Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Anne, for this GORGEOUS album
Wow, rough crowd! It's hard to believe the reviews on this listing. This album is absolutely incredible, a joy to hear every time, and I come back to it time and again and rediscover why I love it so much.. truly it is a stirring collection of tunes, Brigg's voice innocent unpolished bare and true. I'm not British so maybe there's something cultural I'm not getting,...
Published on 28 Nov 2011 by Green Manalishi

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars annie needs to get her gun
Following the unexpected success of Donovan in the late sixties every record mogul had to have a folksinger on his books . Columbia chose the free spirited Anne Briggs , dog lover and muse of Bert Jansch . Perhaps because of circumstances and surroundings , she sounds uncomfortable and self conscious on this recording . There is nothing wrong with the songs but her...
Published 1 month ago by david handy ( a mackem )


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Anne, for this GORGEOUS album, 28 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Time Has Come (Audio CD)
Wow, rough crowd! It's hard to believe the reviews on this listing. This album is absolutely incredible, a joy to hear every time, and I come back to it time and again and rediscover why I love it so much.. truly it is a stirring collection of tunes, Brigg's voice innocent unpolished bare and true. I'm not British so maybe there's something cultural I'm not getting, but truly, I don't understand what's not to like, nay, fall head over heels for. If you know and enjoy Brigg's slightly off-keyish voice and folk guitar reminiscent of Bert Jansch, I don't understand how this album could fail to satisfy. Again, maybe it's cultural or different expectations for some but I just had to put in my two cents.. Fortunately this album gets its proper respect across the pond!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars flawed but beautiful, 25 Sep 2007
By 
Jon Brown (a field) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Time Has Come (Audio CD)
Anne Briggs was reportedly far more comfortable giving impromptu performances in pubs and taverns up and down the country than she ever was stepping into a studio. this is after all, the lady who lived for a number of years in a friends' gypsy caravan and shunned public attention. why then has she achieved such a cult status, respected by fellow folk luminaries such as Bert Jansch (who was also for a brief time her lover)and Sandy Denny (whose vocal style is greatly indebted to her) and even, oddly enough indie art-rocker Thurston Moore?

the answer is simple - her voice. delicate yet arresting, evocative of that particular strand of melancholy unique to english trad-folk, certainly a case could be made for Briggs being the strongest female folk vocalist of her generation.

so why can we say that 'The Time Has Come' is, although a classic, none the less one not without faults? the answer lies not with Briggs herself but with the material chosen. Briggs always shone brightly with traditional material, here the choice of largely contemporary covers for the most part don't give her that opportunity to shine - 'Fire and Wine' nice enough but essentially throwaway, similarly 'Ride Ride' and 'Everytime' both pleasant but unmemorable.

however, where 'The Time Has Come' really comes into its own and what justifies its status as a classic is Briggs own material. the title track you may recognise from The Pentangle's cover version, here the tempo is gentler, more subdued allowing a whistful aching of longing to be wrung from the words. 'Sandman's Song' has beautiful lyrics painting a clear picture of childhood memories, Briggs voice full of nostalgia. 'Wishing Well' is a great collaboration with Jansch. Finally, out of character with the weaker covers Henry McCulloch's 'Step Right Up' is given a great performance, Briggs vocals particularly strong on this track.

chances are if you know your sixties folk then you already own 'The Time Has Come'. certainly if you're a fan of Sandy Denny (both solo and with Fairports) then this is essential. fans of Espers might also find something here to enjoy. in any case, flawed or no, it deserves a place in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars anne briggs, 25 May 2011
This review is from: The Time Has Come (Audio CD)
it's fair to say this cd is hardly the traditional material anne is known for,but this cd gets five stars purely on the grounds that this is (essentially) anne's first as a songwriter. and her songs are nothing short of compelling. well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars annie needs to get her gun, 12 July 2014
This review is from: The Time Has Come (Audio CD)
Following the unexpected success of Donovan in the late sixties every record mogul had to have a folksinger on his books . Columbia chose the free spirited Anne Briggs , dog lover and muse of Bert Jansch . Perhaps because of circumstances and surroundings , she sounds uncomfortable and self conscious on this recording . There is nothing wrong with the songs but her versions fall awkwardly flat . She would need to look elsewhere for the missing spark .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful - what more can one say about this singer?, 13 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Time Has Come (Audio CD)
A mixture of her own songs with a few covers. No 'traditional' material - but when does a song become traditional? Lal Waterson's 30+ year old 'Fine Horseman' is surely well on the way. Not to mention some of Anne's own songs!
Beautifully simple vocals with fairly spare accompaniement (guitar, bouzouki), allowing the voice and lyrics to shine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Major Talent Misunderstood, 24 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Time Has Come (Audio CD)
Apart from the opening track I was very disappointed with this album. I love Anne Briggs' singing, which is so natural it is almost otherworldly, and carries a profound feeling and understanding for original folk songs. But as she is fully aware herself, and has often stated, her voice is rarely done justice unless she sings completely unaccompanied, and no wonder because on its own it simply gives everything you could possibly demand from a singer of this kind. It was her record label that got her to do albums with backing, thinking it would be more commercial. It wasn't and serves only as an example of what always happens when brilliant but non-commercial artists attempt to follow the mainstream: they end up losing out on two fronts instead of just one. On this record Anne Briggs sounds uncomfortable, at times even scruffy and out of tune, and there are quite few half-baked instrumental tracks, mainly played on dulcimer - not bad, but nevertheless unexciting when you think of what this woman was able to come up with in her heyday. Perhaps I'm not putting it clearly enough, but quite simply when she was in the right environment she was the very best. As it is, this album only drags down her sublime output of unaccompanied material and to my mind it should never have seen the light of day. Nice packing, though, including a small booklet with notes and pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fire and Wine, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Time Has Come (MP3 Download)
The cover picture of Anne Briggs staring unsmiling at the camera, faithful dog at her side, as if she has been caught poaching rabbits by the local gamekeeper, expresses the appeal of this album. These are the songs and the playing of a wayward, maverick free spirit. Some of the pitching may be a little off at times, some of the lyrics a bit naive or clumsy, but there are also absolutely timeless, magical, sensual performances on this album. With Tangled Man, Fine Horseman, Wishing Well, Ride, Ride, Ride, the title track, Briggs seems to be right by your side in some lost cabin in the woods, softly crooning while firelight reflects in a couple of bottles of red wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Time Another Place, 30 July 2010
By 
E. R. Hartley "Axel North" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Time Has Come (Audio CD)
The album shows its age. Was she a siren? Yes. Did she galvanise a generation of folk singers? Yes. Is it an important album? Yes. But.................it shows its age and as a listener in the 21st century, you have to make allowances. The sequencing is pretty one paced. Her phrasing is, to be kind, of the old school and her voice couldn't be described as dynamic. It's one of those albums where you feel you have to listen to it in reverent silence and then find your mind and body wandering off to do other things. It's a must have for 'real' music fans but I couldn't describe it as a must listen. If you want to test the theory, listen to 'Standing on the Shore' and compare it to Cara Dillon's version. You admire both but the early version is pale by comparison. A folk legend, but this isn't indispensible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No classic, but no shame, 12 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Time Has Come (Audio CD)
Anne Briggs gathered quite a legend about herself even before her disappearance from the music scene... and as time has flown by since the 60s/70s, Anne, like Vashti Bunyan and Shelagh McDonald, has fitted neatly into the template of "free spirited beautiful maiden who flees cruel modern life".

What we get here are some decent tunes sung at times in a reedy voice that unfortunately is far from arresting. Beguiling, charming but perhaps not quite a classic. Nevertheless the fact that an age once allowed fragile introspective talents like Anne to make records is still wonderful. So think of a beautiful little flower in a meadow... this is a fresh air album if ever there was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'm just waking up..., 29 Aug 2007
By 
Ms. Felicia Davis-burden (Staines, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Time Has Come (Audio CD)
Briggs undoubtedly has a beautiful voice, but that's it. I nearly fell asleep with this on - that is not what I want music to do. There is absolutely no variety in this album. I expected her to break out in a stream of sleepy hi-tro-nonny-nonny-isms too: this sounds so affectedly 'English'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Time Has Come
The Time Has Come by Anne Briggs (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews