Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars10
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2009
Their early work was a little too new wave for my tastes, but when Sports came out in '83, I think they really came into their own, commercial and artistically. The whole album has a clear, crisp sound, and a new sheen of consummate professionalism that really gives the songs a big boost. He's been compared to Elvis Costello, but I think Huey has a far much more bitter, cynical sense of humour.
22 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2015
99.9% of albums have some weaker tracks. You know, the ones you tend to skip when listening to them. Not this one - every song's a good one, from the toe-tapping opener of 'Heart of Rock and Roll' , the bluesy "Bad is Bad", the "Ghostbusters"-inspiring "I Want A New Drug" (look it up folks!), even the final track "Honky Tonk Blues" which sounds like they're having an end-of album party. It's an excellent album which stands the test of time. There is also a special edition available - "Sports: 30th anniversary deluxe" - which features live versions of every track. Look, just stop reading and buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
Good solid 80s album. Bit of an undiscovered gem in the UK as I don't remember it being in the charts here. It certainly wasn't a big seller here. However according to Wikipedia it was the biggest selling album of their career in the U.S. selling over 10 million copies. Fore! was much bigger here and I like that one better. But this is still worth a listen. It is also referenced in the movie American Psycho where Christian Bale's character is up to something psychotic whilst outlining his love of Huey Lewis. It's also the name Borat gives his son in the film Borat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2011
This was a massive seller in their native country with many hit singles but Britain hadn't caught on yet and only the song "If This Is It" crept into the top 40 which is a shame as "Heart and Soul" and "I Want a New Drug" are both bouncy rock n roll numbers.

The thing about Huey and the News was they knew how to pen a catchy tune and at only 9 tracks this record doesn't out stay it's welcome.
This is an overlooked 80's gem that still sounds good today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
Still a great album 400 years down the line. Great songs and performances that took them found the world and back. Hear how Ghostbusters really sounded and what it's like to walk on a thin line. Heart of Rock n Roll is definitely still beating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
Four Top 10 hit singles on this 1983 album from Huey Lewis and The News, whats more to be said!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
I bought this for my husband + he loves it. He plays it in his car. I will by more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
Fantastic quality and arrived early
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
Usually good seller but this cassette recording was rubbish
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.