Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£21.95+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2014
OK - no additional material which is a shame, but Rock Candy rarely does have bonus stuff of worth. But this record was a classic, a high octane blues based hard rock record. The original still sounds great to this day, its recording in the first place was top notch, but this remaster is clearer, there's great separation in the multi-tracks and its a little louder to. All in all, worth getting if you loved the record back then and still do.

Shame the label couldn't have found a way to include the cover of Going Down and the instrumental "Autopsy" recorded at the time this was record was made. Hey ho.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
Whilst I've never been a huge fan of guitarist George Lynch's day job, Dokken, his debut solo band album is one of the best albums within the late 80s/early 90s hair metal genre.

With a harder edge than the more pop-orientated bands like Bon Jovi, Lynch Mob still manage to deliver a set of songs that are very easy on the ear, combining great hooks with cracking riffs. For those of you needing a comparison, I'd say it combines the riffage of early Skid Row with the vocal melodies of The Cult.

It's definitely an album of its time - heavy on guitar, throwaway lyrics that would be banned on grunge/altenative albums - but ultimately, it's a highly enjoyable album that, for me, is in a higher class than much of the output in that era.

Listen and enjoy!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2001
This is george's first solo effort away from Dokken ( to the best of my knowledge ), and his playing is maniacal. The languid vocals of oni logan , complement his guitar style perfectly, and there are so many highpoints in the guitar work.
For me, on 'A Million years' is just awesome. George is just the king of legato on this track... And then the solo just ignites and soars off to another planet...just superb.
Wicked sensation ( title track ), again, shows that this man has taken the van halen thing to another level....I saw the band live in Newcastle in the UK, and I was watching lynchies hands on the fretboard.....I couldn't see his fingers...they were just a blur!!!
Bed of roses, is another great track, but it might be a little too pop, for the die-hard metal fan.....
get this album ( just called lynch mob )...and the sequel is even better!!
dd
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
A must have CD for Heavy Rock fans. I really enjoy listening to this Album. Very Good value for money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
One of lynchs best solo effort....., total class!! Do not agree with last persons rating! If he can do better?!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
The best album Dokken ever made, darker and bluesier but George Lynch's guitar is sweet as ever
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
CLASSIC ALBUM...REMASTERED SOUNDS AMAZING!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2015
Brilliant 1st album. A must
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2009
I would say that the CD is somewhat good but not more than that. In fact, some of the songs like the title track, River of Love, Through These Eyes and one or two more are great but the rest are easy to forget. After listening to this CD a coule of times I got the feeling that by track 6 it gets kind of ordinary. Here's why. First 4 songs are easy to listen to as they are fresh and interesting. After that it gets slower and sort of the same. Up to track 9 there are no surprises so you get through them without even noticing much difference. No Bed of Roses (9) is better, after that comes a good power ballad (10) and two other songs that you feel you've heard before.

Don't get me wrong, I like George Lynch's playing and he is there all the time (almost). So no complaints about that. Maybe it's the sequence of the songs, i don't know. But there's something missing to call this a truly great CD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£13.89

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)