Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jump Jive and Swing
I have to say, I have owned this CD for a number of years now and it has won a place as one of my all time favourites. It has a permanent place on my mp3 player and no matter how bad a mood I am in, this jumping beat rhythm music can all ways pick me right up. Fantastic music for dancing, with excellent new recordings of old classics and quite a few tracks that make...
Published on 18 Oct 2009 by Jennifer Doran-McNeill

versus
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Jump, Jived and Stung
One thing not mentioned in the other reviews is that no track on this CD is older than the 1990's...hence some pretty souless over production. My advice is, if you like 50's swing buy something recorded in the 50's. Not this. That said, if you like music by, say, Jools Holland, you'll probably love this. It just ain't my scene!
Published on 11 Jun 2010 by JD


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jump Jive and Swing, 18 Oct 2009
This review is from: Jump Jive and Swing (Audio CD)
I have to say, I have owned this CD for a number of years now and it has won a place as one of my all time favourites. It has a permanent place on my mp3 player and no matter how bad a mood I am in, this jumping beat rhythm music can all ways pick me right up. Fantastic music for dancing, with excellent new recordings of old classics and quite a few tracks that make everyone say - "I haven't heard this one before - can I have a copy?" It's well worth the money and I would advise anyone to buy it. Especially those who aren't an aficionado of this music scene. It's a fantastic introduction, and a superb collection of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says on the label, 16 Sep 2009
By 
John R. Woolmore (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jump Jive and Swing (Audio CD)
If you are like me into swing/jazz/blues/rocknroll crossover from the early fifties then this is a great CD for you. It starts Ok (hence 4 stars) but improves as you progress through the album. It jumps, jives and swings along. Whether it is suitable unadulterated for parties I'm not sure as the tracks begin to merge after awhile but each track stands alone so great for a compilation playlist.
If you are a swing afficiniado the rhythms are all danceable - great for Ceroc or Le Roc practioners too.
I would have liked more bluesy tracks but there are other CDs out there for this - Joe Turner for instance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Jump, Jived and Stung, 11 Jun 2010
By 
JD "Rockin' Jim" (Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jump Jive and Swing (Audio CD)
One thing not mentioned in the other reviews is that no track on this CD is older than the 1990's...hence some pretty souless over production. My advice is, if you like 50's swing buy something recorded in the 50's. Not this. That said, if you like music by, say, Jools Holland, you'll probably love this. It just ain't my scene!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the ticket!, 29 Mar 2014
By 
L. Prosper (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jump Jive and Swing (Audio CD)
This has great tunes put together in a great collection! Really enjoyed listening to this. Will look out for the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars swing, 16 Nov 2010
This review is from: Jump Jive and Swing (Audio CD)
great great as you can see i like this album. One track stands out thats wise up baby. buy this album and dance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jump Jive and Swing (Audio CD)
great item Just what I wanted and as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great dance music, 4 Sep 2013
By 
GOG "Grumpy" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jump Jive and Swing (Audio CD)
My wife and I are learning to jive and I bought this as I thought we could use it for practice and I am so glad I did. Fabulous music and some great performances, especially by Ray Gelato.It is not only great for dancing, but good for lifting the spirits too. I defy anyone to listen to this and feel miserable. My feet were tapping within the first few bars of track one.Is there a volume two? If not, there should be. Thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jump Jive and Swing (Audio CD)
Great music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all jive aces cds are brilliant., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jump Jive and Swing (Audio CD)
What csn i say.all jive aces cds are brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jump Jive and Swing
Jump Jive and Swing by Various Artists (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews