with the virtuosity you'd expect from Richard Thompson.

The songs also, of course, have exceptionally thoughtful and intelligent lyrics. There is a good deal of sadness, cynicism and well-directed bile (for example: "Bathsheba smiles.../She works the room/Air-kisses every victim twice/She spreads her joy around." That "victim" is a perfectly chosen word), but there are also some very warm insights into the conundrums of life and love like the gangster made human by love in Cooks Ferry Queen, or the rocky but lovely Sibella ("Sibella, we don't make sense together/But my heart's with you").

I think this album is a near-masterpiece of great songwriting and musicianship. It's very varied and enjoyable from start to finish and I recommend it wholeheartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Great Album from one of Britain's finest, 1 April 2000
This review is from: Mock Tudor (Audio CD)
I came across Richard Thompson when my aunt took me to one of his concerts and for that I am eternally grateful! This is one of his best albums and one that has never left my stereo. There is not one song that falters from the album's standard of fantastic dark and comic songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mock Tudor
Mock Tudor by Richard Thompson (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews