Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After 20 years I finally get it.
I have loved this album since it came out. It is full of great tunes. I have just started learning classical guitar and now I hear practically every riff and solo is in the classical style. I always knew Blackmore was big on Bethoven and Bach but here is the evidence right in front of your ears. I guess the cover of the Bethoven's 9th Symphony was always a clue. Only the...
Published on 20 Sep 2005 by Mr. Jonathan Clark

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult To Please...Ritchie ?
1st let me correct Amazon...J L Turner was NOT Rainbow's final vocalist...That honour goes to Doogie White on the final Rainbow album...Stranger In Us All.

This album is a bit of a mixture, we have the radio friendly
I Surrender , power pop song..Like Since You Been Gone, written by Russ Ballard,
Spotlight Kid, full out rock, and the best song on...
Published on 9 Jun 2010 by Clive Bindley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After 20 years I finally get it., 20 Sep 2005
By 
Mr. Jonathan Clark (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Difficult To Cure (Audio CD)
I have loved this album since it came out. It is full of great tunes. I have just started learning classical guitar and now I hear practically every riff and solo is in the classical style. I always knew Blackmore was big on Bethoven and Bach but here is the evidence right in front of your ears. I guess the cover of the Bethoven's 9th Symphony was always a clue. Only the solo in Death Alley Driver from Straight Between the Eyes is more of a give away.
That said it is a truly excellent work and if you care to listen you will find out how good the rest of the band are as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Das möglicherweise dieses mal ...., 29 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Difficult To Cure (Audio CD)
1981 - a very fertile year for rock! Following their last album "Difficult to Cure" came as a

relief and a revelation to Rainbow fans, having taken on the brilliant young vocalist Joe

Lynn Turner this album rates as my favourite post - "Rising" effort by the band - sound

quality, song quality, and the addition of Bob Rondinelli on drums, Ritchie sounds very very

pleased indeed with his "new" band! - even elaborating big-time on his classical aspirations

in the shape of an amazing tribute to Van Beethoven on the title track to the tune of

the "Ninth" symphony. This will interest Prog fans I'm sure, but there are some great songs

that accompany this little masterpiece!

"I Surrender" was the big hit from this album, the liquid tongue of JLT sliding round this one

with ease, an extremely catchy chorus, a great riff and soloing from Ritchie. Another great

riff introduces "Spotlight Kid" which features very fast solos from Ritchie and some brilliant

playing from Don Airey, reminiscent of the old Purple shoot-outs between Ritchie and Jon

Lord! The next track, the amazing "No Release" - this song has a mysteriously hypnotic

riff, and is one of my favourite song intros, the song has a shuffly beat and repeats that

riff and some great soloing, definitely one of the best songs on the album! The next catchy

pop song "Magic" is followed by "Vielleicht Das Nachster Zeit "(translates as "Perhaps that

next time"), an extremely beautiful slow instrumental guitar piece about love lost,

featuring some sad, emotional liquid playing from Ritchie - I'm surprised no-one picked this

up for a theme tune for something!

"Can't Happen Here" is another great catchy rock song with a brilliant riff, a political song

about fears of nuclear war, a subject which many songs were written about in 1981 which

worried everyone at the time, which it still does - nothing changes! "Freedom Fighter" is a

straight rock song which covers the romantic subject of political rebels, followed

by "Midtown Tunnel Vision" , an amazingly bluesy,sleazy riff introduces this amazingly

bluesy, sleazy song, which contains an amazingly bluesy, phased, sleazy solo!

The crowning instrumental mini-masterpiece "Difficult to Cure" rounds off the album

perfectly - this is Ritchie's tribute to Van Beethoven, and one of his finest symphonies,

the "Ninth", using the famous tune from the chorus "Ode to Joy", and is indeed a joy to

hear, too! Using the central theme to work round with his amazing soloing, Ritchie excels

here, some amazing playing which also includes some great playing from Don Airey, (a

worthy successor to Jon Lord in Purple), the band sound like they had a lot of fun doing

this track, and also the character laughing along in the run-off groove!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Play It Loud, 21 Sep 2006
By 
Moosehunter (Chesterfield Derbyshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Difficult To Cure (Audio CD)
Just like all rock music play it loud and marvel at Blackmores exhilerating guitar. Some folk don't rate this and even the excellent allmusic site only gives it 2 stars. I don't agree I like all Rainbows stuff and this for me is up there with the best. Its real sing a long stuff with catchy riffs that make you feel glad to be alive.

If you like this type of music then but this you won't regret it, and while your at it buy the rest of their stuff as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Difficult To Cure (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful album and arguably the best in terms of its musical range and its commercial success. The album peaked at UK 3 and the single "I Surrender" was a huge hit too.
There are some magical moments especially in the instrumental "Difficult To Cure", which illustrates why Blackmore is such an exhilarating guitarist.
It is a gem of an album and anyone who is getting into Rainbow should listen to it. If you love Rock 'n' Roll music, you'll be crazy not to listen to this fantastically and sensationally pleasing album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult To Please...Ritchie ?, 9 Jun 2010
By 
Clive Bindley "Blues Man" (Leicester , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Difficult To Cure (Audio CD)
1st let me correct Amazon...J L Turner was NOT Rainbow's final vocalist...That honour goes to Doogie White on the final Rainbow album...Stranger In Us All.

This album is a bit of a mixture, we have the radio friendly
I Surrender , power pop song..Like Since You Been Gone, written by Russ Ballard,
Spotlight Kid, full out rock, and the best song on the album,
No Release..Awful dirge of a song
Magic, another Pop song.. written by Mike Moran,
Maybe Next Time.. a brilliant instrumental .
Can't Happen Here is Rainbow's prophetic protest song, another rocker which hit the singles chart,
Freedom Fighter..medium paced rocker
Midtown Tunnel Vision..again..an awful plodding song
Difficult To Cure ( Beethoven's Ninth ) ends the album..a good reworking by the band, sounds even better Live.

Not Rainbow's best album, but for JLT's debut..more good than bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another album, another line up..., 27 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Difficult To Cure (Audio CD)
So Blackmore weilds the axe and a new Rainbow line up comes around for their first album of the eighties! Having just tasted popular acclaim with "Down To Earth", Rainbow buid on this with another easily accesible LP. Don't get me wrong there are some hard rocking moments on it like "spotlight Kid", and "Difficult To Cure" thier version of Beethovens 9th, but overall its more poppy than rocky which made the likes of Ronnie Dio turn in their graves, but overall a good solid listen, smooth all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliantly Constructed Rock Album, 31 Aug 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Difficult To Cure (Audio CD)
I bought this album 30 odd years ago, in my mid teens. Ordinarily, I like electro-pop, but Rainbow are one of the exceptions, particularly with this group of songs. This is not quite soft rock, and it is not quite hard rock, it is somewhere in the middle. I Surrender is the best known track, but far from the only great track here. Joe Lynn Turner gives a fine vocal performance on each song, he doesn't quite bellow like Ronnie James Dio, but he still has a strong set of lungs on him. Ritchie Blackmore works his usual wizardry on the lead guitar, with clever solos throughout the album. Spotlight Kid is a first rate rock song with brilliant musicianship, so too is No Release, which includes a fabulous vocal harmony interlude, and which culminates with Lynn Turner giving his voice a serious workout. I loved this album on first listen 30 or so years ago, and still love it to this day, even though it makes uncomfortable bedfellows with most of my collection, which largely comprises the likes of Depeche Mode, Human League and Friendly Fires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars difficult to love... 3.5 stars, 10 Jun 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Difficult To Cure (Audio CD)
For the first time Ritchies meddling weakened the band ,in my opinion,never really liked Joe Lynn Turner as Rainbow's singer,i fully understand why he was hired as Blackmore was aiming for an AOR sound,personally i would have stuck with Bonnet.This was the first Rainbow album that had tracks i actually loathe such as the pathetic 'Magic' and 'I surrender',yet when its good its magnificent ,two spellbinding instrumentals 'Maybe Next Time'& 'Difficult To Cure' show that Blackers still had it in spades to produce jaw dropping music,'Spotlight Kid' and the 2nd single 'Cant Happen Here ' are carried along on super riffs and Turner does well,as for the rest,all well played but naggingly familiar,not very original,really only Blackmores guitar keeping your interest,'No Release' being the pick of the bunch.

The first Rainbow album not to hold your full attention,sadly it wouldn't be the last
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't you see it's Magic!, 8 Aug 2014
This review is from: Difficult To Cure (Audio CD)
I surrender, I surrender - oh yes, this LP gets me. Love it. And I've always adored I Surrender in particular - it's a fantastic song with sensational classical influenced, richly textured guitar.

Rainbow Rising tends to get the plaudits but I'd sooner listen to this one. Joe Lynn Turner gets a lot of flack but he has a great voice, powerful yet mellifluous.

I Surrender opens up dramatically and gets you singing straight away while Blackmore's guitar delivers with mystique. It's a combination that defines the album. Spotlight Kid sends you dizzy - the guitar solo is amazing, No Release is a moody change before Magic has you singing again. Then there is Vielleicht Das Nachste Mal - a mournful guitar instrumental with a wink in the eye.

Can't Happen Here gets you rocking and Freedom Fighter surprises you with its eastern sounding guitar solo. Midtown Tunnel Vision is a broodier number with a Hendrix influence - its cool riff is a real grower.

And finally there is Difficult to Cure, a fantastic electric guitar interpretation of Beethoven's 9th. Blackmore even makes his guitar sound like Laurel and Hardy at the end even before the laughter. Very, very pleasing to my ears.

Blackmore combines melody, mystique and humour in his playing and with Joe Lynn Turner's superb vocals this album is one of his classics! If you love heavy rock and great tunes get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult To Cure - Rainbow, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Difficult To Cure (Audio CD)
This album is a great one! If you love Ritchie Blackmore you should get this CD! a very good purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Difficult To Cure
Difficult To Cure by Rainbow (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews