Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the cover, this is what 'pop' should sound like.
Fantastic album. The best Electronic / New Order album to date, only excelled by New Order's Get Ready. Moves on from the highly synthetic (but nevertheless pleasant sounding) debut album 'Electronic' and the subsequent Raise The Pressure to a much harder, rockier sound without loosing the sense of rhythm which appeals to me so much. Make it Happen with it heavy synth and...
Published on 29 Jan 2002

versus
2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One or two good songs. The rest...
A portuguese newspaper said about this album: "Why do they bother? and above all, why to they bother us?". I think this is a little bit too hard, but also understandable. But Bernard Summer maintain is special gift to make pleasant songs, and Johnny Mars is solid backup. Is not exciting music, but we can hear it with no harm. Do they have anything to say? No,...
Published on 20 Dec 1999


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the cover, this is what 'pop' should sound like., 29 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Twisted Tenderness (Audio CD)
Fantastic album. The best Electronic / New Order album to date, only excelled by New Order's Get Ready. Moves on from the highly synthetic (but nevertheless pleasant sounding) debut album 'Electronic' and the subsequent Raise The Pressure to a much harder, rockier sound without loosing the sense of rhythm which appeals to me so much. Make it Happen with it heavy synth and guitar riffs is the highlight of the album followed by Prodigal Son, which is perhaps a bit too raucous, but features some brilliant guitar playing. Tales off a little towards the end with tracks which appear to carrying a 'message'.
Awful cover picture, quite likely to put first time buyers off, one does wonder what the reasoning behind it was. I would have knocked off a mark if the quality of the actual music had not been as good as it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manchester music, 25 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twisted Tenderness (Audio CD)
From the confidently powerful extended opening of the title track to the final chords, this is some great Manchester music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uneven excellence - but worth a serious listen, 5 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Twisted Tenderness (Audio CD)
I bought 'Twisted Tenderness' at the same time as the band's first offering, 'Electronic' and was struck by the contrast in sound between the two. Moving away from the drum-machine and synthesizer, Pet Shop Boys-influenced sound of the original, with its overtones of New Order's 'Technique', the pair have created an altogether less pop-oriented sound.
Having not yet heard 'Raise the pressure', I can't comment on whether that work marked a stepping stone on this transition. But 'Twisted Tenderness' offers few tracks (title track, 'Vivid' and 'When she's gone' excluded) which don't take some listening to to fully appreciate.
But this is one of those albums which quickly becomes a comfortable favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars best of electronic's 3 albums, 17 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Twisted Tenderness (Audio CD)
i thought this was the best listen all the way through of electronic's albums. the title track ranks alongside the best of new order's output. i've read reviews here and elsewhere that suggested it was difficult listening, but i never found that. it is (at last) what electronic always promised - the dream fusion of the music of the smiths and new order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a customer writes a great review, 17 Sep 2011
By 
James S. Prichard "texan" (houston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twisted Tenderness (Audio CD)
the reviewer known as 'a customer ' succinctly and eloquently places this release very high up in new order / electronic land . and that is how it is . stratospheric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best listened to loud, so everyone can hear pure brilliance., 19 Jun 2001
This review is from: Twisted Tenderness (Audio CD)
After hearing 'Forbidden City', i rushed out to by, RAISE THE PRESSURE, and then realised i really shouldnt have bothered. It is true electronics efforts were half hearted.
They obviously felt terribly guilty because every second of this album has been carefully thought out and every blip, scratch and word has been put exactly in the right place.
I wasnt going to but it I thought theyd dissapoint, but this is the kind of music id been waiting for. So much effort cannot go unrecognised, this is fresh ingenious stuff.
My favourite track in 'Like No Other' for pure sing along loud pop, similar to the sound produced on the track Forbidden City, first track off Raise the Pressure.
Please buy this album because im dying to hear more of the same. Unfortunately one thing Electronic seem to be bad at is promoting themselves. This stuff is definetely original, and just perfect for summer gigs. It all sound just perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not "Smiths" or "New Order" good, 5 Sep 2004
By 
This review is from: Twisted Tenderness (Audio CD)
this cd is fun, it is brit-pop at its best.. but that being said, it doesn't hold a candle to even the worst Smiths track (but Marr without Morrissey is a bit like Monica Lewinsky with out Bill Clinton)... At the same time, this cd is not meant to be a continuation of the Smiths or New Order, it is its own thing and worth a buy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enduring Electronic, 25 Dec 2002
By 
This review is from: Twisted Tenderness (Audio CD)
As a New Order devotee, I approached the original Electronic album with gusto. It was entirely different to the bassline founded New Order, yet I was not disappointed - the debut Electronic album hooked me instantly, especially Idiot Country, Tighten Up and Get The Message.
Twisted Tenderness was different again.
Going abroad is supposed to be a culture shock, yet, as a UK national, I've always found that returning to this disunited land from another country to be a much harder experience. And so it was with Twisted Tenderness. Comparing this album to the debut Electronic album was far harder than relating the debut album to preceding New Order albums (forget Electronic album 2 - it was crap) . Gone were the dizzying electronic riffs of the first album (did Johnny Marr really play on album one?), replaced by savage guitars and throbbing basslines, merged with Barney Sumner's beautifully scratchy and delicate voice.
Some have said Twisted Tenderness took awhile to grip. I suggest that these reviewers review their hearing abilities, or obtain replacement audio equipment. Or else try Boyzone, or some other inane and manufactured band. TT gripped from track one and held my attention to the end of the final track, the prophetic Flicker. Going to school with Saddam Hussain? Too right.
Standout tracks? Make It Happen. Prodigal Son, with it's spine tingling Indian feel, enhanced to sublime levels by the lyrics. The remaining tracks were, at worst, very good, especially Haze and Vivid.
Buy this album. Electronic are not the poor cousins of the spectacular New Order, or the overrated Smiths. Electronic make inspiring and enduring music. This album has not dated. It evolves every time you listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electronic make up since 2001, 17 Sep 2011
This review is from: Twisted Tenderness (Audio CD)
As an old happy customer to The Smiths and New Order I really like my wake-up-station on Electronic 3 rds album... the first three tracks are onto... but I almost need a line... I really love this album to the end, too!!!
If I had a Blue Monday, I let it down the first three tracks to the end. Then I am free for an opening day. Try TOO!!!

I can`t stand this Album doesn`t sold 5 Millions... The half on the cause of New Order and The Smiths, so I really can`t stand how this Album doesn`t sold 2.5 Millions...

sounds free and dry on the first try, but get`s deep after a few go ins...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One or two good songs. The rest..., 20 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Twisted Tenderness (Audio CD)
A portuguese newspaper said about this album: "Why do they bother? and above all, why to they bother us?". I think this is a little bit too hard, but also understandable. But Bernard Summer maintain is special gift to make pleasant songs, and Johnny Mars is solid backup. Is not exciting music, but we can hear it with no harm. Do they have anything to say? No, just like most of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twisted Tenderness
Twisted Tenderness by Electronic (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews