Customer Reviews


352 Reviews
5 star:
 (233)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crazy fun
This game is great for kids. It's bright, it's fun, it's edgey (pirates!) it can entertain 2-4 at any one time. Bring it out when you're kids are having a party and it'll keep them quiet(ish) for a while.

I found it to be durable, the only worry is losing some of the swords which may be too small for the very young (or old).

There's no batteries = no...
Published on 9 Sep 2007 by David Bowers

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Aawww
At first everything seemed fine. The item works as it should and all of the components were accounted for. However, after my kids had been playing with this for a day they quickly realised that putting a sword in the same hole will cause the pirate to pop up. I thought the hole changed each time the pirate was pressed down but this is not the case. Pretty disappointing...
Published 4 months ago by Michael Donaldson


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crazy fun, 9 Sep 2007
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TOMY Pop-Up Pirate (Toy)
This game is great for kids. It's bright, it's fun, it's edgey (pirates!) it can entertain 2-4 at any one time. Bring it out when you're kids are having a party and it'll keep them quiet(ish) for a while.

I found it to be durable, the only worry is losing some of the swords which may be too small for the very young (or old).

There's no batteries = no extra cost and there's no staring at a screen. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unpredictable winner- always fair!, 20 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: TOMY Pop-Up Pirate (Toy)
A game for all ages from 1 and half up, yet still just as entertaining and challenging for the 70 year olds! Just put in your blade to try to make the pirate pop up,or play the opposite, put in your blade and hope he doesn't! Colour coded blades allow for upto four players/teams. Different blade hole each time produces winner/loser. Excellent fun and totally fair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars we love it!, 11 Dec 2007
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TOMY Pop-Up Pirate (Toy)
this is a great toy and helped a lot in teaching my 3 year old daughter about taking turns and waiting for your own turn. Its very funny when the pirate pops up, and you can change the rules to make it that you have won, or you are out, when he pops up. Its easy for a young child to stick the swords in the barrel, you sometimes have to hold it steady but overall the toy is quite robust. Also my daughter liked counting all the swords and sorting them into different coloured piles. Overall a great family game that they dont get bored of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Much Fun!!, 15 Jan 2007
By 
Deborah Page (Leigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TOMY Pop-Up Pirate (Toy)
Bought this for my 3 year old nephew for xmas but my three o'clock everyone from my ten year old son to my 85 year old grandma had had a go!

A really fun, simple game that doesn't require any tricky construction and is easy to use.

A classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best family game, 19 Dec 2005
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TOMY Pop-Up Pirate (Toy)
I saw this game originally on the UK show Supernanny. She had explained how much fun it is to play this as a family. I went ahead and purchased this and it is by far the funnest family game for my 2 and 4 yr old daughters. They absolutely love putting the swords in and seeing who can pop up the pirate first. Although I think the objest is to see who can last thelongest w/o popping the pirate. It is much more fun for my kids when the winner pops the pirate. I highly recommend this for anyone who is looking for a few laughs and quality time w/their kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Aawww, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TOMY Pop-Up Pirate (Toy)
At first everything seemed fine. The item works as it should and all of the components were accounted for. However, after my kids had been playing with this for a day they quickly realised that putting a sword in the same hole will cause the pirate to pop up. I thought the hole changed each time the pirate was pressed down but this is not the case. Pretty disappointing because this eliminates the suspense of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An oldie but a goodie, 12 Nov 2011
By 
Emma W (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TOMY Pop-Up Pirate (Toy)
This is a classic game for 2-4 players I knew from years ago, and it's just as much fun as I remembered. Players choose a sword colour and take turns inserting swords until the pirate pops up. The "trigger" slot changes when you twist the pirate round so there is no danger of you remembering which slot to choose. Any age can enjoy playing and each game doesn't go on for more than a few minutes.

A word of warning though, when the pirate pops up, the eject mechanism is quite strong so make sure you don't have your face directly above him when you are putting swords in. And it does seem to make people jump at first as it goes with a fairly loud pop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab game, 26 April 2011
I think this is a great game. You can play it with quite a few players or a child on their own can enjoy seeing how long until the pirate pops up. It's still fun to play as an adult. I have bought a couple of these now as gifts and they have been well received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tomy pop up pirate, 18 Jan 2008
By 
S. smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TOMY Pop-Up Pirate (Toy)
This is so much fun, me and my 3 year old son love it. One of the best things about it is the fact that you dont need batteries. The suspense of the game it great and the pop up pirate makes us jump every time no matter how often we have played it. It is so easy to set up my son does it all and feels quite confident and important about that. Putting the swords in the barrel is good for a childs co ordination, counting them into equal groups of differnt colours for each player is also educational.
We love it and are glad we bought it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic easy little game, 4 Aug 2012
By 
Dodster (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TOMY Pop-Up Pirate (Toy)
Had this for a wee while now, and have to say it's great fun for little ones and adults alike. Doesn't require too much thought. Screw the pirate into his barrel, stick in the swords and when you least expect it, the pirate jumps out. Variations we play are when the pirate pops you win, or when the pirate pops you lose. Not too difficult really. Short, very entertaining game.
Tomy Pop Up Pirate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

TOMY Pop-Up Pirate
9.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews