Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars muddy and band at their best, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. M. J. Neville "melvneville" (kidderminster) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk Singer (Audio CD)
chess studio sound quality impressive, muddy's acoustic slide playing is immense and buddy guy's playing is so good considering he was only in his early twenties, willie dixon's upright bass completes this early power trio's perfectly balanced sound. bonus tracks of full electric band also well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Muddy unplugged 'bare' blues, 14 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Folk Singer (Audio CD)
When recording this album, Muddy's record company tried to cash in on the (at the time) ongoing folk rage. Also, at the time Muddy's fortunes were low, with blues loosing out to 'pop'music.
The result is Muddy being blue to the bone on an entirely acoustic set, with a few songs entirely consisting of just Muddy and his acoustic guitar. Muddy digs deep and finds his acoustic Delta roots still waiting there.
Chilling songs, most of them in a slow tempo, perfectely crafted but very much unlike the electronic hard stomping and up-tempo blues that gave Muddy his fame in the 50's and late 70's. (Which is par of the reason why is often - but unjustifiably - overlooked/ignored. )
To me, this is perfect acoustic blues, with Muddy at his best. A truly great album, but don't expect a typical "mannish boy' album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk Singer (Audio CD)
Despite being an avid blues and jazz fan and being very familiar with much of Muddy Waters' work, this album had somehow eluded me for 50 odd years. Maybe I always thought I'd heard it! But I now know that I hadn't, otherwise I would definately have remembered it! This album is simply sublimely brilliant and quite possibly the best blues album I've ever heard. Buy it! Buy it! Buy it! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WATERS MUDDY-FOLK SINGER, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk Singer (Audio CD)
A great album with very good sound quality that I play frequently. I now intend to look for more of his output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD Audio, 10 Oct 2012
My review is of the HDAD DVD Audio. Please refer to others more detailed reviews of this album. Simply put it is a superb blues album - what I call a 'grower' as it just grows and grows on you. This is rated 280/500 on Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.
Like all HDAD discs this DVD Audio is stereo only with 2 studio master options - one 24bit/96KHz the other 24bit/192KHz. Both are superb. Recorded in 1963, the clarity of the sonics is exceptional with no sign of any tape hiss/noise. For audiophiles, it is also available as an SACD.
Play loud!
Highly recommended but be aware, it is becoming difficult to obtain in this format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FOLK BLUES NOT FOLK SINGER, 20 Jun 2014
By 
Graham Mark Attwell "gray" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk Singer (Audio CD)
Not the correct title for this album or cd never the less this recording of Muddy Waters is the top notch with great support from Willie Dixon and Buddy Guy this was recorded in September 1963 and will stand the test of time Muddy s moody blues vocals and slide guitar are a joy as well as Buddy Guy backing him with superb guitar playing with solid bass from Willie Dixon. No point in going on too much about the tracks they are all great.

I got it for 4 quid what a great buy too!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Muddy Waters: BLUES Singer, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk Singer (Audio CD)
....but then, we all knew that didn't we? Great Blues album. (Though you've got to like The Blues) Very "Stripped Back" in places
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blues of the highest order, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk Singer (Audio CD)
A five star rating is all that is required for this excellent album. Any less would be injustice.
Superb backing from a young Buddy Guy, great sound quality too, my favourite Muddy Waters album in acoustic setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Muddy's Folk Singer, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk Singer (Audio CD)
This is my favourite album by Muddy Waters, with Buddy Guy backing him acoustically - an essential to anyone's collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk Singer (Audio CD)
What else do you want. One of the best albums of all time blues or otherwise. If you don't love this you've no soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Folk Singer
Folk Singer by Muddy Waters (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews