Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£1.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 August 2002
It's somewhat dissapointing, that a couple of people here cannot appreciate an album thats not 'dripping with funk'
This is album I can never tire of, It's laid back and unlike a lot of albums - it slowy builds track after track to get even better.
This Mobo Winning album was released to rave reviews - just check out the back cover & you will see what I mean.
Beverley Knight has a very special chemistry, in a genre which started & is still dominated by Americans, she can remain sophisticated, while still sounding unmistakedly British through out.
Listen to this album a few times & I guarantee you will hear one of the best - if not best; soul albums of recent years.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2008
this is my second fav album in the whole wide world....... with a collection of over 600 cd albums, that is saying something.

this is a SUBLIME piece of work. I can't believe the words bland and disappointing have been usd in other reviews. i would only suggest that those people have a short attention span and weren't willing to let these compositions penetrate. they have penetrated deep within me and every song is a classic. this record was released 10 years ago and i still find myself listening to it start to finish at least once a week.

the lyrical content is phenomenal. using similies and metaphors that are so clever and fitting to each songs message. they aren't used in a tacky way, but in a way that allows the listener to relate and create their own mental images that take you to another place.

"lovers rock describes your groove, rude boy love is heavenly' wehey!!

don't even get me started on the harmonies. they are so layered and genius. she obviously worked so incredibly hard on this whole record.... start to finish and i imagine it was a labour of love.

DO NOT MISS OUT ON THIS RECORD
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2001
This album shows more of britain's fantastic R&B. Beverley Knight is one of the most talented singers from the UK. She also writes her own songs, as well. Some of the beats here may be a bit bland compared to the beats of american R&B, but Beverley's wonderful voice takes us above that. Thankfully, they included the single version of 'Made It Back', which is better than the original. Pick this up if you enjoy R&B. nuff said. However, I think the canadian version slightly differs from this one, as the extra tracks on the canadian version are the single remix of "made it back" and remixes of AWOL and sista sista. there's no remix of 'the greatest day', and the Canadian version has a different cover. but both covers look great. enjoy
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2007
This album is pure class. The emotion running though the songs is incredible and Beverley's voice is just beautiful. Greatest Day was the 1st BK song I heard and really loved; and after Sista Sista I had to buy the album. I can'tbelieve how under rated she is. I finally got to see her live last night and it was more than worth the wait!

This is by far my favourite album I think because it's the most soulful. If you're looking for the perfect chill out album then you just found it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 1999
Probably the best CD I have ever heard/had. Beverly is an amazing talent. The lyrics are powerful, deep. She has the most amazing voice. The lyrics make so much sence, you can relate to the singer very easily. She also co-wrote all the lyrics, you 'hear' the emotion in her voice while she is singing. Simply Brilliant. A must have for soul lovers! Beverly, sing girl, sing. Keep up the good work.
Very Sincerely, Beverly Knight's Greatest Fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2000
A truly excellent and magical album from Miss Knight. She is a jewel in the crown of soul and an asset to the UK. Who said it was only American's who could produce good r&b? (the first track's great if you've got a CD alarm clock!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 1999
This album instantly appealed to me. Knight was able to create some amazing vocal arrangements, and the songs are of excellent quality. Hopefully, people will finally realise her talent since she deserves to be alot more succesful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2006
A CD to play time and time again. Down to earth music. I love it. Hats off to Beverly Knight. She really is a true artist Buy it today and see for yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2015
fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2000
I am an R&B/Soul fan, but this isn't the strongest album i've heard. There are some great tracks: Made it Back '99 (REMIX), Greatest Day '99 (REMIX) & SistaSista. However, this album suffers from a symptom only known as blandness. The originals of Made It Back & Greatest Day aren't up to much, neither are the originals of AWOL & Rewind, and songs such as Strong Hand and Send Me... lack a strong chorus. However, the blusey, powerful belters, Damn and The Need Of You are absolutely superb. As long as you like your music soulful, but a tad bland, you'll love this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.27
£18.72

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.