Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun !
I was nothing if not sceptical when I picked up a copy of Pokemon Red. I knew it was a craze amongst the under 12's (being in my 30's I consider myself to be an honorary member of that particular club) and I know Nintendo were milking it for all it was worth, so would it be just another ten minute wonder?
I'm happy to say that after more sets of batteries than I...
Published on 13 July 2000 by Chris Russell (amonrag@hotmail...

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars baterys problems
item go received quick but was faulty due to the battery inside it was incorrect an had to fix it myself witch was a pain in the arse . i wouldnt buy from this seller again
Published 6 months ago by Joseph Wood


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun !, 13 July 2000
This review is from: Pokemon - Red Version (Game Boy) (Game Cartridge)
I was nothing if not sceptical when I picked up a copy of Pokemon Red. I knew it was a craze amongst the under 12's (being in my 30's I consider myself to be an honorary member of that particular club) and I know Nintendo were milking it for all it was worth, so would it be just another ten minute wonder?
I'm happy to say that after more sets of batteries than I care to mention I'm still playing Pokemon Red, which managed to completly exceed my expectations in every way. This is actually a very good Game Boy RPG with an awful lot going for it. OK so it's not exactly the Legend of Zelda, but it's pretty impressive giving loads of gaming opportunity as you capture and train handfuls of pocket monsters then pit them against other trainers to improve the quality of your charges.
Surprisingly, it requires quite alot of strategy to get the balance of your Pokemon right - you can only hold six at a time, and deploying them against the opposition in the right order can be a vital opener if you're to achieve victory. There's a massive amount of play in this cartridge, which is battery-backed to allow games to be saved, with the trail to capture all of the games 130+ monsters taking a not inconsiderable amount of time.
All-in-all, top entertainment !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good memories, 22 Oct 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Its hard to believe looking back, that this game caused so much of a stir in the playground. Pokemon Red and Blue where a big deal during the mid 90's, and it was the game that really absored kids into a great adventure.

The layout of the game itself is simple, which I guess helped the popularity. But it was more of the objective that took sold the game - you had to become the 'best' pokemon trainer, and this could be done by winning lots and lots fights with other trainers.

I won't even go into what 'Pokemon' are (japanese for Pocket Monsters - hence they are kept in Pokeballs...) but to make it simple, their just creatures that are trained up and used for fighting other Pokemon. On your travels, you can catch Pokemon by using Pokeballs you may buy, and various other things can be bought too.

The game is captivating in that it seems to go on forever, and it is incredibly obsessive - there weere many a time you'd be in the middle of a battle, and the battery was about to die.... uh oh! The range of things to do is good as well - swim, ride a bike, go to a casino style place, lots of environments/people to see.

Their was also the now infamous cheat that soon went round the playgrounds. Remember it??..... Well, for those who want to know, it enables the player to gain MISSINGNO - the pokemon that is a... circuit board. Kids rumour had it that it 'ate' your other Pokemon, but was essential to completing the collection. The cheat also allowed the player to gain many other rare pokemon, including those available only on Red! To do these cheats, the player must 'surf' around the bottom left island, (on the map) on the edge of the right of the pier/ground. Sorry about the inaccurate description!

I tried to look at the game as an adventure - I didnt actually like the cartoon, and left that to the kids who like that kind of stuff. But frankly, now that I've grown up, I can honestly say that whether you likes the cartoon or not, the game is still as addictive as ever, and its an adveture worth taking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Craze. Epic Adventure. Epic Game, 21 Aug 2011
By 
The 90's Guy (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
It's been a little bit over a decade since the Pokémon craze ran wild all over Britain, but I still remember it like it was only yesterday. The endless number of trading cards (my younger brother use to buy them almost every day!), the movies, the cartoon series which SM:TV Live showed every Saturday morning, the commercials ...heck, virtually every single piece of merchandise in the shops had a happy looking Pikachu on the front of it. For a while Ash Ketchum was the Don of cartoon characters, and made kids like Bart Simpson and Eric Cartman look small and pathetic.

Also embedded amongst the craze was, of course the video games. Two of the earliest games were Pokémon Red and Pokémon Blue for the Game Boy. Many more games have been released over the years which have gotten better in the graphics department and higher in the features count. Because of this Red and Blue seem completely irrelevant; but to me, even after all these years, they still provide plenty of depth, challenge and entertainment.

First of all, for anybody who doesn't know the differences between Red and Blue, I tell you. Red comes on a red cartridge and Blue comes on blue. Also, certain Pokémon appear in Red but not Blue, and vice-versa. Now onto the plot. You play the role of a ten year old boy who you need to provide a name for. You can call him Red or Ash or anything that comes to your mind. You also need to provide a name for your rival. You can call him Blue or Gary, or again anything that comes to your mind.

The game starts off in the small and very peaceful Pallet Town. You're about to leave town and see the world when Professor Oak stops you. Apparently it's too dangerous to venture out alone and you need a companion. So the Professor invites you back to his lab and allows you to pick from one of three Pokémon: the fire type, Charmander; the water type, Squirtle; or the grass type, Bulbasaur. Afterwards your rival, who has a bit of a competitive streak, challenges you to a match.

After that you have two main objectives to complete. The first is to gain access to the Pokémon League. You do this by travelling around the region (identified as Kanto in the Gold and Silver games) to different towns and cities, visit the Gyms, defeat the Gym leaders and win their badges. Then when you've won all eight badges you make your way to the league, where you have to defeat the Elite Four and then the Pokémon champion himself to become Pokémon champion.

But in order to do all this you'll need Pokémon, and this is where the game's impressive depth comes into play. The two versions combined have 150 different Pokémon, each one having their own strengths and weaknesses. For example: fire types are strong against grass types but weak against water types; and electric types will make fried chicken out of flying types but are absolutely useless against rock types. These different types mean that the games give you a chance to try out different Pokémon in your line up to see what suits your battling style the best.

Oh, the second objective? Catch all 150 Pokémon. You can pick up Pokéballs from shops in the towns and cities. Then when you see a Pokémon in the wild that you like, you weaken it by fighting it and then throw a Pokéball to capture it. But as mentioned earlier some Pokémon only appear in one version of the game and not the other. To "catch 'em all," sometimes you'll need to trade. If you have the Red version you'll need to link up with somebody who has the Blue version by using a link cable to connect two Game Boys, and then go to trading areas of a Pokémon Centre. Some Pokémon are hard to capture and will provide a satisfying challenge to gaming veterans. Meanwhile the trading, although in an out-of-practice method given today's internet capabilities, is ideal for making friends and improves your ability to socialize, so more positive points there.

Pokemon Red/Blue is supposed to be one great big adventure. But in a way it actually feels like several small adventures combined to make one epic game. Your first Pokemon battle; delivering a package to Professor Oak; catching your first Pokémon in the wild; wondering through Viridian Forest...It sounds (and is!) very appetizing, and this is all before you begin your pursuit of the first Gym badge.

For those who have never played a Pokémon game before there is a lot of stuff to pick up on, with many different items to use, Pokémon strengths and weaknesses, and where to actually go next among other things. But if you're willing to put in the time you'll find that it's an amazing experience that'll make you wish it would last forever. The most enjoyable aspect of the games is the pleasure you get in spending time with your caught Pokémon, travelling with them, raising them, watching them battle and win and gain EXP. points, and sometimes seeing them evolve into stronger Pokémon. It's pretty much like Final Fantasy, except you're not training humans you're training "Pocket Monsters."

Yes the graphics are old and look worse than an Etch-A-Sketch drawing by Michael J. Fox, but Pokémon Red/Blue is still an outstanding piece of gaming artwork, and if you still own a Game Boy you must get a hold of either copy. Even if you're a younger gamer enjoying the 3D-ish graphics and numerous other features in the Black and White versions on the Nintendo DS, if you have even the SLIGHTEST hint of curiosity as to how the Pokémon gaming series began, get a Game Boy on the cheap and pick up a copy of Red or Blue ASAP. If you don't you'll make Pikachu very angry, and you won't like him when he's angry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta Catch 'Em All, 27 Mar 2005
By 
Tealady2000 (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pokemon - Red Version (Game Boy) (Game Cartridge)
Pokemon Red is one of the two original and best Pokemon Gameboy games (Blue being the other). I probably can't say anything that hasn't already been said by other but basically your mission is to ctach as many Pokemon as possible and train them up by defeating wild Pokemon, and Pokemon belonging to rival trainers, so that eventually you are powerful enough to defeat the Elite Four and become the champion trainer of all time. You'll have loads of adventures on ths way - you have to defeat 8 gym leaders and loads of bad guys who are members of Team Rocket.
Although this game is a complete adventure in itself, if you want to catch all 150 Pokemon you will need to trade with someone who has the Blue game, as some Pokemon are exclusive to each game. In addition some Pokemon only evolve when traded so you need to trade in order to actually generate certain evolutions.
This has to be the most original and absorbing console game ever - full marks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pokemon Red, 23 Aug 2000
By 
This review is from: Pokemon - Red Version (Game Boy) (Game Cartridge)
When i first got it I thought that is was a new fad but i been playing for 5 mounths and still think its the best game on the game boy.
If you get Pokemon Red you must bet Pokemon blue is well or if you know someone with it then thats ok but tradeing is half the fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pokemon red, 10 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: Pokemon - Red Version (Game Boy) (Game Cartridge)
definitely one of if not the best games ever on gameboy. If you are into RPGs then this is a game for you. game lasts alot longer than most games available on gameboy with hours of game play available. DEFINITE RECCOMENDATION
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boyfriend loves it!, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my boyfriend for his birthday and he loves it! I bought him a game boy colour too :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta Catch 'Em All!, 27 Mar 2005
By 
Tealady2000 (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Pokemon Blue is one of the two original and best Pokemon Gameboy games (Red being the other). Your mission is to catch as many Pokemon as possible and train them up by defeating wild Pokemon, and Pokemon belonging to rival trainers, so that eventually you are powerful enough to defeat the Elite Four and become the champion trainer of all time. You'll have loads of adventures on ths way - you have to defeat 8 gym leaders and loads of bad guys who are members of Team Rocket.
Although this game is a complete adventure in itself, if you want to catch all 150 Pokemon you will need to trade with someone who has the Red game, as some Pokemon are exclusive to each game. In addition some Pokemon only evolve when traded so you need to trade in order to actually generate certain evolved species.
This has to be the most original and absorbing console game ever - full marks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pokemon red, 1 Jun 2009
By 
C. Jones "fudge" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokemon - Red Version (Game Boy) (Game Cartridge)
this game is a true clasic despite the crummy graphics which are defenitly the worst thing about the game and how there is only one colour in the entire game Wich is red also how short the story line is.Despite this there is hours of fun catching and raising diffrent pokemon if you still love the series and never tried this game or just a gamer who is curious I would give this game a great recamondation overall i would give it 90% if the graphics had been better as they are in yellow version i would have given it 95%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A full packed adventure, 23 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Pokemon - Red Version (Game Boy) (Game Cartridge)
Pokemon red is an excellant game which you'll never get bored of and last you for a long time. You can now travel the world of pokemon, capture all 151 pokemon with the help of Pokemon Blue, train them to be at the highest possible level and become the world's greatest pokemon master. At first you'll have to pick a pokemon, Bulbasaur, Charmander or Squirtle and after that using your pokeballs catch em all. This game is for the gameboy pocket/classical and will also work on gameboy colour. This has to be one of the biggest and best games for the gameboy ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pokemon - Red Version (Game Boy)
Pokemon - Red Version (Game Boy) by Nintendo (Game Boy)
Used & New from: Ł16.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews