Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent release overall
I must admit I can see why this particular Rainbow album divides their fans so much. The fact that Mr Blackmore changed the members of the band regularly (as per a certain Mr Coverdale) its not surprising we all have our favourite versions of this great band. You need to try and get past the fact you may prefer Ronnie James Dio as a vocalist or that by this album they had...
Published on 23 Jan 2009 by Mr. B. S. Neighbour

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2.5 stars .. the end was nigh
Another album another line up,hard to believe in 4 short years Blackmore now the sole remaining member,as with the previous release this shows the good,the bad and the downright ugly side of Rainbow.

The Good was in short supply ,its a travesty that a track such as the Zeppelinesque beauty of 'Eyes Of Fire' has to languish on an album as average as...
Published on 10 Jun 2010 by Mr Blackwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2.5 stars .. the end was nigh, 10 Jun 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Straight Between The Eyes (Audio CD)
Another album another line up,hard to believe in 4 short years Blackmore now the sole remaining member,as with the previous release this shows the good,the bad and the downright ugly side of Rainbow.

The Good was in short supply ,its a travesty that a track such as the Zeppelinesque beauty of 'Eyes Of Fire' has to languish on an album as average as this,Blackmores guitar playing a joy to behold,while the Foriegner/Journey clone that is 'Stone Cold' confirms why he hired Turner as vocalist,he's perfect for that type of song and he's excellent on the Free'like 'Tearin Out My Heart'.

the bad well while 'Death Alley Driver/Power' are competently performed but boring,been done before and if 'Tite Squeeze' sounds familiar its because it has,thats the riff to LA Connection right there.

The ugly well 'Bring On The Night/Miss Mistreated and Rock Fever' are just crap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent release overall, 23 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. B. S. Neighbour "Lizzy fan" (Rayleigh, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Straight Between The Eyes (Audio CD)
I must admit I can see why this particular Rainbow album divides their fans so much. The fact that Mr Blackmore changed the members of the band regularly (as per a certain Mr Coverdale) its not surprising we all have our favourite versions of this great band. You need to try and get past the fact you may prefer Ronnie James Dio as a vocalist or that by this album they had taken a different direction musically and try to be objective. Especially if you are like me a fan of the man in black - Richie Blackmore. Overall this is one of the better Rainbow albums. Joe Lynn Turner is an excellent vocalist with a strong voice. Pretty much every song is worth its place on the album. I also believe it stands up well against previous albums. Yes its a little more commercial but that doesnt make it rubbish. There is some blistering fretwork on this and I think its a brilliant album. A good solid rock album. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The completion of Rainbow`s rebirth as AOR megastars, 17 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Straight Between The Eyes (Audio CD)
This was the album where Ritchie Blackmore started to get the formula right for creating AOR albums. This is a lot more solid an offering than `Difficult to cure`. There are plenty of highlights, the opener `Death alley driver`, the hit single `Stone cold` and my own personal favourite `Eyes of fire`. If you have only heard the early albums then this will cause a shock with its radio friendly sound but it is still a good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best JLT Rainbow Era Album, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight Between The Eyes (Audio CD)
I'm a massive Rainbow Fan, got all their albums, and this is one of their Best albums...best way to accept it is to realize that Joe Lynn Turner doesn't sound like Ronnie J. Dio and while yes the Dio Era Rainbow is Epic in its own style, Rainbow changed and this album shows that Rainbow still rocked...okay its 80's American Rock now, not Classic English Hard Blues Rock but aside from that Its awesome the songs work brilliantly with Blackmore's Riff and JLT Vocals, SBTE is the JLT Era album to buy (imho) and this is the last Brilliant Rainbow album until 1995's Stranger In Us All

DO NOT COMPARE ERA's!!!!
Of course their not ment to sound the same, if each Singer sounded the same it'd be boring as hell and the Musical style needs to change to accomdate the new Singer and that's all Rainbow Did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good collection of songs from Rainbow., 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight Between The Eyes (Audio CD)
Although I really love the era of Ronnie James Dio with Rainbow, this album is pretty good with Joe Lynn Turner as vocalist. He has a very good voice and reminds me at times of Lou Gramm of Foreigner. Every track is excellent - not one lemon among the nine songs. I can certainly recommend it highly for anyone who appreciates good quality rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must for any Rainbow Fans!, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight Between The Eyes (Audio CD)
Loved this album had it originally on vinyl and forgot how wonderful it is. Rainbow at their best!No bad songs on the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ouch, 23 July 2013
By 
Scott Fraser (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight Between The Eyes (Audio CD)
Rainbow - great band - even better with the late great Ronnie Dio. Still, the Joe Lynn Turner fronted band also had their moments. This cd sits between their best Difficult and poorest Bent - still has some great tunes Power being the best followed by Death Alley Driver. Would be good if Ritchie got this band back together for one last hurrah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Straight between 4 and 5, 8 Feb 2012
This review is from: Straight Between The Eyes (Audio CD)
Giving 5 stars to this album is honestly only to set the balance right, as it is (imho) really worth 4,5 stars.
But quite frankly I don't understand all the bad reviews for this album.
Sure if you're a Dio-era Rainbow fan, then this will sound way too americanised/AOR for you, but off the three JLT rainbow albums, I believe SBTE is by far the best of all, and remains an impressive album!
No fillers really, great tracks such as the opener Death Alley driver and its fantastic middle/solo part, Bring on the night, Stone cold (a much better ballad than Street of dreams), Power, Eyes of fire, etc...
While Difficult to cure might feature stronger tracks (Difficult to cure, spolight kid, midtown tunnel vision), I think that SBTE is more consistent, and definitly miles ahead from the big let-down that is Bent out of shape.
Blackmore plays-as usual-brilliantly, and if, as for many of his fans, this isn't my favourite part of his rocking history, this is nevertheless a great hard rockin' album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stone Cold - sad stuff!, 29 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Straight Between The Eyes (Audio CD)
Possibly Rainbow's most commercial album, "Straight Between the Eyes" is a collection of

average hard rock songs which have little interest for the Prog fan - but you knew that

when you saw that awful comic book cover, didn't you? Nevertheless this album contains

some stunning straight hard rock moments and sparkling guitar work from Ritchie throughout, and

great vocals from Joe Lynn Turner.

Fortunately within this sea of ordinary rock songs is a shining pearl, a haunting power

ballad called "Stone Cold" , which meant a lot to me personally at the time as I was going

through a nightmare sequence of events which life throws up at you now and then, and

this song could have been the perfect theme for that, though most of the other songs

relate the dark side of love too. The group were still experiencing personnel changes, Don

Airey gone and replaced by David Rosenthal on this recording. Another "gem" is the

song "Tearin' Out My Heart" , which could have been subtitled "Stone Cold part 2", has a

great slow riff, well written and performed and includes an emotional solo by Ritchie,

also "Eyes of Fire" is an interesting song, which has an almost Zeppelinesque mysterious

epic eastern flavour, and includes some intricately played solos.

Overall this album was typical of the sort of music the American rock stations were pumping out

at the time a-la Van Halen, Whitesnake and Def Leppard, I assume this was aimed at that

market, and guaranteed full venues, though one song an album does not make, however

brilliant - I kept this album to listen to "Stone Cold" occasionally but only played the whole

album through again after 24 years for this review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear!, 18 May 2010
By 
Aquinas "summa" (celestial heights, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Straight Between The Eyes (Audio CD)
This album was the end of the road for me and Rainbow - I really thought they had completely lost it - some nice cheesy tracks such as "Stone Cold" but really the edge was gone and it was time to pack it in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Straight Between The Eyes
Straight Between The Eyes by Rainbow (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews