Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Perfect Strangers
I bought the original LP on vinyl back in 84 when the album was released. I only got eight tracks. This revamped version has all 10. Perfect Strangers (The track) blew me away when I first heard it! When they played it live on the following tour it was even better. Some great tracks from the best rock band ever, back together and back on form. The extra tracks:- Not...
Published on 18 Jun 2002 by Shrews_Tyke

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surely overrated on the Amazon reviews but each to his own
The 1980s was a difficult period for rock (if not all popular) music. This album has the thin production of the later Rainbow CDs, lacking bass and power. The song writing too is mostly average. Opening track "Knocking On Your Back Door" and the title track are certainly the highlights with Wasted Sunsets and Not Responsible also pretty good. The rest are barely adequate...
Published on 22 Mar 2011 by Stalker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Perfect Strangers, 18 Jun 2002
By 
Shrews_Tyke (Shrewsbury, Shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
I bought the original LP on vinyl back in 84 when the album was released. I only got eight tracks. This revamped version has all 10. Perfect Strangers (The track) blew me away when I first heard it! When they played it live on the following tour it was even better. Some great tracks from the best rock band ever, back together and back on form. The extra tracks:- Not Responsible has an excellent Ritchie Blackmore solo but Son of Aleric tends to drag a little. If you haven't got this buy it, if you've got the original stick with it. Still a great rock album after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Strangers, 12 July 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
Perfect Strangers, the 11th studio album by the band, and the fifth by the celebrated MKII line up (this meant the return of singer Ian Gillian and guitarist Ritchie Blackmore) which had not been together for 11 years. Furthermore it was Deep Purple's was first album at all in eight years.

The funk and soul elements on the previous three Deep Purple albums are gone, and the progressive and acoustic elements from Fireball are also absent. Stylistically, The album is a mixture of the style from Machine Head with some of the music from the time.

The album makes some concessions to the sounds of the 1980s, such as use of an autotuner on the chorus of single `Knocking At Your Back Door,' and some keyboard sounds and production techniques which wouldn't be found on the band's earlier music.

There is however, quite a strong collection of songs to be found on Perfect Strangers, the years had not adversely affected their musicianship and though certain sections may seem dated, the majority of the album is just well written and enjoyable rock music, with big guitar solos, flailing drum fills and furious key solos.

The album contains the concert favourite title track `Perfect Strangers,' which many Deep Purple fans would consider must listen stuff, the album isn't exactly full of filler either. The driving and hard closer `Not Responsible,' and the catchy `Gypsy's Kiss,' are both standouts and `Nobody's Home,' would fit well into any of the MKII albums from the 70s.

In summary; Perfect Strangers is a good Deep Purple album, the songs are good, the musicianship is exemplary and the only real flaw is that the production is a little too 80s in places. Highly recommended; For newcomers maybe not the first album you should get by the band, but if you already like the band this is definitely one to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-united and on fire!, 27 May 2008
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
My favourite Purple album by far.

I love virtually everything about it. From the simple, yet iconic DP logo that i scrawled on countless surfaces to the thick and heavy production.

From the opening riff of the dirty, dirty 'Knocking At Your Back Door' to the sprawling very 70's-esque title track, it's perfect Purple. Heavy, hard and tuneful with a dash of experimentation. It doesn't sound like supposed 'classic' Purple and it's all the better for it; this is a rejuvenated band showing the critics that there is still plenty of fuel in the tank and fire in the belly.

Blackmore is buzzing and the writing is top notch. I'd say there is no filler at all, although the blend of styles from the straight rock of 'Not Responsible' to the slow 'Wasted Sunsets' and the recurring Eastern motif's in that epic title track may divide some purists. These are also complete 'songs' rather than a stitched together showcase for the individual talents to shine. As such, i think there is a greater overall cohesion to this album than to many of Purple's other efforts. It is very much an album from a band on form.

One word must go to my favourite track 'Hungry Daze' which recalls the story telling of 'Smoke On The Water' a style of writing Deep Purple were always very good at. For some reason it always makes the hairs stand up and makes me want to stand up, jump up, play air guitar and sing-a-long. Any album with even one song that makes you want to do that is worth the money, especially at the price this classic is going for!

So buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid return of the classic MK2 lineup., 27 Oct 2012
By 
David Cook (Hurlford, Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
After 11 years, with the band members having varying success with other bands (Rainbow/Whitesnake/Gillan/Black Sabbath), the most famous lineup of Deep Purple would reunite in 1984 at Stowe, Vermont to rehearse and record.

The resulting album was a solid effort and proved Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Ritchie Blackmore, Jon Lord and Ian Paice still had plenty to offer as a unit.

For me the standout tracks are the storming opener Knocking At Your Back Door (with a memorable intro from Lord), the regal title track (again with a great intro from Lord) and the ballad Wasted Sunsets (featuring some great soloing from The Man In Black).

While the rest isn't quite on a par imo there is nothing substandard here. The 1999 remaster is really good and a marked improvement on the original cd issue from the 80's (which was a bit flat and lifeless). The two bonus cuts, Not Responsible and Son of Alerik are ok but not ones i really revist that much if truth be told.

The album would be quite successful (going Top 5 in the UK and Top 20 in the U.S.) and the subsequent world tour would see the band playing to sell out crowds, especially in the U.S. and a memorable show at the Knebworth Festival in England where they played to 80,000 rain and mud soaked fans at their only british date.

By the late 80's however the honeymoon was over and Ian Gillan would get the boot (for a few years at least) and another chapter would begin in Purple's colourful career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple - Perfect Strangers, 5 May 2009
By 
The Rocker "Richol 51" (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
This was a real trip down Memory Lane for me - DP were one of the biggest bands around when I was at college way back in the 70's and we used to just sit around in the rest periods listening to this iconic sound on cassettes and 8 track players (does anyone else remember these?)at whatever volume we could get away with! My college days were great days and I made many great musically like-minded friends, even on the few occassions when we had a few spare quid for lunch at the local pub one of our crowd would always make sure that they kept some money back for the jukebox where, once again, DP were the first choice. On reflection, I think we must have worn the records out because we played them so much. This album sums DP up for me - driving heavy rock mixed with a few ballads but all of it absolutely unmistakable DP. Long live ROCK!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far from strangers, far from perfect, 4 May 2009
By 
Patrick Neylan "Patrick Neylan" (Orpington, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
Back in 1984, Deep Purple's reunion album was a bit of a disappointment to those of us who loved them to play music instead of just songs. But now that the band's entire reputation doesn't seem to rest on it, we can enjoy it for the thumping, meaty 80s rock album it is (assuming you enjoy thumping, meaty 80s rock albums).

Roger Glover's production gives it a density that meant every track could fulfil its purpose of cramming a stadium with sound - and that made it more a natural successor to Rainbow's 1980s output than Purple's 70s work.

Gillan, never the most subtle of lyricists, nonetheless seems to be enjoying himself by trying to give malicious reviewers all the quotes they needed: ("Your lights are burning bright, but nobody's home"; "One too many wasted sunsets"; "We all came out to Montreux but that's another song, you've heard it all before"). And as for Knocking At Your Back Door... actually let's not go there.

Meanwhile the rest of the band tears through the album with a satisfying enthusiasm - never more so than on the rip-snorting Gypsy's Kiss.

Vinyl buyers were denied Not Responsible, which was only available on the CD version (as a way of persuading fans to adopt the then-new format) and is one of the highlights. You get that here of course, along with the rather less essential instrumental Son Of Alerk.

All in all a tight, professional and ultimately enjoyable CD, which loses one star from the maximum because the musical inventiveness isn't as bold as it could be.

A word of warning to non-fans about the much-admired title track. It does sound wonderful, but it's not exactly original. I don't want to reignite any 40-year old rivalries, but Purple were better musicians, more musically adventurous and sometimes more original than Led Zeppelin in the way they adapted their blues influences (the score is balanced by Purple's admission - then and now - that Zeppelin inspired their move into heavy rock in 1969).

But Jimmy Page never stole any of Ritchie Blackmore's riffs, and (magnificent though it is) Perfect Strangers is a complete steal of Led Zeppelin's Kashmir. It's surely no accident that since Physical Graffiti appeared in 1975, every album Blackmore recorded had a track with the same mystic eastern sound*.

But that aside, this is still a worthwhile album and is probably the best place to start if you want to look beyond the band's 70s heyday.

*Don't believe me? Listen to Stargazer (Rainbow Rising, 1976), Gates Of Babylon (Long Live Rock'n'Roll, 1978), Eyes Of The World (Down To Earth, 1979), Eyes Of Fire (Straight Between The Eyes, 1982, having given it a rest on 1981's Difficult To Cure) and Can't Let You Go from 1983's Bent Out Of Shape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
i got this on vinyl the day it came out way back in 1984 and now on cd and all i can say is buy it its a classic piece of music its hard to think its 30 years old it still sounds fantastic you need this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best Deep Purple CD, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
There are some really lovely songs on this one, so glad I have bought it. Gillan is at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars O those rock chick days!, 25 Jun 2013
By 
glynis (Arundel, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (Audio CD)
O my! Ive played this album to death on cassette, yes that long ago lol, and after hearing Perfect Strangers in someone else's house I knew I had to get it again. Every track is amazing. The best Deep Purple album ever, not just my opinion either. If you only buy one of their albums this is the one. I took this to Monsters of Rock in 86, mega gig that was too. You like good rock, just buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Stuff, 16 May 2013
By 
Paul E Davies (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had to have it to add to my collection missed it first time around
but so glad to have it at last, very good service too :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perfect Strangers
Perfect Strangers by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews