Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1990 - A new decade
1990 was the year that witnessed the alternative music scene 'Indie' going mainstream with the likes of The Stones Roses, The Happy Mondays, The La's and The Inspiral Carpets. As well as dance music and rap taking a new platform. This compilation features 36 well known songs, which were big hits of that year, including those from Elton John, MC Hammer, Roxette, EMF,...
Published on 29 May 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Compilation
The new decade started with Sinead, Happy Mondays and EMF riding high. There was also Roxette that made an impression for a few years in the early 1990s and of course the brilliant Primal Scream, whilst dance music was doing well in the shape of Kylie, Paula Abdul, Technotronic and Adamski. Unchained Melody by the Righteous Brothers was a re-release from an earlier era,...
Published on 7 Sep 2003 by Pieter Uys


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1990 - A new decade, 29 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music 1990 - Millennium Series (Audio CD)
1990 was the year that witnessed the alternative music scene 'Indie' going mainstream with the likes of The Stones Roses, The Happy Mondays, The La's and The Inspiral Carpets. As well as dance music and rap taking a new platform. This compilation features 36 well known songs, which were big hits of that year, including those from Elton John, MC Hammer, Roxette, EMF, Sinead O'Connor and New Order with The England Football Squad of 1990. Unfortunetly some memorable tunes like 'Ice Ice Baby' by Vanilla Ice and 'Groove Is In The Heart' by Dee-Lite are not featured. They are great classics such as 'Step On' by The Happy Mondays, who were part of the baggy 'Madchester' scene, and 'Killer' from Adamski. Although my preference is the former Now 1990 (released in 1993) which was part of the 10th anniversary collection - where 40 tracks were featured. Which included hits from The Beautful South and Deacon Blue - unfortunately not listed under this current one. Whether there will be a 'Now That's What I Call Music' 20th anniversary collection this year, I do not know. But what has to be pointed out is that when purchasing this compilation, the final 4 tracks (by Talk Talk, The Inspiral Carpets, Belinda Carlisle and Inxs) on disc2 may be jumbled up and not correspond with the track listlngs. I have three Now 1990 CDs (Millennium Series) - two of which have this unique feature .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The optimistic sound of a new decade., 24 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music 1990 - Millennium Series (Audio CD)
'Now!' have done it again! Pop on this CD and suddenly England are in with a chance at the world cup, baggy jeans are a good idea and and Madchester is the capital of Britain. This compilation tells it how it was, the good, bad and downright awful. Gems like 'Dub be good to me' by Beats International, 'Step on' by the Happy Mondays sit next to dubious inclusions such as Phil Collins and Del Amitri - this is a mixed bag, make no mistake - but somehow it's honesty makes it very special and it certainly captures the spirit of the year. It's not hip, it's not cool, it's throwaway pop at it's best. The sound of a new decade. Unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Into the 90`s, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music 1990 - Millennium Series (Audio CD)
I thought this may not live up to the standard of the 80`s era, however i was pleasantly surprised. Erasure found more success with Blue Savannah-Happy days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Xmas Gift, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music 1990 - Millennium Series (Audio CD)
Got it as a Xmas gift for a friend whom is happy with it.
I had not listened to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars wrong songs on CD, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music 1990 - Millennium Series (Audio CD)
I would like a return address. All the songs were different than the original purchase. Tim bonnie and bonnie bye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The 1990s starts here, 8 July 2007
By 
D. Evans "dantheman95" (Southport) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music 1990 - Millennium Series (Audio CD)
Featuring some of the biggest songs of 1990, Now 1990, takes the millenium series into a new decade. At the dawn of the 1990s, the Madchester scene was in full swing, and this compliation reflects this with excellent songs from The Charlatans, Inspiral Carpets and Happy Mondays. Also included is UB40s super version of Kingston Town, Depeche Modes Enjoy the Silence from the classic Violator album, and Killer by Adamski, one of the first classic number ones of the decade. Unfortunately, Black Velvet and Blue Velvet are not on this album although both feature on the the anniversary edition of Now 1990. There is also no Betty Boo, despite having a big hit this year. Elton John's first number one Sacrifice is featured. This only became a hit after Steve Wright began regularly playing the tune. Although it is not one of Elton John's better tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average Compilation, 7 Sep 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music 1990 - Millennium Series (Audio CD)
The new decade started with Sinead, Happy Mondays and EMF riding high. There was also Roxette that made an impression for a few years in the early 1990s and of course the brilliant Primal Scream, whilst dance music was doing well in the shape of Kylie, Paula Abdul, Technotronic and Adamski. Unchained Melody by the Righteous Brothers was a re-release from an earlier era, whilst synthpop stalwarts Erasure, The Pet Shop Boys and Depeche Mode were also still going strong. My favourites include Elton John with his poignant ballad Sacrifice, UB40 with their mellow reggae song Kingston Town and the buoyant Unbelievable by EMF. Other interesting ditties from the year include Papa Was A Rolling Stone by the eccentric Was (Not Was), This Is How It Feels by Inspiral Carpets and Suicide Blonde by INXS. In my opinion this is a mixed bag and certainly not he best of the Now Music compilations, but it's still good value for money and does provide a fair perspective on the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Compilation, 4 Feb 2002
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music 1990 - Millennium Series (Audio CD)
I live here in Sydney, Australia, and own most of the NOW series. Even though I own most of these songs, the inclusion of Better The Devil You Know and Happening All Over Again, which are 2 of the best SAW songs EVER, make it a must, Unchained Melody, Roxette, and Depeche Mode enhance this CD. Some of the end of year CDs are average, but this is one of the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews