Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright and transparent
At the time of writing, the relevant Amazon pages list 14 CD recordings of Bach's complete Brandenburg Concertos. This particular one can lay a strong claim to being one of the best. It offers a faithful, superbly played and authentically Baroque reading of these evergreen works.

The six concertos that make up the Brandenburgs are very varied - they may not...
Published on 23 Jan 2008 by Jon Chambers

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average - Hold Out for Better
The Brandenburg Concertos are my favorite and they were my thesis at University and they are my passion still today. I collect all recordings and this one's quality and scratchiness leaves a lot to be desired. The French horn section is certainly powerful (of major import to the Brandenburg Concertos) but overall, I'd strongly consider Bach: Brandenburg Concertos as a...
Published on 9 May 2011 by Roger Treat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright and transparent, 23 Jan 2008
By 
Jon Chambers (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
At the time of writing, the relevant Amazon pages list 14 CD recordings of Bach's complete Brandenburg Concertos. This particular one can lay a strong claim to being one of the best. It offers a faithful, superbly played and authentically Baroque reading of these evergreen works.

The six concertos that make up the Brandenburgs are very varied - they may not even have been conceived as a set - so it's refreshing to see that no artificial attempt at uniformity is made: the mantle of 'musical director' is shared between three highly accomplished violinists - Monica Huggett, Catherine Mackintosh and Elizabeth Wallfisch.

Technically, concertos four and five offer the greatest challenge. I remember reading somewhere that Bach may never have had the chance to hear such demanding works actually played during his lifetime. A sobering thought. The pieces are played here with verve and precision by Huggett and Malcolm Proud, on violin and harpsichord respectively. The harpsichord solo in the opening Allegro of the fifth concerto is a spellbinding passage which gets increasingly frenetic (almost manic) and prefigures Classical/Romantic cadenzas and much else. Proud is always controlled and introduces subtle variations of tempo and dynamic to avoid sounding prosaic.

Artistically, the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment brings a creative engagement to the works without ever putting themselves before JSB. I particularly liked the horns' cross rhythms throwing confusion and an air of modernity into the mix in the first concerto. (Recently, I heard this effect again on radio - by Europa Galante, if memory serves.) The small scale of the ensemble, meanwhile, creates a sound that is transparent and lucid, nowhere more so than in the second concerto, where Mark Bennett's trumpet is crisp and clear. My only complaint is that the ensemble make no attempt to fill the lacuna in Brandenburg 3. A meagre two or three bar violin solo bridges movements 1 and 3. Two chords in the manuscript are all that's left of the slow movement - but it is enough to tell us that something is missing. Interpolations from The English Suites have been used to good effect in other recordings and it's a shame something more ambitious isn't attempted here. But what we have is excellent music and unbeatable value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 April 2011
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
Performances are pleasing: proper sense of scale with being overblown, sensible tempi and fine nuances bending/nudging the 'line' of the music. The sound is excellent - at least through my Quad electrostatic loudspeakers: clear, focused, with depth and transparency; no signs of the concerns expressed by others (which there will be with MP3 compression).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight, 17 Dec 2011
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
This has to be one of the best recording of the Brandenburg Concertos. The variety of the the instrumental groups involved often give complete sets the feeling that they are just a set of different recordings brought together. It's clear from this set that there is a clarity of purpose and consistency across the recording that tie all the concertos together. There are some moments of great beauty like the opening of the Adagio of the first concerto to the pure energy and joy of Mark Bennet's trumpet in the final movement of the second concerto.

Well worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Look at that price!!!, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Stanley Crowe (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a bargain -- period-performance-style Brandenburgs in excellent 1988 digital sound for under $10.00! And with the great Monica Huggett to boot. I've had this recording for some time, and I took it from my shelves to compare it to the almost contemporary (1986) I Musici account on Philips, which adheres to an older style, with heavier, less dance-like rhythms, more modern instruments, and a more integrated sound. I Musici have been in the business since c. 1950, they play beautifully, and they see no need, obviously, to become a different kind of group. Their account is very attractive, and the sound is stellar. But here, the whole thing dances, the instruments are less smooth in sound, so that you actually believe that there is friction on strings of the violins, for example. The strands of music are a bit more distinct, so that you can hear more clearly what Bach is weaving together -- and yet there's no sense of imperfect ensemble. I'm glad to have both this and the I Musici account in my collection, for what that says about performance history in my lifetime, but also (and mainly) because both are beautifully done in their respective ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brandenburg Concerti, 22 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. Rp Meinke "Rachel" (Guernsey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
The many moods of Bach, his ability to change and manipulate one's emotions, all in one box. Seems like a miracle. Well known from my youth, tunes and harmonies full of happiness and thoughtfulness, Although the original works were made for employers and aristocratic audiences, there is something for everybody here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good recording, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
I would recommend this recording. I think this is very happy music and this rendition is particularly graceful and relaxing, being played on original instruments and recorded in churches. It's also about 25 years old, so whilst it's not the sharpest of recordings, the acoustic is lovely. The ebb and flow of diminuendos and crescendos and expression; the balance of tempo, the crispness of the faster passages - you can feel every note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent recording on period instruments, 15 Oct 2009
By 
A great recording of the Brandenburg Concertos, definitely worth adding to your collection of music, especially if you love J.S. Bach and baroque music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear recording, 1 Dec 2010
By 
Sharon (Ascot, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
Brandenburgs altogether is quite difficult to purchase. This recording is clear and at a good tempo mainly. Some of the dynamics are rather more extreme than I had expected but good to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHILL OUT MUSIC!, 2 Feb 2013
By 
A. Goddard "medieval mad" (West Country UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Downloaded this for my husband for part of his Christmas present. He was very pleased with it as it replaced a long lost tape recording. It's so much easier to choose, purchase and download on Amazon than walking miles shop to shop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars J S Bach's "Brandenburg Concertos" from the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Mark A. Meldon (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
I recently re-bought this 1989 recording of Bach's near-ubiquitous "Brandenburg Concertos" in a fit of nostalgia for the late 1980s, early 1990s "period instrument boom", which gave birth to dozens and dozens of recordings when CDs were the shiny new kids on the block. Indeed, I sought out an original release (here Brandenburg Concerti 1-6), in one of those "fat-box" jewel cases, card slipcase, and (most importantly) the oversize booklet. This much more recently released budget version is just the same recording in new clothes and can be had for very little nowadays. I well remember paying, I think, 19.49 in a long-gone shop in Brighton; until some annoying person borrowed it and never gave it back, it was one of my favourite sets of the "Brandenburgs". Partly to reassure myself that my memory was as good as I hoped, I sent off for the second-hand box set from a marketplace seller and it arrived the other day for the grand price of 1.46, including postage.

Was my memory working as it should? Well, yes, I still find this a very good recording (better than Pinnock's rather prissy old "Archiv" set Bach: Brandenburg Concertos; Orchestral Suites), but there have been many more recordings since the late 1980s, and, it has to be said, the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment set is showing its age.

I also dug out an old "Penguin Guide" (remember when they were really good?) to see what it said:-

"With the direction shared among four violinists, Monica Huggett (Nos 2,4 and 6), Catherine Mackintosh (No.1), Alison Bury (No.3) and Elizabeth Wallfisch (No.5), the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment presents an amiable set of "Brandenburgs" on period instruments. These performances do not carry authentic practice to the limit in either technique or choice of speeds but bring all the advantages of light, clear textures and no sense of haste, even when a movement is taken faster than has become traditional, as in the finales of Nos 2,4 and 5. With generally excellent recording, this makes a fair alternative to the outstanding version by Trevor Pinnock on DG Archiv; but the OAE ensemble, for all its comfortable ease of balance and interplay, as a rule cannot quite match that of the English Concert in crispness."

Well, I can't agree with the old "Penguin Guide" comments about Pinnock's old Archiv set (his more recent recording Bach: Brandenburg Concertos is a different kettle of fish), preferring either this OAE set, Koopman ( here Bach, Js : Brandenburg Concertos Nos 1 - 3 & Flute Concerto - Apex and here Bach, Js : Brandenburg Concertos Nos 4 - 6 & Orchestral Suite No.2 - Apex) or, at a pinch, Hogwood (here Bach: Brandenburg Concertos 1-6). All three of these recordings have rather more life about them, in my opinion, compared to the old Pinnock set.

But, a few years after this entertaining set came out, along came the entirely splendid Tafelmusik set (here Brandenburg Concertos) which, for me, relegated this OAE set from the top of the table, but that's another story.

In sum, and excellent and stimulating set of "Brandenburgs" and, I was pleased to find that my memory hadn't let me down after all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bach: Brandenburg Concertos
Bach: Brandenburg Concertos by Johann Sebastian Bach (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews