Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and unique soundtrack
Fight Club is one of those movies that when you watch for the first time, everything about is insightful, awe inspiring, fantastic, funny and just simply great. A film which still oozes substance despite it's release dating back 5 years ago, it still manages to beat the Lindsay Lohan and Hilary Duff rubbish on screen today. The soundtrack, like the movie, also is...
Published on 27 Aug 2004 by Ben Graham

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just half the story...
Hm, well. I have to say, that Fight Club is one of the best films I've seen ever ... fantastic concept, sylish, proper bo. And the soundtrack, just fits it superbly, has the be the only film where I've actually sat and thought 'I really wish I had the soundtrack to this!'. So lo and behold, I actually got it. A bit of a mixture of joy and sadness with this one. One of the...
Published on 1 Oct 2003 by Simon J. Whight


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just half the story..., 1 Oct 2003
By 
Simon J. Whight "fourfourfun" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fight Club - Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Hm, well. I have to say, that Fight Club is one of the best films I've seen ever ... fantastic concept, sylish, proper bo. And the soundtrack, just fits it superbly, has the be the only film where I've actually sat and thought 'I really wish I had the soundtrack to this!'. So lo and behold, I actually got it. A bit of a mixture of joy and sadness with this one. One of the things that made this a killer soundtrack was the way that the audio linked so well with the visuals. Without the visuals it does indeed feel like something is missing from this OST. You will, however, find some choice moments which evoke fond memories of the cuddly fluffy film which is Fight Club. Corporate World with its low-fi Casio beats always raises a smile for me, LOVE the way Homework kicks off about 2 minutes in too. What this album does is group together common themes under one track. Play Marla, and you'll hear a couple of the themes that usually play in a scene corresponding with her.
So this isn't something you'll whip out religiously everyday and bang onto your mates about, but you will drag it out every now and again for those little personal moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and unique soundtrack, 27 Aug 2004
By 
Ben Graham "ryushidude" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fight Club - Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Fight Club is one of those movies that when you watch for the first time, everything about is insightful, awe inspiring, fantastic, funny and just simply great. A film which still oozes substance despite it's release dating back 5 years ago, it still manages to beat the Lindsay Lohan and Hilary Duff rubbish on screen today. The soundtrack, like the movie, also is insightful, inspiring in it's own unique way.
The Dust Brothers have created a unique album unlike anything I have heard before. Employing everything from guitars, to decks, to choir singing and cheesy sounds that wouldn't be heard outside of elevators. Each song's name refers to a character/event/feeling etc in the movie, so each name carries a certain feeling, emotion with it. If you've seen the movie you will recognise the music and where it was used at in the film.
There's quite a varied selection of songs here. "Who is Tyler Durdan?" builds up to something that is a little reminiscent of Darth Vader gracing his minions with his prescence (or in this case, Tyler and his space monkeys). "Corporate World" is a combination of cheesy elevator music and those songs you hear in supermarkets that you'll never know the name of. While it is cheesy, it is also twisted which suggests that something is a foot. My favourite track of the bunch is "Jack's Smirking Revenge". The track begins off with a sense of realisation, and turns into a feeling of knowing what to do. In this case it would be Jack's revenge on his boss. The album is light on the ears, with the exception of "Chemical Burn" which half way through it, bursts into a grinding guitar riff which is more instantly recognised as the Fight Club theme, used at the beginning of the movie. Overall, the songs all hold a feeling of darkness with them in some way. I feel this is good as it holds true to the film, no rays of sunshine here, just dark, grim reality.
If you are a fan of the movie Fight Club, there's not much doubt that you would not enjoy this music. Even if you haven't seen or heard about Fight Club, this soundtrack is still a great piece of music, and it might be just what you're looking for if you're trying to find something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect to love it, 18 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fight Club Ost (Audio CD)
Like the film itself, this soundtrack won't be exactly what everybody will be expecting but, also like the film, it is likeable in a very clever way.
The music itself bounces about like a superball, ranging from techno-metal hybrids, to what could only be called some sort of American derivative of acid-funk. Everything is used, and to an absolute effect. However, effective as this may be, the wide range of beats and synths don't exactly help the album to gel seamlessly. As you listen to this, you'll be at a loss as to what cohesion is even there. But listen to it twice, and you'll agree that there is something present which allows the soundtrack to just flow the way it does. What this something is will, again, leave you perplexed to say the least.
In this sense, Fight Club is (almost mandatorily) comparable to The Chemical Brothers' Surrender, and let's face it, the no holds barred approach worked for them. And if it must be said that The Dust Brothers only just managed to get away with it, then it also must be said that they somehow managed it with more style than most could have.
Overall, this is murky and dark, and not the easiest ride to take. As well as it does befit the film, in employing The Dust Brothers something more professional sounding might have been expected. But to expect this is to miss the point, just as it would have been with the film. Like it as you liked the film, and you'll get along just fine. If you didn't like the film, well, that's your problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fight Club, 16 Jan 2003
By 
This review is from: Fight Club - Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I saw the Fight Club film and was curious of it's soundtrack. I went out and bought the cd and it has been in my Disc Player for weeks. It's quite a dark piece of work and the track "What Is Fight Club" reminds me of Nine Inch Nails at there darkest. Every track is superb and the track "Space Monkeys" is glorious. Go spend that cash on an amazing piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Classic, 6 May 2005
This review is from: Fight Club - Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Saw this film at the Cinema some years ago with friends. When asked what I thought of the film, I simply replied, "The Music was ace".
And it is.
Not my usual style (as a rule, I'm not a Drum & Bass fan) but this album is fantastic - from the slow-build introduction to the amazing last track with it's soundbite samples and hypnotic beats.
Even if you didn't like the film, this is a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing something, 18 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fight Club - Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I am not suggesting this a bad soundtrack. The Dust Brothers have created some of the coolist tunes to be put on a film. And if you have seen the movie Fight Club then you will understand what I mean, it adds to the overall greatness of the movie. It simply misses one thing - that is 'Where Is My Mind' by the The Pixies. The amazing song is clearly featured at the end of the film but is sadly not on the soundtrack?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like the film, you will like this!, 15 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fight Club [VINYL] (Vinyl)
The film is brilliant, for those who havent seen it, get it. These songs capture the essence of Fight Club. Clever tunes by the Dust Brothers make this a clear 4 star. My favorites include Physcho Boy Jack and Jacks Smirking Revenge. This set includes a few extra's and is definately worth the money. Like I say, if you like the film, get this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius! Dark breakbeat / trip-hop, 19 July 2000
By 
D. NIXON "nixey" (Tokyo) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fight Club Ost (Audio CD)
On first listen I felt this sound track was good but far too fragmented, it seemed that all the beats and samples were incompatible with each other but persevere with it and by about the third listening all becomes clear: dark undertones come to the surface which you recognise from earlier in the same track and you're left thinking "Oh my god is this good... really good." Although Dust Brothers have incorporated bursting metal elements into a few tracks don't let that put you off, they merge in brilliantly. This is by the way essentially dance music, and it seems faster and less down-tempo than I remembered the music in the film to be. Also it suits the tone of the film remarkably, and is ideal to listen to on personal stereo as you walk down the street etc being reminded of a great film. Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Score, 20 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Fight Club - Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
This music dwells more into the darker tecno genre.
The Dust brothers have aggrivated the technoheads out there for many years, since finding a copy of their material has, to date, been fairly hard.
Now the Brothers present the score to Fight Club, which is easily accessible to the mass. Tracks such as "Finding the Bomb" and "What is Fight Club" would be welcome on any stereo that regularly plays Autechre, Black Dog or even Squarepusher. The soundscapes created are chilling to say the least ("What is Fight Club" contains a fairly evil synth throughout) and the ambience of some tracks is welcome.
All the brothers need to do now is make themselves worthy of taking the Chemical Brothers' original name from them is release an album of their own material, although of course this.
And that Pixies track? Buy Surfer Rosa instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Did you buy this for the last song in the film?, 3 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fight Club Ost (Audio CD)
This is so much better than most movie soundtracks that just cobbled together what is basically a compilation album. The Dust Brothers have pulled together another blinder. It's probably not as strong an album if you haven't seen the film, but as always there is the usual high-standard of production and great beats. One word of warning/advice - the last song in the movie is 'Where Is My Mind?' by the Pixies and it isn't on this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fight Club - Original Soundtrack
Fight Club - Original Soundtrack by The Dust Brothers (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews