Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to down to earth again
This was probably the first proper 'rock' album I bought way back in 1979. It was a big step for me as Id been used to listening to stuff like Genesis, Yes and stuff. At the time (I was still quite young, mind) it blew my socks off and made me want to grow my air long, play loud guitars and misbehave a lot. Trouble was, I listened to it so much that I ended up tiring of...
Published on 18 Feb 2010 by Martin White

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Turbulent Line-up.
Compared to the first two Prog cornerstone Rainbow albums, "Down to Earth" is as far

away from Prog as any straight rock album could get, but despite the cheesy artwork on

the cover the albums contains some good songs, including their most well-known monster

mainstream hits "All Night Long" and "Since You Been Gone".

With the...
Published on 29 May 2007 by mystic fred


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to down to earth again, 18 Feb 2010
By 
Martin White (East Lothian, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was probably the first proper 'rock' album I bought way back in 1979. It was a big step for me as Id been used to listening to stuff like Genesis, Yes and stuff. At the time (I was still quite young, mind) it blew my socks off and made me want to grow my air long, play loud guitars and misbehave a lot. Trouble was, I listened to it so much that I ended up tiring of it pretty quickly and discovered other bands I preferred like UFO, Iron Maiden and all the NWOBHM that was going at the time - so I probably havent heard this in its entirety since the early 80s. So, where am I going with all this? Yes, bought this as a download last month and stuck it on in the car for nostalgic reasons more than anything and got the shock of my life - it's still good! As this was only my introduction to Rainbow I found later I prefferred the Dio albums, but this is a more earthy, more blues based album that the three with the wee man, and probably because of that it hasnt really dated as much as the others. The singles, All night Long and Since you been gone still sound fresh (SYBG maybe less so, as it seems to be included in all the soft rock compilation cds over the past 30 years or so), Eyes of the World, Lost in Hollywood and Danger Zone are still fairly big rock pieces and No time to lose is still an absolute belter of a song. Makin Love is a bit of a whimper, but you cant have it all I suppose. The playing is excellent and fresh sounding, especially Cozy Powells drums and Bonnetts voice - Roger Glovers production is also noticably crisp and tight - one of those rare albums where everyone gets a good sound. In all, I was well happy to revisit such a landmark album of my plooky youth and find it was still a great piece of music. I doubt if anyone will be saying the same in 30 years time about anyone spawned forth from the X factor...
P.S. I also downloaded Weiss Heim, the B Side of All Night Long and stuck it on the end of this - WH was recorded at the same time as this album and its one of my favourite guitar pieces ever - an instrumental that really packs in the emotion - a very rare beast indeed!. Also, it sits very well as an album closer - dont know why it was never included when this came out on CD. Id recommend anyone buying this album does the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DOWN TO EARTH,WITH A BANG?, 10 Jun 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Down To Earth (Audio CD)
Well no actually,this is a fabulous album which has suffered from years of abuse and unfair reviews,of course we all would have loved Ronnie to remain but thats life,back in the day the hysteria surrounding Bonnets appearance was incredible most people overlooked the fact that he could actually sing!

This album saw Ritchie pursue a more commercial approach and unfortunately most people only remember it for the 2 hit singles 'Since You've Been Gone' and 'All Night Long',two excellent slices of pop/rock which pretty much set the template for many a 'heavy' band to copy over the next few years.

However that does a dis service to the many quality tracks found on the disc,classics such as 'Eyes of the World' with its brooding intro and stunning guitar,the dynamic 'Lost in Hollywood' with Cozy battering seven shades of s**t out of his drums,the superb 'Makin Love' with lashings of Blackmore soloing which just make you smile,as for the rest classic heavy rock with 'Love's No Friend' the pick of the bunch,stunning music by a superb band,another seemless updating of the band with Bonnet performing at the top of his game ably supported by newbies Glover and Airey,of course Ritchie being Mr Picky would change the line up again,but thats another story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars alltime classic rock album, great stuff!, 16 Nov 2008
This review is from: Down To Earth (Audio CD)
This is an album much maligned by many of the rainbow purists who cant get over the departure of Dio but depart he did going on to do a stellar job with sabbath. Blackmore was wanting to go for a more commercial approch at this time wanting to hear his songs on the jukebox and stunned the rock world when he hired former marbles singer Graham Bonnet. Now you will probably read by many here that he was a bit of a misfit and was no replacement for Dio but truth be told the guy had an amazing vocal range, actually greater than Dio's, capable of pulling off the most extraordinary key changes and hitting notes such as F,G's in full voice! Bonnet's dynamic approch and macho tone makes this album a must have. He really shines on all the songs contained here and I wish he stayed with the band longer, it was always going to be a tough gig for anyone one to replace Dio, but Graham was the perfect choice for the commercial direction Blackmore wanted to take the band and judging by the success and longevity of the 2 singles the gamble paid off. This is an excellent rock album from a great rainbow lineup, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down to Earth, 22 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down To Earth (Audio CD)
Looking back Down to Earth seemed to satisy no-one: too commercial for Dio fans but too heavy for the pop fans. It obviously tried to bridge that gap to some extent: progressive rock was dying at the end of the 1970s and Blackmore saw that change was necessary. Personally I really like this CD. The songs no-one seems to appreciate: "Danger Sign", "Loves no Friend", I find exceptionally well written, arranged and performed. "Eyes of the World" and "Lost in Hollywood" are more old style Rainbow and easy to like, whilst "Since You've Been Gone" may be poppy but it's still powerfull fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Una maza, che!, 13 Nov 2008
By 
R. N. ESPIŅEIRA "Rne" (Malaver , Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down To Earth (Audio CD)
Rainbow really did come Down To Earth for their 1979 release of the same name, featuring a lineup overhaul as the unpredictable Graham Bonnet was recruited to fill the boots of Ronnie James Dio, while ex-Deep Purple bassist Roger Glover and keyboardist Don Aiery joined Richie Blackmore's ranks. Down To Earth features a string of catchy rockers that drop the Dio era's D&D stance in favor of straight-shootin' accounts of chasin' tail and the inevitable romantic woe that follows, as heard on the backstage action of "All Night Long," turbulent "Danger Zone," and their top-ten cover of Russ Ballard's arena-rock warhorse, "Since You've Been Gone." Elsewhere, Blackmore and Aiery flex some instrumental muscle on "Eyes of the World," while "Love's No Friend" features a slow groove that highlights Bonnet's dramatic delivery, and the album wraps up with the charging "Lost in Hollywood." Despite trading in the chainmail for a sports jacket, Rainbow are firing on all cylinders throughout Down To Earth, making for a killer set of melodic rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WITH A NEW LINE-UP, BLACKMORE STILL KICKS A**!, 4 May 2001
This review is from: Down To Earth (Audio CD)
Pop-metal, pop-rock, soft-rock, call it what you like. This is the first Rainbow album I ever heard, back in the late '80s, and although it saw the band taking a different direction away from the Dio era, DOWN TO EARTH certainly lives up to its title by being a meaty rocker. It is perhaps the addition of Ritchie's ex-Purple cohort, bassist Roger Glover which gives the album an air of slickness. 'All Night Long', 'Eyes Of The World', 'No Time To Lose', 'Danger Zone' and 'Lost In Hollywood' are all great, showcasing the brilliant fretwork of Blackmore, while 'Since You Been Gone' is a throwaway top 10 single which paved the way for subsequent hits like 'I Surrender'. This is a must for any Rainbow fan or any other person who likes good '70s metal-rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic hard rock from The Man in black, 28 Jun 2005
By 
John Buckle (Lichfield, Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Down To Earth (Audio CD)
Down to Earth played a major part in the history of Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow.It was a transitional album, falling between the classic heavy rock period of albums such as 'Rising' and 'Long Live Rock & Roll';and the later AOR sound of 'Straight Between The Eyes' et al. The departure of original vocalist, Ronnie James Dio,led to Blackmore recruiting ex-Marble Graham Bonnet who added a new dimension to the style and sound of the band.Bonnet's throaty roar and 'James Dean' image allied to the more commercial songs penned for this album (predominantly by Blackmore and Roger Glover)provided Rainbow with two top ten singles in 'All Night Long' and the perrenial 'Since You Been Gone', the latter written by Russ Ballard.Notwithstanding this, the album still rocked hard and classics such as 'Eyes of the World' and 'Lost in Hollywood' would not have been out of place on 'Rising'. Some die-hard fans considered this album to be something of a sell-out and certainly, it did introduce Rainbow to a new sector of fans.In truth, however 'Down to Earth' was a natural progression from it's predecessor 'Long Live Rock & Roll'(the last to feature Dio).Indeed, it has been reported that Dio himself actually liked this album.Following the 1979/80 tour to promote the album, which culminated in a headline spot at the inaugral 'Monsters of Rock' festival at Donington Park,Graham Bonnet and drummer, Cozy Powell left the band.With a new vocalist, Joe Lynn Turner,as well as a revolving door of other musicians, Blackmore's Rainbow subsequently pursued a path of Americanised AOR, in the mode of Foreigner, Journey etc.As a consequence, they would never sound this good again.In a nutshell, this is hard rock at it's very best.Go buy it...and while you're at it, treat yourself to 'Rising' and 'Long Live Rock & Roll' as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Rock albums, ever, 14 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Down To Earth (Audio CD)
You will probably like this CD whether you like Rock music or not. This was from the Rainbow era when Graham Bonnet was the lead singer and what a great front man he was! Songs with real passion and clout. I love every track on this CD; All Night Long, Eyes of the World, Making Love, Danger Zone - I could not pick one overall favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down To Earth (Audio CD)
Excellent value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rainbow's Last Great English Rock Album, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down To Earth (Audio CD)
Rainbow had great success with its first 3 Albums featuring Heavy Metal Legend Ronnie J. Dio, and are instant Classic's, then Dio left to join Black Sabbath (My Fav Band) and Blackmore hired Graham Bonnet with a totally different Vocal style to Dio, however it was a right choice Bonnett does amazingly this Album has no Filler tracks or terrible ones...yes its more commercial but it still ROCKS! And It is Rainbow's Last great English Sounding Rock Album before Blackmore "Americanized" the Band :/ nonetheless this is an Album to buy whether your a Rainbow fan or a Rock Fan... BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Down To Earth
Down To Earth by Rainbow (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews