Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing
Track Listings
Disc: 1 of 2
1. Happy Together -- The Turtles
2. Dedicated To The One I Love -- The Mamas & The Papas
3. Waterloo Sunset -- The Kinks
4. A Whiter Shade Of Pale -- Procol Harum
5. A Groovy Kind Of Love -- The Mindbenders
6. Jesamine -- The Casuals
7. Don't Throw Your Love Away -- The Searchers
8. It Might As Well...
Published on 24 July 2012 by Christopher SHALLOW

versus
23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where is the complete track listing?
This is a compilation of Sixties music, supposedly - but how are we supposed to know this? There is no point in advertising compilation albums unless you provide a full listing of album tracks and the artistes to confirm whether or not they are original recordings. With so many compilation albums often extensively overlapping in content, I suspect that few people would...
Published on 26 Dec 2011 by Mr. A. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing, 24 July 2012
By 
Christopher SHALLOW "Marketing Maven" (Prague, Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sixties Summer Love (Audio CD)
Track Listings
Disc: 1 of 2
1. Happy Together -- The Turtles
2. Dedicated To The One I Love -- The Mamas & The Papas
3. Waterloo Sunset -- The Kinks
4. A Whiter Shade Of Pale -- Procol Harum
5. A Groovy Kind Of Love -- The Mindbenders
6. Jesamine -- The Casuals
7. Don't Throw Your Love Away -- The Searchers
8. It Might As Well Rain Until September -- Carole King
9. I'll Never Find Another You -- The Seekers
10. The Game Of Love -- Wayne Fontana & The Mindbenders
11. Wondrous Place -- Billy Fury
12. The More I See You -- Chris Montez
13. Just Like A Woman -- Manfred Mann
14. Sunny -- Bobby Hebb
15. Sitting In The Park -- Georgie Fame
16. Sorrow -- The Merseys
17. You Don't Have To Say You Love Me -- Dusty Springfield
18. The First Cut Is The Deepest -- PP Arnold
19. Will You Love Me Tomorrow? -- The Shirelles
20. You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin' -- The Righteous Brothers
21. This Old Heart Of Mine (Is Weak For You) -- The Isley Brothers
22. Make It Easy On Yourself -- The Walker Brothers
23. Only The Lonely -- Roy Orbison
24. Can't Get Used To Losing You -- Andy Williams
25. I Got You Babe -- Sonny & Cher
Disc: 2 of 2
1. God Only Knows -- The Beach Boys
2. He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother -- The Hollies
3. I've Gotta Get A Message To You -- Bee Gees
4. The House Of The Rising Sun -- The Animals
5. Man Of The World -- Fleetwood Mac
6. Nights In White Satin -- The Moody Blues
7. Unchained Melody -- The Righteous Brothers
8. Love Is All Around -- The Troggs
9. My Sentimental Friend -- Herman's Hermits
10. Don't Let The Sun Catch You Crying -- Gerry & The Pacemakers
11. Hey Paula -- Paul & Paula
12. A World Without You -- Peter & Gordon
13. Something's Gotten Hold Of My Heart -- Gene Pitney
14. The Twelfth Of Never -- Cliff Richard
15. True Love Ways -- Buddy Holly
16. Hang On To A Dream -- Tim Hardin
17. I Heard It Through The Grapevine -- Marvin Gaye
18. When A Man Loves A Woman -- Percy Sledge
19. Stand By Me -- Ben E. King
20. My Cherie Amour -- Stevie Wonder
21. I Say A Little Prayer -- Aretha Franklin
22. The Tracks OF My Tears - Smokey Robinson & The The Miracles
23. What Becomes Of The Brokenhearted -- Jimmy Ruffin
24. Mad About The Boy -- Dinah Washington
25. The Girl From Ipanema -- Astrud Gilberto

Along with a host of very well-known tracks, a few lesser-known ones, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For just one track, 18 April 2010
By 
Mr. N. P. Fitzsimons (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sixties Summer Love (Audio CD)
This is a superb compilation and as the previous reviewer stated - heavily advertised during the summer of 1999 on TV. Most of the tracks sixties afficionados will know very well and have in their collection. However the point of my brief review is to inform buyers that this is one of the few CD's where THE MERSEYS - SORROW can be found. I am surprised this CD is priced so low as the aforementioned track is so hard to find. Try other 60's compilations and you'll see what I mean. The Merseys own CD A & B Sides Rarities etc (which is not that great incidentally) featuring Sorrow is also commanding very high prices. Although Bowie covered this track on Pin Ups in 1973 and had a huge hit with it - it's the Merseys version which sums up mid 1960's early pyschedelia. Conclusion - for those who don't have this track - forget the Merseys A & B's... and buy this CD now before it's price rockets out of all proportion.

Thanking you for reading this little piece of data.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sixties collection, not just for summer, 17 Nov 2002
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sixties Summer Love (Audio CD)
This compilation was well-advertised at the time of it's release in the summer of 1999. It is now hard to find in the shops but it's still available from Amazon, fortunately.

It is very different from the sixties summer party album which I've also reviewed. There are a few tracks which appear on both collections, but not many, especially considering that there are 50 here and 54 on the other collection. This, being a love collection rather than a party album, is generally slower.

The title is slightly misleading - there are very few summer songs (Sunny and Sitting in the park are the obvious ones) so this works just as well at any time of year. Still, it seems that the word summer in the title helps sales at that time of the year. Also, I've never thought of Whiter shade of pale or House of the rising sun as love songs - but they are classics, so nobody will object to their inclusion.

Of course, there have been many double-CD's of sixties hits released over the last few years. Some tracks are included more often than others and which ones appeal most will often depend on how many of your personal favorites are included, or how many songs you are missing from your own collection. However, this is undoubtedly a very strong compilation which I find extremely enjoyable listening.

By popular request, here is the track listing.

CD 1

1 Turtles* - Happy Together 2:56
2 Mamas & The Papas, The - Dedicated To The One I Love 2:59
3 Kinks, The - Waterloo Sunset 3:15
4 Procol Harum - A Whiter Shade Of Pale 4:00
5 Mindbenders* - A Groovy Kind Of Love 2:00
6 Casuals, The - Jesamine 3:34
7 Searchers, The - Don't Throw Your Love Away 2:16
8 Carole King - It Might As Well Rain Until September 2:26
9 Seekers* - I'll Never Find Another You 2:42
10 Wayne Fontana & Mindbenders, The - The Game Of Love 2:07
11 Billy Fury - Wondrous Place 2:24
12 Chris Montez - The More I See You 2:40
13 Manfred Mann - Just Like A Woman 2:52
14 Bobby Hebb - Sunny 2:42
15 Georgie Fame - Sitting In The Park 3:20
16 Merseys, The - Sorrow 2:16
17 Dusty Springfield - You Don't Have To Say You Love Me 2:49
18 PP Arnold* - The First Cut Is The Deepest 3:14
19 Shirelles, The - Will You Love Me Tomorrow 2:41
20 Righteous Brothers, The - You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin' 3:41
21 Isley Brothers, The - This Old Heart Of Mine (Is Weak For You) 2:46
22 Walker Brothers, The - Make It Easy On Yourself 3:12
23 Roy Orbison - Only The Lonely 2:25
24 Andy Williams - Can't Get Used To Losing You 2:22
25 Sonny & Cher - I Got You Babe 3:12

CD2

1 Beach Boys* - God Only Knows 2:50
2 Hollies* - He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother 4:15
3 Bee Gees - I've Gotta Get A Message To You 2:52
4 Animals, The - House Of The Rising Sun 4:29
5 Fleetwood Mac - Man Of The World 2:49
6 Moody Blues, The - Nights In White Satin 4:27
7 Righteous Brothers, The - Unchained Melody 3:37
8 Troggs, The - Love Is All Around 2:59
9 Herman's Hermits - My Sentimental Friend 3:17
10 Gerry & The Pacemakers - Don't Let The Sun Catch You Crying 2:37
11 Paul & Paula - Hey Paula 2:32
12 Peter & Gordon - A World Without Love 2:40
13 Gene Pitney - Something's Gotten Hold Of My Heart 3:38
14 Cliff Richard - The Twelfth Of Never 2:43
15 Buddy Holly - True Love Wars 2:50
16 Tim Hardin - Hang On To A Dream 2:03
17 Marvin Gaye - I Heard It Through The Grapevine 3:14
18 Percy Sledge - When A Man Loves A Woman 2:56
19 Ben E. King - Stand By Me 3:00
20 Stevie Wonder - My Cherie Amour 2:56
21 Aretha Franklin - I Say A Little Prayer 3:31
22 Smokey Robinson & The Miracles* - The Tracks Of My Tears 2:51
23 Jimmy Ruffin - What Becomes Of The Brokenhearted 2:53
24 Dinah Washington - Mad About The Boy 2:47
25 Astrud Gilberto - The Girl From Ipanema 3:41
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where is the complete track listing?, 26 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. A. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sixties Summer Love (Audio CD)
This is a compilation of Sixties music, supposedly - but how are we supposed to know this? There is no point in advertising compilation albums unless you provide a full listing of album tracks and the artistes to confirm whether or not they are original recordings. With so many compilation albums often extensively overlapping in content, I suspect that few people would purchase such an album simply on the strength of its title and/or a reference to the Sixties. Provision of a full track listing ought to be a compulsory requirement for advertising albums on Amazon. After all, it is not unknown for the same album title from the same artiste to be issued with different mixes of tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good old sixties, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sixties Summer Love (Audio CD)
I love the sixties a great varied album with some great songs which will always be played. Would recommend highly great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Sixties Selection, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sixties Summer Love (Audio CD)
I particularly like the track selection on this compilation. Although I have many other sixties compilations, this was the only one that included the brilliant 'Sorrow' by the Merseys.Naturally, I had to have it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Summer "Sixties" always a feel good experience!, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sixties Summer Love (Audio CD)
All original recordings.Personally I like earlier 60s music and there is a few on here,but this is more for the person who likes the later stuff,but its still good listening.nice one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars would definitely use in the future, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sixties Summer Love (Audio CD)
really satisfied with my purchase and with a really good service,will always be looking to see what else is on offer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The one to get, 1 Nov 2012
By 
CJ Mann "cJlovesJazz" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sixties Summer Love (Audio CD)
I've never thought of myself as a fan of sixties music, despite growing up in the sixties. As I've got older (more mature?) I've come to appreciate the songwriting craft, musicianship and production values to be found in so many songs.

I bought this for some DJ'ing work and it's one of those rare compilations that gives me everything I want and nothing I don't. It's going to get played at home a lot!

Of course, look at the tracklisting and you can make up your own mind. Thinking out loud though, to have a compilation that mixes pop, soul, rock 'n' roll and latin classics from both sides of the Atlantic - and really the best of this music from the era - is a real treat.

This is available for a pocket-money price. It's the one to get and even if you only play it once a year, you'd be mad to let this slip past you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars where are the titles, 23 May 2012
This review is from: Sixties Summer Love (Audio CD)
looks good so clicked on to see listings for this album but was shocked to see there are none, shame will not buy now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sixties Summer Love
Sixties Summer Love by Various Artists (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews