Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Exotic Musical Adventure
Let me begin this humble review letting you know that I think this is one of the most essential compilations on the market. Regardless of the musical genre.
Every track on this compilation, as you may have guessed, has a strong Middle Eastern/North African groove going on. Each track is contemporary in sound and technique, yet extremely traditional in mood and...
Published on 24 Oct 2000

versus
9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor
The remixes are seriously inferior to the original pieces. Sayyid Al-Artiste's (I think the original drummer) long solo piece has been mutilated into a repeating dance beat section. If you love the drumming in this, seek the original full version (or find someone who can cover it, like me!!!)
Seriously though, I can't understand why this piece is credited to MC...
Published on 5 Jun 2002 by Highlander


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Exotic Musical Adventure, 24 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Arabesque (Audio CD)
Let me begin this humble review letting you know that I think this is one of the most essential compilations on the market. Regardless of the musical genre.
Every track on this compilation, as you may have guessed, has a strong Middle Eastern/North African groove going on. Each track is contemporary in sound and technique, yet extremely traditional in mood and content.
There are modern drum machines and funky basslines (not on all tracks) mixed with ancient musical instruments - and the result is absolutely captivating and beautiful. The selection of tracks on offer were compiled by a guy called Momo who owns a hip nightclub/restaurant in London - and I can only imagine what a complete and blissful riot it must be to hang out there. This CD is of that rare quality where it can be played while one is alone and mellow, or it is even more dynamic and effective when it is played in a more boisterous setting. The exotic rhythms combined with the fantastic playing all round (especially percussion) are certain to grab your attention from the first minute of the first track, and not let up an inch until the very end.
A most highly recommended CD. Here's an idea. Throw a Middle Eastern party. Invite a bunch of extroverts. Prepare some Falafel, Tabouli, Hummus, Baba Ghanoush and whatever else you desire. Get the booze flowing. This CD is the icing on the cake - PLAY IT LOUD! And most important of all....don't forget to invite me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top Ranked Album in my Collection, 26 Jan 2002
This review is from: Arabesque (Audio CD)
This CD must be by far the very best, off-the-shelf, previously unknown, purchases I have ever made. So great is my love of the Der Boucha track (1st on the CD) that it is constantly on repeat in my head, my car and everywhere else I can play it. I have recomended it to all my friends and most of them now own a copy, including some well known DJ's on the London club scene.
I bought this album over a year ago at the airpot. Bieng of Arabic extraction, it instantly caught my attention. If you ever go to trendy night clubs and bars nowadays, you can't miss the move towards the Arabesque style of music with the rythmical tabla and distinct arabic/eastern scale of music blended in with the moderen vibes of Trance-Like-Lounge-music. It is in one word "hedonistic", invading the senses with the haunting tunes of the Nai (arabic reed flute) so renouned over centuries in my world for it's almost hypnotic powers and senses melting effects.
One year after buying this CD and it's still on my top shelf, I've even danced to it at the foot of the Pyramids on new years eve with my girlfriend who was awestruck by it's enchanting music and blend with the scenery.
The only reason it doesn't have a 5 star rating is that I also totally agree with the previous reviewers. I'd like to add that the tracks they didn't like sound even worse heard through arabic ears. When you consider that the singer(s) can't pronounce any of the arabic words (wit a lot of the letters unpronounceable in western languages), and sound dreadfull in any case. They would have been far better off just putting in some more of those excellent music tracks instead.
I'd also like to add that Momo's introduction in the sleeve cover is very good and interesting to say the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!! A trip to North africa in 70 minutes..., 17 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Arabesque (Audio CD)
This album has been compiled by Momo (owner of the restaurant) and Francis Peyrat (resident DJ in the basement bar).. Each track is excellent : From traditional to modern, ambient to more funky, this album is the perfect mix and brings you the best of the genre... Don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funky, 7 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Arabesque (Audio CD)
I have recently discovered an interest in Arabic and Arabic roots music despite hating it when I lived in Dubai a few years ago. The Arabesque titles are generally a great mix of contemporary Arabic sounds and instruments with modern dance or hip hop beats. This, though, is mostly pretty chilled and funky. I didn't like it as much as the Rough Guides Arabesque offering, although that's outstanding, but it is a worthy addition to the collection of any world music fan. It's mellow and incorporates the occasional track with some surprisingly un-Arabic sounds but the compilation works. It's not remarkable but it is enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars energised and transported!, 17 Dec 2002
By 
Miss M J Sanders (Wellingborough, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Arabesque (Audio CD)
I have never been moved so much as to write this review, i can't recommend it enough to fans of world music, it was amazing, the atmosphere of all the tracks was authentic but plenty of contemporary attitude. Lovers of salsa, Afro-Carribean, even Indian music fans must expand their cd collection with this. I defy anyone men and women not to want to shimmy their hips to this!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Occasionally brilliant, 29 Aug 2003
By 
Shivari (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Arabesque (Audio CD)
Taste is subjective! There are some good tracks here, some merely ok, and a few that I consider totally duff. But - and a very big BUT! This CD is worth buying just for the remix of "Alaoui" by Orchestre National de Barbes. If this track doesn't get you leaping around the room with a whopping great smile on your face, then better consult a doctor fast - coz you're probably dead!
PS If anyone knows where I can find other music as good as this - please let me know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good purchase, but flawed., 9 April 2002
By 
Rollie "Lucky" Kraus (Janesville, WI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Arabesque (Audio CD)
It's hard not to agree with the reviews below, while for the price this is a great collection of semi-traditional but modernised sounds it is flawed by the inclusion of a couple of tracks that just don't oooze the same vibe and stick out like sore tabla-thumbs. In all honesty not having them in the CD would have 5 stars. I'm all for variety, and there are some ferocious and swirling achievements on this compilation but it only just misses the mark. A good purchase for sure, but not a great one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, apart from those Parisian vocals !, 17 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Arabesque (Audio CD)
One of the best compilation albums of this genre, especially the amazing percussion and rich Turkish rhythms. The album would rate five stars, if it were not for the three dreadful Parisian vocal tracks in the middle of the group and the awful techno of the last track. If it were not illegal, I would recopy the album omitting these four aberrations and be left a very happy and rhythmic bunny with the remaining tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars top mood-setting for a bit of ambient hip shimmying, 29 Jan 2001
By 
E. Alexandra (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arabesque (Audio CD)
If you're a belly dancer who just can't chose between folk, baladi and oriental, this is a top compilation to feel inspired to! Really good for warm-ups and great for something a bit more contemporary to dance to - especially if you're trying to interest new dancers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value,Good Beat, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabesque (Audio CD)
Really liked this cd,dont understand the lyrics,but love the beat, brightens up the dark winter days,makes doing housework a lot easier .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arabesque
Arabesque by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews