Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Stage, In Charge and Out of This World.
This excellent re-release features bonus unreleased tracks, that were not on the original LP.
Elvis live, as always, was dynamic to say the least, and this excellent sample of his Feb 1970 Vegas engagement shows the new songs flooding in, whilst rubbing shoulders with classics from Elvis, plus contemporary hits from The Beatles and Creedence Clearwater Revival and...
Published on 13 May 2002

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On Stage - Elvis Presley
On Stage - I was a bit disappointed with the sound quality. I enjoyed the songs however and it is growing on me!!! I don't think I would recommend it.
Published 19 months ago by Alma Andrews


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Stage, In Charge and Out of This World., 13 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: On Stage (Audio CD)
This excellent re-release features bonus unreleased tracks, that were not on the original LP.
Elvis live, as always, was dynamic to say the least, and this excellent sample of his Feb 1970 Vegas engagement shows the new songs flooding in, whilst rubbing shoulders with classics from Elvis, plus contemporary hits from The Beatles and Creedence Clearwater Revival and Neil Diamond.
The first song "See See Rider" became the opener for hundreds of his concerts, this blues classic is attacked hard and fast, before an excellent cover of Neil Diamonds "Sweet Caroline."
"Runaway" is the Del Shannon classic, updated here, and with some wild guitar licks from James Burton; Shannon, who is in the crowd and pointed out by Elvis, must have been loving it.
"The Wonder of You" is next and it hit #1 the year this album was released. It's an all-time classic, sing along......I know that you know the words.
With "Polk Salad Annie" business really picks up with this astounding piece of Southern funk. The spoken intro, wild bass and guitar licks add to the breathtaking performance by Elvis; which, if you have seen "That's The Way It Is", you will agree is unforgettable.
"Yesterday" performed in a medley with "Hey Jude" at the end, is very good. Elvis apparently really liked "Yesterday." I recently heard Paul McCartney say that he did'nt like Elvis' version too much.
Made famous by Creedence Clearwater Revival and covered by Tina Turner, "Proud Mary" is a real classic song. And I hate to be biased, but Elvis version wipes the floor with all others. Drums and guitars here, Elvis rockin, and relishing the lyrics.
"Walk a Mile in my Shoes" is a Tony Joe White song, again with lyrics that Elvis really digs in to. This is excellent, and it seems fitting that "In the Ghetto" follows, need I say more about this masterpiece.
"Don't Cry Daddy" was another massive hit single, it is a little sentimental, and not for all tastes.
Hit after hit here, as "Kentucky Rain" emerges, a lesser performed song, great stuff though, with story-like verses.
"I Can't Stop Loving You" is a classic, whether it's Elvis great live versions or Ray Charles' definitive version, I love this song. Elvis really attacked this in 69/70, whilst later readings are slower and country-esque, this rocks.
"Suspicious Minds" need I say more!!!!!!!!!
"Long Tall Sally", and Elvis lets rip into this Little Richard classic; actually Elvis' version from 1956 was the best version of the song, and Little Richard never performed it as good as this live.
Finally, with "Let it Be Me" the tempo slows again, with a gospel type reading of this song, that is very very beautiful; a lesson in ballad singing.
This is a great live CD, and if you are a fan or not this is a worthy purchase. Elvis was so good live, yet hugely varied; you really must hear more than one concert as the diversity and change in styles and reportoire is something to behold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELVIS KICKS ASS, 1 Oct 2003
This review is from: On Stage (Audio CD)
This is Elvis Presley at his best.
The banter between the audience and Elvis is enough to make this CD buyable. But not only that Elvis performs with such ease while at the same time being so brillent.
The songs included show Elvis's wide vocal range. However, I didn't enjoy the HEY JUDE/YESTERDAY and that is one song I skip by.
Elvis begins with See See Rider which is one of the best songs on this CD along side Polk Salad Annie and finishes with I can't stop loving you- again, blowing me away.
If you own an Elvis collection or are starting out get this CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELVIS ROCKS LIVE, 29 Dec 2008
This review is from: On Stage (Audio CD)
In my opinion nobody could sing live like Elvis. Throughout the 7O`s Elvis released many of his `live` songs as singles, the biggest hit being The Wonder of You, which was No 1 for 7 weeks in Britain. How many other artists would dare to release `live` songs, certainly not Britney Spears or Madonna. His voice is amazing on all of his live shows and this set is brilliant. I would recommend this album to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best!, 15 Mar 2012
This review is from: On Stage (Audio CD)
This is maybe the most entertaining Elvis record. Most of the great songs are here, Elvis is in great shape, the band rocks, the sound is brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 4 Nov 2012
This review is from: On Stage (Audio CD)
If you'd have a choice to save only 1 piece of Elvis's music from the house on fire- this would be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonder, 24 Aug 2011
This review is from: On Stage (Audio CD)
On Stage is a great album but imo not quite as strong as 'That's The Way It Is' or 'In Memphis'. The two Beatles covers seem a little half hearted to me and slow the momentum of the album. Those tracks apart this is yet another illustration of Elvis's talent, versatility and charisma. I particularly love the two rockier numbers, See See Rider and Polk Salad Annie (if you can watch trhe accompanying performances on youtube). The Wonder of You is one of the great love songs and his version of Sweet Caroline makes Neil Diamond sound like a pub singer.

Elvis Presley. Truely the King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably the second comeback tour but he was still the King!, 7 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: On Stage (Audio CD)
It's almost like Rock n' Roll colliding with prog rock in atight white jump suit. Elvis enters the building and leaps into kung-fu frenzy as only big E could. A highlight on the album is the short but sweet Polk salad Annie, a groovy tune about a girl who's momma worked on a chain gang and grew polk salad...need I say more. It's an excellent live gig with a fun band who may possibly be a bit messy but that's all part of the fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Stage (Audio CD)
classic album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars for elvis fans only, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Stage (Audio CD)
If you believe elvis was and still is the greatest entertainer that stood on a stage then u will enjoy all elvis cd's . myself being one of these believers recommend this CD just because it's elvis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis - Peerless., 3 Mar 2011
This review is from: On Stage (Audio CD)
1970 was Elvis at his very best, singing classics, definitive versions of great songs ("Bridge Over....", "Youve lost..." to mention but two).

He was energised, vital and cant be pigeonholed into any particular genre.

Words really do fail me, but he was at his peak and there is no one who had even 50% of his charisma, power or presence during this run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Stage
On Stage by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews