Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It changed my life...
well, not quite, but this is one of the jewels of my music question. If you love the cartoons and wanna hear the 'Stop the Pigeon' theme tune again, or relive the euphoria of the Banana Splits, or want to write down all the Wacky Racers for any pub quizzes....buy this CD. It really showcases all their greats, and even stuff I'd never heard of. As well as that, it features...
Published on 11 Aug. 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit Meh
Could definitely be better, more tunes, less repeats, full themes, but it's good for a laugh and a bit of nostalgia, had it playing in the clothing shop I manage got good feedback from the older generations.
Published 14 months ago by Richard Gledhill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It changed my life..., 11 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
well, not quite, but this is one of the jewels of my music question. If you love the cartoons and wanna hear the 'Stop the Pigeon' theme tune again, or relive the euphoria of the Banana Splits, or want to write down all the Wacky Racers for any pub quizzes....buy this CD. It really showcases all their greats, and even stuff I'd never heard of. As well as that, it features background music to some of the big ones, so you can read the papers on Sunday to the tunes of the Flinstone household.
Buy this if you love the cartoons and wanna be pleasantly surprised by how fun this CD is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuis, 29 May 2011
By 
D. Izod - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD is massively evocative of a special era in the lives of anyone born in the 60's. The sleeve notes conjure up this magic very well, a magic that is predicated on one simple idea: HOME TIME! Getting home at 4pm did not mean homework (working class)or prep (middle class) for that could wait until we had had a cup of tea, eaten a sandwich or a bowl of cornflakes and spent two glorious hours vegging out in front of the TV watching some programmes that ranged from the dreadful to the sublime. Most of the cartoons here fall into the latter category. It still produces in me a visceral response of pure pleasure to hear the opening theme to Top Cat or The Flintstones, Wacky Races or Secret Squirell. The sun shone, we had no worries except what mum was making for tea and we could indulge ourselves in the glory of H and B cartoons. Some of the latter ones are a mystery to me (Josie and the Pussycats?) but those that the BBC bought and aired in the late 60's and early 70's are burned into the very fibre of my being.

This CD has got it all: the theme tunes, the outros and best of all, the underscores, which are genius unrivalled. Buy and indulge yourself.

Best listened to in the afternoon while drinking tea and eating toast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia and in car child entertainment, 2 Oct. 2010
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Two birds and one stone - nostalgia for you, as you re live those halcyon days when cartoons were proper cartoons, not like the rubbish now (yes, I know,I sound like a grumpy old man) and sing along with your favourite themes, the Hair Bear Bunch, Scooby Doo, Top Cat, the Flintstones and many more.
Entertain the children on car journeys with a CD they they will love and you can sing along with - watch as your older children squirm with shame as you show that you can remember all the words to the Banana Splits - it's a fixture in our car and I can't recommend it enough - Yabadabadoo !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless garbage you'll love better than Marmite., 16 Jan. 2015
By 
R. A. Caton "Arcaton" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have one copy of this and bought another for a friend. Its an odd throwback to the days when the only way you could have your favourite 'toon on demand was a soundtrack record of the theme or snatches of voices.... the old faves from Hanna Barbera are here, Huckleberry Hound, Yogi Bear, Secret Squirrel...Top Cat... up to the late 60's and "Banana Splits". As well as opening and closing credits (sometimes marred by what sounds like sprocket flutter) there are some of the incidental tracks as well, as used in the Flintstones (that remorseful organ track when Fred has done something stupid AGAIN and he's SO sorry...) and Top Cat (some great 60's cool jazz themes as well as a "generic Irish begorrah" track that says Hanna Barberea all through....

I grew up with Huckleberry Hound and his ilk. Gods, how did we ever think it was GOOD??? Character walks down the street. They are happy and sing "rooty-toot-toot" and other imbecilities
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Hanna Barbara Tunes From The Toons, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love all the cartoon theme tunes on it. From The Flintstones, Wacky Races, Darstardly And Muttley, Wallygator, Top Cat what more could you ask for! Original TV Theme tunes as if you were watching the cartoons as well as a great 1970's memory of childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bit Meh, 11 Mar. 2014
By 
Richard Gledhill (Pembrokeshire, Uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Could definitely be better, more tunes, less repeats, full themes, but it's good for a laugh and a bit of nostalgia, had it playing in the clothing shop I manage got good feedback from the older generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Original Themes Recordings, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantástic for any Hanna-Barbera fan. Why don't make movies and soundtracks like theses anymore? I've been looking for this for a long time and thank God I found it. I'm do really recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Revisit your childhood... briefly., 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay, but wouldn't listen to it very often. The Banana Splits theme is still my favourite. I've taken one "star" off purely because it has little repeatability value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 9 Nov. 2013
these are the originals and the cd arrived really quickly. i was very impressed and pleased. its also a really good price even with the postage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brings your childhood back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews