Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars30
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 15 May 2004
1998 through 2000 were bad years for bands whose highpoints were the 80's. Def Leppard, along with other bands from their era tried to change their sound to fit in -- the only other alternative was to fade away. With "Euphoria" the band returned to the signature sound they left off with after "Hysteria". Had this album been released after "Hysteria" rather than "Adrenalize," I think it would have done much better. Since it was released during the "Dark Ages" of music: the boy-band-brainless-teen-pap era, the album never had a real chance for chart success. Now that the music listening audience at large seems to be coming back to its senses, I'm hoping people rediscover the good music that was being produced during these lean years. This is one album that deserves another listen.
This truly is a very good album of material. "Demolition Man," "Promises," "Paper Sun," "It's Only Love," "21st Century Girl" and "Day After Day" are really good Def Leppard songs while the rest are only so-so. There is definitely a high level of energy throughout "Euphoria" that the band seemed lacking on their previous effort, "Slang," and it shows in the music. There are a few exceptions on the CD (the cheesy "Back in Your Face" comes to mind), but those tracks are forgivable for all the good material contained within.
If you lost track of the band after "Hysteria," pick this album up, as it's a good place to see all the good music you've been missing!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 10 November 2002
After getting the "Retroactive" album (a collection of older bits n pieces) and the "Vault" greatest hits album out of their system, Def Leppard released "Slang" and we finally got to hear what the new line up (now including Vivian Campbell) would sound like... and it was a bit of a disappointment as Def Leppard really did try something new and probably left most of their older fans scratching their heads. So what would the next album bring??? "Euphoria" was the answer... literally!
This is Def Leppard getting back to basics with the feel of energy and enthusiasm that was in the earlier albums. Tracks such as "Day after Day" (sounding a bit like "Fractured Love" or "Gods of War" or perhaps "High N Dry" in parts??) and "Disintegrate" demonstrate that, whilst "Kings of Oblivion" will grow on you instantly and make you want to play the whole album again!
Even fans of the middle Def Lep period of Hysteria/Adrenalize won't be disappointed with songs such as "Promises" and "All Night" very much fitting into that period with their feel... and with tongue in cheek humour returning again! "I'm back in your face" sings Joe... Never a truer word uttered!!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 18 January 2002
After a slight "pause" in their career with the previosly released "Slang" album, the Leps are back in fine form with "Euphoria".
"Euphoria" is very reminicent of their heady "Pyromania" and "Hysteria" days and favourite tracks for me are "Back In Your Face" which they certainly are and the beautiful ballad "Goodbye".
To all fans of classic rock, especially the early Def Leppard sound, this is definitely worth a listen. One of the best albums they have released in years. There isn't one bad track on the album - ENJOY!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 2 November 2001
You can say what you want about Def Leppard, but it won't stop them to make great rock music. There was many of us that was quite disapointed about "Slang" back in 1996, and we thougt their finest moment was past. But this album proves that they are BACK IN YOUR FACE again. At least they should, cause this is nothing but a masterpiece! Their opening track "Demolition man" is probably the best they ever done, and "Promises" (the first single) is something between "Animal" and "Photograph" - the result has to be great! "Back in your face", (already mentioned) does really prove their talent. I can't comment all the songs, but there is really no poor songs here. Of course you have to buy this one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 17 July 2000
The Webster's Dictionary defines Euphoria as "A feeling of well being or elation." After listening to Def Leppard's "Euphoria" I would have to say that Def Leppard fans will be in this state with this album. "Euphoria" is solid on every track. The overall feel is like their "Hysteria" album, with catchy tunes and a definite upbeat style. They have also included two beautiful ballads on this one, "Goodbye" and "It's Only Love". This album earns itself an immediate "Classic Def Leppard" title. It is another shining example of a melodic hard rock band sticking with their original style and proving once and for all that these bands and this style of music are here to stay. LOTS of bands within this genre have recent releases that ROCK. If you like Def Leppard then DEFINITELY pick up "Euphoria", but also take a look at some of your other favorites. You may be surprised how many of them have recent releases. "Don't wait for a better day. Or you won't get there at all."-Kane Roberts-(Used with his kind permission)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 10 April 2001
Let's be honest with each other here: Slang was not the best album the Leps ever did. To be brutally honest, apart from a couple of tracks, it sucked. The Def Leppard I enjoyed had huge guitars, big harmonies and more rock than a Yorkshire quarry, and this certainly wasn't it. Imagine my surprise when I stuck the CD of Euphoria in my player and hit that button, to be greeted with the awesome blast of the Leps back on true rocking form. My favourite track on the album just as to be Demolition Man, the thundering opener, and from there the album just doesn't slacken off. I saw Def Leppard when they toured the album and it was plain to see that they were proud of what they'd done. It's been a while boys, good to see you back. Come back soon, in a world dominated by plastic pop we need something that rocks as well as you...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
This album will always be special to me as i got into def leppard just as it was been released and had only heard there greatest hits album vault and this should have been its follow up instead of the awful slang which is neither heavy rock, pop indie or nothing. I was not into all the tracks at first but as times gone on ive got into the album more. Demolition man brings back memories of seen them at sheffield in 1999 when they opened with this track. BAck in your face is pure glam rock and even slower tracks like its goodbye and its only love are typical def leppard harmonies. Paper sun is typical def leppard polishead lead guitar breaks and could ahve easily been on hysteria. Fans should not compare this album to hysteria or pyromania as its going to be impossible for the band to better these. Def leppard have never produced anything as good as euphoria since. The album did well to reach number 11 in the charts upon its release in 1999 considering how unfashionable proper rock music was back then. Charts were dominated by dance music and boybands with a little bit of indie and with DAB radio just been launched then and no mysspace, facebook, you tube etc this great album got little promotion and for this reason it will be sadly forgotton by joe public
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 26 December 2008
I bought this album when it was first released. I was immediately unimpressed by it. The best I can describe it is that it's very similar in style with Adrenalize, which again I was never that impressed with ... I guess I'm one of those who still hanker for another Pyromania or Hysteria (or even a High'n'dry). However, it's not all bad. Demolition Man is a song that would have graced either of those big selling albums (and has a nice piece at the end by former F1 World Champion, Damon Hill), as would 'To be alive' which is highly reminiscent of 'Love Bites'. Although many people like 'Promises' I actually think it's a pretty weak song which doesn't really seem to get anywhere and is just an excuse for Phil Collen to show his guitar playing stamina. Other songs on the album are even weaker.

I've long since lost this album but will be getting it again, but only to help reconstruct my Def Leppard collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 23 November 2004
Leppard return with a great Album, 'Euphoria', which strangley fits in with the previous album, 'Slang', the last track on which was called 'Pearl Of Euphoria'.
The album brings the writing talents of the members forth in great detail, especially the Guitar Solo written by Phil, 'Disintegrate'.
If you're a long-time fan of Leppard or like me a new fan, this album is DEFinatly worth buying.
The album also contains some good ballads such as, 'To Be Alive', 'GoodBye' and 'It's Only Love'. There are also some great Rockin' tracks, such as the very Glitter-like 'Back In Your Face', and as mentioned before the guitar solo, 'Disintegrate'
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
The new millennium was a difficult time to be Def Leppard or a ‘melodic’ rock band in general. Where 92’s Adrenalize was a huge hit based on the unwavering fan anticipation following Hysteria, 96’s Slang was the band trying hard to both grow musically and fit in with the then current alternative bands that grew in the wake of grunge, effectively killing bands with strong melody and associations with the 1980’s.

By 1999, Def Leppard were at a position where they no longer cared what critics thought and were happy to appease their fan base by making an album that sounded like Def Leppard whilst using the technologies that the late 90’s afforded them. So out went the stripped down raw guitars and acoustic drums of Slang and in returned the ‘big’ sound they were renowned for. While they didn’t win new fans per se (although Backstreet Boys ripped off their harmonies), they actually made a damn good record perfect for the summer of 1999.

Taking the blueprint of Hysteria and Adrenalize, it has the big melodic tracks (Promises, Demolition Man), the epic tracks (Paper Sun, Day After Day) and the ballads (Goodbye, Guilty).

However, it also offers the glam rock Back In Your Face which was a sign of things to come. From this point on, DL didn’t shy away from their roots and the type of music they grew up with.

Also included is their stab at Prince style pop on All Night. This is the furthest they had ever come from their NWOBHM beginnings, whilst fitting on this album well, it’s probably one of my least favourite tracks from their entire catalogue. Joe Elliott was around 40 when this came out and to sing “Give it to me baby” repeatedly is a bit cringeworthy, even more so listening now.

Still, this album contains Promises, one of their best songs ever (what a chorus!). So while it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, it is a great return to form and is good for repeat listens. To this fan alone, Def Leppard were BACK IN YOUR FACE!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Adrenalize by Def Leppard (Audio CD - 1992)

Hysteria by Def Leppard (Audio CD - 1999)

Pyromania by Def Leppard (Audio CD - 1999)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.