Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly their best album, 1 Mar 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuthin' Fancy (Audio CD)
Apparently created in less than 3 weeks, from start to finish, this is a great album and possibly Skynyrd's best. They worked 16-hour days during that time, their first break in touring for months. However, before it was released, guitarist Ed King had left (or been pushed - depending on who you listen to!), unwilling to put up with the workload any more. However, the superb Artimus Pyle is on drums, making this the strongest lineup to date. I'm amazed how the arrangement on songs like "I'm a Country Boy" and "On the Hunt" are so good - the three guitars all intertwining in that superb Skynyrd fashion - riffs, solos, slide - it's all there. There's really not a bad track on this album - even the back-to-roots "Made in the Shade" is a great foot-tapper - I defy you to listen to that song without a smile on your face.
Get the remastered version, for clarity and the two bonus tracks - not very good recording-wise, but interesting live stuff. And a very nice booklet with a few good snippets in too. Well done to the record company!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (SOUTHERN) ROCKIN' ELL, 25 April 2002
By 
evanllawton@aol.com (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nuthin' Fancy (Audio CD)
Skynyrd rules man!! I'm only 22 and from the Black Country but I love southern rock. I'd say this is their most heavy rock album with poignant churners like saturday night special and surly crunchers like country boy (with an ace twin harmony bridge after the second chorus). On the hunt is excellent, somewhat reminiscent of Free, which I believe is intentional as it refers to their song the hunter. Railroad song is classic driving material that even has some of my non-fan friends tapping their feet. This is my all round favourite Skynyrd album, probably cuz I was always into the slightly heavier side of the band but dont get me wrong I love everything they do. GET IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars completely underated,nuthin fancy?,actually incredibly fancy, 28 Mar 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nuthin' Fancy (Audio CD)
Despite not housing a 'freebird' or a 'sweet home alabama' this album is every bit a good as the previous 2 discs.Although personnel upheaval would ensue,Artimus Pyle replacing Bob Burns on drums and Ed King leaving after the recording,Skynyrd remained a strong unit.

Opening with 'Saturday Night Special' a statement of intent if there was ever one,Skynyrd rockin like only they can.Certainly on this disc the country roots are more to the fore with the likes of 'Im A Country Boy/Made In The Shade/Railroad song while the rock sensibilities kept in check with 'Whisky rock a roller,On the Hunt.That just leaves the stunning 'Cheatin Woman' with Ronnie's taut vocals over superlative guitar with some stunning solo's whilst possibly the stand out track ,the emotional 'Am I Losin' showing Ronnie's disenchantment with theworld he was now inhabiting as a result of the bands success.The Remaster adds an extra clarity to the disc,although it was always pretty good.

Bonus Tracks : interesting if not essential live recordings of 'Railroad Song' and 'On The Hunt' from the Winterland,san francisco 1975.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nuthin' but the Best!, 29 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuthin' Fancy (Audio CD)
Nuthin' Fancy (1975) was Lynyrd Skynyrd's third studio album, and their first to reach the Top 10, peaking at #9 on the US albums chart.

It's got the classic Saturday Night Special, On the Hunt & Whiskey Rock-a-Roller as well as lesser known album tracks. This Re-issue also contains live versions of Railroad Song and On the Hunt!

Track Listing:
Saturday Night Special (E. King, R. Van Zant) - 5:08
Cheatin' Woman (R. Van Zant, G. Rossington, A. Kooper) - 4:38
Railroad Song (E. King, R. Van Zant) - 4:14
I'm a Country Boy (A. Collins, R. Van Zant) - 4:24
On the Hunt (A. Collins, R. Van Zant) - 5:25
Am I Losin' (G. Rossington, R. Van Zant) - 4:32
Made in the Shade (R. Van Zant) - 4:40
Whiskey Rock-a-Roller (E. King, R. Van Zant, B. Powell) - 4:33

1999 CD reissue bonus tracks:
Railroad Song (Live)
On the Hunt (Live)

So you get some classic Skynyrd tracks with two live tracks thrown in at a bargain price!

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 Jun 2012
This review is from: Nuthin' Fancy (Audio CD)
This album is awsoome if you like this band or style of rock you can buy with confidence this is deffently one of there best albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Sep 2014
This review is from: Nuthin' Fancy (Audio CD)
CD Arrived promptly in good order. A valued addition to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuthin' Fancy (Audio CD)
Great thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock Ledgends Lynyrd Skynryd, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuthin' Fancy (Audio CD)
Whats to say a great album from the original lineup of a band which is still as relevant today as they were in 1974. Delivered quickly within time and ib perfect condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nuthin' Fancy
Nuthin' Fancy by Lynyrd Skynyrd (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews