Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rubik's cube review
I originally bought this cube at Argos. At Argos, the packaging is slightly different - it comes in a see-through box - and it was slightly more expensive. However, the cube has now died after fairly heavy use (one of the inner joints snapped), hence the need for a replacement.

The cube comes with a fairly thin "How To" guide which is not particulary easy to...
Published on 11 May 2008 by dirtsurfer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality 'Rubik's cube'
The quality was surprisingly poor, the stickers are peeling off at the corners within a couple of weeks of use. I suppose the plus side is that it is easier to cheat now. I think Mr Rubik would be disappointed.
Published 7 months ago by DaveB


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rubik's cube review, 11 May 2008
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rubik's Cube (Toy)
I originally bought this cube at Argos. At Argos, the packaging is slightly different - it comes in a see-through box - and it was slightly more expensive. However, the cube has now died after fairly heavy use (one of the inner joints snapped), hence the need for a replacement.

The cube comes with a fairly thin "How To" guide which is not particulary easy to follow. The best "How To" Rubik's cube tutorial I have found is by a Swedish guy called Lars Petrus. (I don't think Amazon will let me give a website on this review but it is easy to find). It has extremely clear animations that you can work through interactively and at your own pace and which show you exactly which move you need to make. If you are new to the Rubik's Cube, I think you would need at least an hour to read through the explanations and to solve it, but after that your times would rapidly come down. My best time is around 90 seconds which impresses small children, but much slower than the world record which is a truly mind-boggling 10 seconds.

My only problem with this particular cube is that some of the stickers came off fairly quickly and the red ones faded (and obviously it snapped with my attempts at high-speed cubing after about 6 months). However, the same complaints are made of the "original" Rubik's Cube Company cube. Hence I have only awarded 3 for durability.

This cube was fairly stiff to turn at the start. It can be lubricated simply by getting a normal graphite pencil and drawing on the all the black inner parts of the cube, then rotating it forwards and backwards. The graphite should help reduce friction between the inner surfaces. This not only makes it quicker for solving but also easier for children to turn. My daughter who was about 5 at the time enjoyed "solving" it once I had completed it. I then made an extra 2 or 3 moves to make a pretty check pattern which she could then solve again.

Overall it is a fantastic toy that is as much fun now as it was when it originally came out. It is brilliant for airports or stations or any situation when you don't know how long you are going to be waiting around for. I still find it quite a mental challenge to remember the different move-sequences needed to complete each stage. However, with the online tutorials available now there has never been a better time to learn how to solve it and this cube is probably about as good as any out there.
Basically, a tenner well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubik's Cube (Toy)
Very good quality, and good service as well. 100% recomended. The product was at time expected. My husband have been used a lot and it's still working perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good quality cube, 9 Nov 2009
By 
Ilgaz Kuruyazici "ilgazk" (istanbul / turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rubik's Cube (Toy)
This is the best quality cube I've ever hade. The stickers are durable, the rotation is very clearly, even with one hand. Some cubes have mechanical difficulties, you should have the right angle with less tolerance to rotate a column, but this cube is very easy to rotate even the colums and rows are not at the same angle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality 'Rubik's cube', 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubik's Cube (Toy)
The quality was surprisingly poor, the stickers are peeling off at the corners within a couple of weeks of use. I suppose the plus side is that it is easier to cheat now. I think Mr Rubik would be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good cube, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubik's Cube (Toy)
This cube is a good quality. I have used it for a couple of months, the children also play with it. I am slightly worried that some stickers may peal off if we are not careful (that is the reason it is four, and not five stars), but, overall, the quality is there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars :), 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubik's Cube (Toy)
Well received this today & I am very impressed. It was quick delivery and fantastic packaging. It is authentic and is going to make a great present. I am hoping that it stands the test of time as I know some people have issues with the stickers, so will update if anything wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Actually Works!, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubik's Cube (Toy)
Finally, A Rubik's cube that works and moves properly. Its a bit more expensive than some of the others but they are all cheap and difficult to move. BUY THIS ONE.
Not perfect, but could be an awful lot worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 28 Jan 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubik's Cube (Toy)
Had problems with the package arriving late but they are very determined to make the customer happy. e-mails were answered promtly and were very approachable. Resolved problems effectively with complementary items.Rubik's Cube 3x3x3 + Stand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubik's Cube (Toy)
the original one :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Works well, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubik's Cube (Toy)
This feels like a good cube though has one cube that was very loose as soon as it was touched. Maybe they are just not made as well as the originals......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rubik's Cube
Rubik's Cube by Hasbro
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews