Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Craftsmanship
My own band was lucky enough to support the Icicle Works, on tour during the 80's. They are every bit as emotive and powerful live, as they are on record, and then some! I agree with the comments of the other reviewer, and would add, that as a band, they were true gentlemen too, treating us with respect and kindness. No matter how many times I heard it, the intro to...
Published on 28 Jan. 2003 by Steve Gad

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why didn't Beggars Banquet re-release this?
I was really looking forward to getting this updated release of one of my favourite albums. I have to say I'm really disappointed with it's sound quality however. In comparison to the job Beggars did with remastering the debut album this is a poor effort by Cherry Red. In fact my original vinyl copy sounds better. I'm no expert on the licensing of old albums but it looks...
Published on 28 Mar. 2011 by Tom


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Craftsmanship, 28 Jan. 2003
This review is from: The Small Price Of A Bicycle (Audio CD)
My own band was lucky enough to support the Icicle Works, on tour during the 80's. They are every bit as emotive and powerful live, as they are on record, and then some! I agree with the comments of the other reviewer, and would add, that as a band, they were true gentlemen too, treating us with respect and kindness. No matter how many times I heard it, the intro to 'Hollow Horse' always made the hair on the back of my neck stand up.
We won't see the likes of these lads again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album ever released., 25 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Small Price Of A Bicycle (Audio CD)
Ian Mcnabb is probably the best songwriter the UK has ever produced, and definetly the best in the last twenty years. This, the second album from his band The Icicle Works, is a masterpiece. From the opening power riff of Hollow Horse through to the more subtler refrain of Conscience of Kings, this album takes you on a roller coaster ride of emotions. You have the optimism of Windfall followed by the despair of Assumed Sundown, with a vitriollic attack on Thatcher's government, All the Daughters, thrown in for good measure.
If this album had appeared five years later, it may well have appeared in everybody's top 100 albums of all time instead of The Stone Roses!
Ian Mcnabb has written better songs since this was released, but this is his most cohesive and thought provoking album. A must for everyone who considers themselves a music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why didn't Beggars Banquet re-release this?, 28 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was really looking forward to getting this updated release of one of my favourite albums. I have to say I'm really disappointed with it's sound quality however. In comparison to the job Beggars did with remastering the debut album this is a poor effort by Cherry Red. In fact my original vinyl copy sounds better. I'm no expert on the licensing of old albums but it looks like Cherry Red have done things on the cheap with the mastering and have done this magnificent album an injustice. A great opportunity missed in my opinion and a shame Beggars couldn't be bothered to give 'Bicycle' the makeover it justified, like they've done with the Fall albums from the mid 1980's. The b-side extras would make solid album tracks for most other bands ( a measure of Ian McNabbs skill) and it's worth getting for those I suppose (if you don't already own the singles).
Think I'll give the Cherry Red re-release of the Works 3rd album a wide berth based on the sound quality of this one. I just pray that Blind gets the full Beggars treatment as that one is possibly my favourite Works album. Living in hope!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get on your bike and buy it!, 26 Dec. 2010
There's not a bad song on this album and it still sounds as fresh and vital today as it did when I purchased my copy on vinyl as a callow youth. I believe the title references a famous speech made by Norman Tebbitt urging the poor to get on their bikes and find employment. 25 years later and we're all back where we started! If you appreciate fine songwriting with 12 string guitar riffs to die for, you really can't go wrong buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the truly great albums, 21 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have owned this record since the day of its release. Some records you love on release,lose the appeal over the years, and to be honest I am not one for nostalgia! To this day TSPOAB still gets played frequently, and I love it as much as when I first got it as a spotty lad. If anything I love it more! Tracks such as Hollow Horse, Assumed Sundown ,Conscience of Kings, and the truly epic Rapids seemed to have grown in stature, becoming deeper and more beautiful.

This album is full of positive energy and wonder. Even when McNabb was taking a swipe at Thatcher, he never forgot to do it with a wonderful melody.

Its beyond belief that so much power came out of a three piece, and this was not studio trickery. I had the honor of seeing the Icicle works a week or two before its release at the Marquee, and they were just mind blowing! I took my Dad (a massive Who fan) to see them the following year, and he said that they matched the Who pound for pound!

The 3 CD is a no brainier, lots of unreleased stuff, much of it could grace other bands records without shame. This was a time when McNabb could do little wrong, and this shows in the outtakes and unreleased tracks.

As for the "remastered" sound quality, its not great, but not terrible either.

Just buy this! Its a lost masterpiece that any music lover should have in the record collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At Last For "A Small Price", 10 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Class remaster and by far the best release of this album so far. The second brilliant album from one of the most original, most influential and best of the eighties indie bands, in a magnificent 3 CD set.
Disc 1; a class 24bit Remaster of the original album with excellent audio sound quality.
Disc 2; All the relevant A & B-sides from all the releases related to the album, including extended and single remixes, demos and previously unreleased material.
Disc 3; Two more demos and all the relevant radio sessions promoting the album from the time, plus a couple of live tracks.
A very extensive and conclusive 3 disc set, hours of entertainment. If you're an Icicle Works fan the only and definite buy for this album and if you're not well worth a listen, well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The finest Icicle works Album, 17 Jan. 2009
By 
Mr. R. E. Aird "EFC" (Liverpool,Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very underrated and original Liverpool band. A band that did not sell their souls to sacrifice the music in the worst decade in music history.The terrible 80's.A must have for any fan of the band. Also check out any of Ian Mcnabb's solo work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undervalued genius, 31 Mar. 2011
The Icicle Works were probably the most under valued band of the dire 80's, ignored by the radio dj's in favour of the electo pop boom, not alternative enough for the indie scene and not heavy enough for the rock scene. Yet here was a guitar band led by Ian McNabb one of the UK's best singer/songwriters of the last 30 years. The band completed by a powerhouse drummer and rhythmic bassist that provided the backing for McNabbs ever growing licence to develop the range of classic rock songs with great riffs, a west coast jangle and soaring Neil Young type solo's. A lyricist that continue to develop from picture perfect pop songs with great poetic sense to comment upon going social issues such as the rise of Liverpools militant wing.
Classic songs here follow one by one, how 'hollow horse' was never hit is a mystery of Bemuda triangle proportions. The only minor to all the Icicle Works albumns was the lack of truely great production which never captured the brillance and power of their live performances. At this stage in their career it seemed a long way from the 3 years earlier first gig i saw them at, at Prescot Methodist hall in front of 50-100 people. The Icicle's were now selling out larger theatre venues, and despite lack of air play and media highlights built a cult following. If you haven't heard before dive in and discover a true classic rock band ahead of their time and check out McNabbs excellent solo albums also critically acclaimed and yet still lacking radio airtime. A point to emphasise the inner linear notes contain an excellent piece by Classic Rock journalist Jerry Ewing, yet to emphasise the lack of dues that Ian McNabb has recieved either with the Icicle's or Solo, Classic rock has never run a feature in 10 years on one of the songwriting genius's. Yet this album and the band stand proudly in my extensive record collection along site goliaths like Rush, Judas Priest and Neil Young. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boys from Liverpool., 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Small Price Of A Bicycle (Audio CD)
Love is a wonderful colour, but that on their first album. Listen to that song in Youtube and if you find it attractive this second? album is also for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Small Price Of A Bicycle
The Small Price Of A Bicycle by Icicle Works (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews