Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Strangers
Perfect Strangers, the 11th studio album by the band, and the fifth by the celebrated MKII line up (this meant the return of singer Ian Gillian and guitarist Ritchie Blackmore) which had not been together for 11 years. Furthermore it was Deep Purple's was first album at all in eight years.

The funk and soul elements on the previous three Deep Purple albums are...
Published on 12 July 2011 by Kingcrimsonprog

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surely overrated on the Amazon reviews but each to his own
The 1980s was a difficult period for rock (if not all popular) music. This album has the thin production of the later Rainbow CDs, lacking bass and power. The song writing too is mostly average. Opening track "Knocking On Your Back Door" and the title track are certainly the highlights with Wasted Sunsets and Not Responsible also pretty good. The rest are barely adequate...
Published on 22 Mar. 2011 by Stalker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Strangers, 12 July 2011
By 
Kingcrimsonprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
Perfect Strangers, the 11th studio album by the band, and the fifth by the celebrated MKII line up (this meant the return of singer Ian Gillian and guitarist Ritchie Blackmore) which had not been together for 11 years. Furthermore it was Deep Purple's was first album at all in eight years.

The funk and soul elements on the previous three Deep Purple albums are gone, and the progressive and acoustic elements from Fireball are also absent. Stylistically, The album is a mixture of the style from Machine Head with some of the music from the time.

The album makes some concessions to the sounds of the 1980s, such as use of an autotuner on the chorus of single `Knocking At Your Back Door,' and some keyboard sounds and production techniques which wouldn't be found on the band's earlier music.

There is however, quite a strong collection of songs to be found on Perfect Strangers, the years had not adversely affected their musicianship and though certain sections may seem dated, the majority of the album is just well written and enjoyable rock music, with big guitar solos, flailing drum fills and furious key solos.

The album contains the concert favourite title track `Perfect Strangers,' which many Deep Purple fans would consider must listen stuff, the album isn't exactly full of filler either. The driving and hard closer `Not Responsible,' and the catchy `Gypsy's Kiss,' are both standouts and `Nobody's Home,' would fit well into any of the MKII albums from the 70s.

In summary; Perfect Strangers is a good Deep Purple album, the songs are good, the musicianship is exemplary and the only real flaw is that the production is a little too 80s in places. Highly recommended; For newcomers maybe not the first album you should get by the band, but if you already like the band this is definitely one to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Perfect Strangers, 18 Jun. 2002
By 
Shrews_Tyke (Shrewsbury, Shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
I bought the original LP on vinyl back in 84 when the album was released. I only got eight tracks. This revamped version has all 10. Perfect Strangers (The track) blew me away when I first heard it! When they played it live on the following tour it was even better. Some great tracks from the best rock band ever, back together and back on form. The extra tracks:- Not Responsible has an excellent Ritchie Blackmore solo but Son of Aleric tends to drag a little. If you haven't got this buy it, if you've got the original stick with it. Still a great rock album after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple - Perfect Strangers, 5 May 2009
By 
The Rocker "Richol 51" (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
This was a real trip down Memory Lane for me - DP were one of the biggest bands around when I was at college way back in the 70's and we used to just sit around in the rest periods listening to this iconic sound on cassettes and 8 track players (does anyone else remember these?)at whatever volume we could get away with! My college days were great days and I made many great musically like-minded friends, even on the few occassions when we had a few spare quid for lunch at the local pub one of our crowd would always make sure that they kept some money back for the jukebox where, once again, DP were the first choice. On reflection, I think we must have worn the records out because we played them so much. This album sums DP up for me - driving heavy rock mixed with a few ballads but all of it absolutely unmistakable DP. Long live ROCK!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-united and on fire!, 27 May 2008
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
My favourite Purple album by far.

I love virtually everything about it. From the simple, yet iconic DP logo that i scrawled on countless surfaces to the thick and heavy production.

From the opening riff of the dirty, dirty 'Knocking At Your Back Door' to the sprawling very 70's-esque title track, it's perfect Purple. Heavy, hard and tuneful with a dash of experimentation. It doesn't sound like supposed 'classic' Purple and it's all the better for it; this is a rejuvenated band showing the critics that there is still plenty of fuel in the tank and fire in the belly.

Blackmore is buzzing and the writing is top notch. I'd say there is no filler at all, although the blend of styles from the straight rock of 'Not Responsible' to the slow 'Wasted Sunsets' and the recurring Eastern motif's in that epic title track may divide some purists. These are also complete 'songs' rather than a stitched together showcase for the individual talents to shine. As such, i think there is a greater overall cohesion to this album than to many of Purple's other efforts. It is very much an album from a band on form.

One word must go to my favourite track 'Hungry Daze' which recalls the story telling of 'Smoke On The Water' a style of writing Deep Purple were always very good at. For some reason it always makes the hairs stand up and makes me want to stand up, jump up, play air guitar and sing-a-long. Any album with even one song that makes you want to do that is worth the money, especially at the price this classic is going for!

So buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great comeback, 15 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
After listening to this album for the first time ever I have to say it has some really quite awesome music on it

its solid 80's hard rock, and is everybit as good as some of the older stuff not quite as adventurous and not quite as Pure BUt the songs are awesome the playing is brilliant and Gillans voice is sounding utterly brilliant, compare to the last two albums which were ok but nothing great this album is an outstanding come back.

Some excellent guitar playing, perhaps the two things that are missing, is a bit more emphasis on the bass guitar like there used to be and maybe a bit more 70's style prouction so it sounded raw, having said that its sound just fantastic , Hugnry Daze has some awesome Keyboard playing catchy little intro and some wonderful guitar licks.Knocking at your back door caught my attention too
fabulous and solid and not nearly as bad as the bad reviews make it out to be I can't honestly find anything that is sooo bad that it merits reducing its star rating.

except maybe a 70's rediculous intrumental/extended keyboard solo/ guitar solo/ bass solo <<<< that would be nice a bass solo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 24 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
This is truly awesome for Purple's 80s comeback. A great start with the gritty Knocking At Your Back Door, then the ferocious anger of Under The Gun with a great "Land of Hope and Glory" Blackmore solo. Then we have the two weird ones, Nobody's Home and Mean Streak. The title song is amazing, with exellent keyboards and briliant singing from Gillan. A Gypsy's Kiss has Under The Gun's pace to it , but Wasted Sunsets is a bit muted and slow. Hungry Daze has got great bass and singing to it, and the same for Not Responsible. Then with have ultra-drums with Son Of Alerik, the instrumental. This is a great album and is worth listening to over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars O those rock chick days!, 25 Jun. 2013
By 
glynis (Arundel, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
O my! Ive played this album to death on cassette, yes that long ago lol, and after hearing Perfect Strangers in someone else's house I knew I had to get it again. Every track is amazing. The best Deep Purple album ever, not just my opinion either. If you only buy one of their albums this is the one. I took this to Monsters of Rock in 86, mega gig that was too. You like good rock, just buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid return of the classic MK2 lineup., 27 Oct. 2012
By 
David Cook (Hurlford, near Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
After 11 years, with the band members having varying success with other bands (Rainbow/Whitesnake/Gillan/Black Sabbath), the most famous lineup of Deep Purple would reunite in 1984 at Stowe, Vermont to rehearse and record.

The resulting album was a solid effort and proved Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Ritchie Blackmore, Jon Lord and Ian Paice still had plenty to offer as a unit.

For me the standout tracks are the storming opener Knocking At Your Back Door (with a memorable intro from Lord), the regal title track (again with a great intro from Lord) and the ballad Wasted Sunsets (featuring some great soloing from The Man In Black).

While the rest isn't quite on a par imo there is nothing substandard here. The 1999 remaster is really good and a marked improvement on the original cd issue from the 80's (which was a bit flat and lifeless). The two bonus cuts, Not Responsible and Son of Alerik are ok but not ones i really revist that much if truth be told.

The album would be quite successful (going Top 5 in the UK and Top 20 in the U.S.) and the subsequent world tour would see the band playing to sell out crowds, especially in the U.S. and a memorable show at the Knebworth Festival in England where they played to 80,000 rain and mud soaked fans at their only british date.

By the late 80's however the honeymoon was over and Ian Gillan would get the boot (for a few years at least) and another chapter would begin in Purple's colourful career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple Is Back, 24 April 2004
By 
Anders Skaldebø (Drangedal, Norway) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
The Perfect Strangers Album is the reunion album from 1984. The firsttrack, Knocking At Your Backdoor, was an old riff Ritchie had been wantingRainbow to play, but couldn't figure out the rest of the song. Of courser,whe Purple reformed this song is the most brilliant album opener. Thepowerful buildup together with the brilliant riff makes this a deep purpleclassic. Under the gun, the next song, is more darker than usual Dp songsbut surprises with the british national anthem in the middle. We then skipto the title track. This is one of the best songs after the reunion thatdp has ever made. Brilliant. It then continues with some pretty powerfulsongs like the superb ballad "Wasted Sunsets". Overall a very good albumfrom Deep Purple. Buy it if you don't have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
i got this on vinyl the day it came out way back in 1984 and now on cd and all i can say is buy it its a classic piece of music its hard to think its 30 years old it still sounds fantastic you need this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perfect Strangers
Perfect Strangers by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews