Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Overlooked Album
1998 through 2000 were bad years for bands whose highpoints were the 80's. Def Leppard, along with other bands from their era tried to change their sound to fit in -- the only other alternative was to fade away. With "Euphoria" the band returned to the signature sound they left off with after "Hysteria". Had this album been released after "Hysteria" rather than...
Published on 15 May 2004 by James Choma

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half decent, but that's all.
I bought this album when it was first released. I was immediately unimpressed by it. The best I can describe it is that it's very similar in style with Adrenalize, which again I was never that impressed with ... I guess I'm one of those who still hanker for another Pyromania or Hysteria (or even a High'n'dry). However, it's not all bad. Demolition Man is a song that would...
Published on 26 Dec 2008 by TickledPink


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Trying too hard, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
After the dud which was Slang (actually enjoyed this but the media thought otherwise) came this. It sounds like a Def leppard tribute band trying to recreate the band's former glories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant music!, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
This C.D. is a must for fans both old & new! The boys power out their music, it is a must have if you are into Def Leopard! Great sound as always!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
Arrived promptly and packaged well. CD as described in very good condition. Love the holographic cover too! (wasn't expecting that) so was a lovely surprise. Played it over and over again. Brilliant stuff :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Trades Descriptions Error, 29 Sep 2010
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
Far better than the very 'un-Leppardy' Slang, Euphoria is, however, not as exciting, or indeed as euphoric as the title suggests. Saying that, it starts off making you believe that this is a very special album. 'Demolition Man' and 'Promises' are pure gold. The opener is urgent, bright and catchy. The follower is as good but changes mood slightly for an introspective track that is about as good as they get. Cracking. Then they go all 'rawk' and cheese with 'Back in Your Face'. It's not awful but it's definitely skippable. 'Goodbye' is not one of their best ballads either. The less said about 'All Night' the better. It's like 'Back...' only worse.

'Paper Sun' is where it gets better and it is a thoughtful track, both in tone and creatively. 'It's only Love' is missable. '21st Century Girl' is actually rather good fun, despite the title being one of the ones I thought I'd hate. 'To Be Alive' is ok but not very interesting, another ballad. 'Disintegrate' is one of the best tracks. It is only a few minutes long, an instrumental but it is exciting and fun and catchy (what Def Leppard is when they are good). The last 3 tracks are all of about the same quality and are 3 star efforts at best, none being particularly bad, but none stand out either.

There are about 5 tracks I would continue to listen to on here, the rest is forgettable. They got much better with their next release, X.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars PLAY IT VERY LOUDE, 1 July 2001
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
After a long time away this album shows they still have that rockin feeling, it is just as good as the other albums they have done in the past.
So carry on rocking, buy it and play it loude NOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Back to Basics, 12 Jun 2001
By 
Mr. P. I. Redford (Davos, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
My first Leppard album was Vault, I loved it big guitars, catchy hooks and biiger hair, and as it was a best of, good storng tracks that held up to modern scrutiny well. Then when Slang hit the streets I got that and it blew me away. Not really knowing much about the Leppard my mind was still open to thier (as I now know) change of direction.
So what of Euphoria? Well to be quit honest its a step back in time and boy does it show. It's so over processed its untrue. But I hear you cry that is the Lep sound we all Love. True.
Highlights on this album are Promises and Paper sun, low point is Back in your face, quite possibly one of the worst tracks I've heard in a long time.
So, all in all if you like the old Lep, get this its exactly like there mid 80's pomp. If you liked Slang then DONT get it try something like Richie Sambora's Undiscoverd soul instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just a little disappointing, 11 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
Sorry to take the ratings on this album down, but I find that people only tend to review the music they liked, giving an unfair display of what it is like. That's not to say I didn't like the album, and I certainly didn't hate it, but the truth is it just didn't appeal to me. Most songs are halfway between ballads and hard rock, never quite hitting on either. Two songs I definitely DID like were Demolition Man and Paper Sun, but found the others slightly lame. Maybe I just didn't listen hard enough. If you're a Def Leppard fan, it's a good buy. If not, buy it for someone who is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is an album that has more balls than Wimbledon!!, 14 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
This album is sheer brilliance. My favourite track is, well all of them! I just can't narrow it down to one! "Back in your Face" has all the clout of a true glam-rock anthem, "All Night" has the sleek sexiness of "Pour some Sugar on me", and "Promises" couldn't be more perfect as a single. The big stand out track on the album has to be "Paper Sun". Boys, you really have excelled yourself with this one. This is the song that holds importance for everyone. It has power guitars by the dozen and a big, fat pounding bass drum. There are ballads aplenty too on this album, (talk about value for money!). "To be alive" has to be my favourite, with "Goodbye" running at a close second. The only question is why is the album not very popular in Britain? Could it have anything to do with the lack of airplay on British radio stations? Radio executives take note. This album is perfection on a stick. Go and buy it to improve your standard of living!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leppard's got their spots back!!, 8 Jan 2000
By 
fieryaxeman (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
Absolutely superb! This is the album Adrenalize should have been (and wasn't!) and the best to emerge since Retro-Active!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The boys are back to their best, 28 Dec 1999
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
I may make some enemies here when i say that Slang was not a classic Leppard album but this, oh boy does this make up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad0de384)

This product

Euphoria
Euphoria by Def Leppard (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews