Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don's Party - forgotten antipodean masterpiece
This is one of my all-time favourite films. It's an acutely-observed social comedy about a group of professionals at a barbecue on election night in 70s Australia. Anyone who can survive Abigail's will love Don's - it's wittier and covers more aspects of middle-class hypocrisy. There's a bit of tragedy hidden in there somewhere as the youthful dreams - political,...
Published on 8 July 2006 by Mr. J. B. Smith

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish
Puerile and disappointing. Not what I expected, perhaps I should have read the reviews more carefully, but thought it would have been more subtle.
Published 2 months ago by Donald Thomson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don's Party - forgotten antipodean masterpiece, 8 July 2006
By 
Mr. J. B. Smith "Jeremy" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don's Party [DVD] [1976] [US Import] (DVD)
This is one of my all-time favourite films. It's an acutely-observed social comedy about a group of professionals at a barbecue on election night in 70s Australia. Anyone who can survive Abigail's will love Don's - it's wittier and covers more aspects of middle-class hypocrisy. There's a bit of tragedy hidden in there somewhere as the youthful dreams - political, social and sexual - of our characters come under the alcohol-fuelled microscope and are shown to have decayed. There are some good jokes, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Behind every suburban garden wall...., 14 Jun 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don's Party (DVD)
Don's Party, thankfully, turns more to tears, sex, argument and some painful home truths for this group of Australian suburbanites, in the 1970's. Don uses the General Election results on TV as an excuse to get his mates round, who all have 'interesting' wives.

Like many a similar escapade into the lower echelons of human civility, the sexual innuendos and chauvinism is flowing as fast as the wine and beer and the election results fast fade from our attention.

It's often hilarious, frequently bitter and with a fair amount of full nudity, male and female, not least of which stems from the "borrowing" of next door neighbour's swimming pool. Bruce Beresford's slinging attack on what everyday people say and do when inhibitions slip is as far a cry from Picnic at Hanging Rock as is possible.

I only use that as a reference because this film is one of the DVDs in my Australian Cinema Collection 12 disc boxset, as is 'Picnic at...' not because Beresford directed it. Beresford did direct a good number of Australia's most noted films - and not always for their quality, either. However, Don's Party is as good as this sort of adult sex comedy drama gets and could equally be set in the UK, US or indeed, anywhere. It's certainly one of Bruce's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 29 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don's Party (DVD)
This is a great film that hasn't dated in the way relationships between the sexes can develop. The story is of a party at the home of a 30-something teacher and his wife in Australia some 40 years ago, with a national election as the excuse for the party and the back-drop to it. The men all have too much to drink and disgrace themselves wonderfully. The ladies tolerate the increasingly bad behaviour of their menfolk less and less as the evening passes, and eventually start to behave badly themselves. There are some hilarious episodes and some fine acting. It is not for the prudish, however, for there is full frontal nudity and adult themes throughout.

I watched this many years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. When I came upon it recently I bought it hoping for the same belly laughs that I had enjoyed when I first saw it. I wasn't disappointed. I can recommend this film to anyone who likes Australian humour and a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 20 Feb 2014
By 
Donald Thomson "Jove" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don's Party (DVD)
Puerile and disappointing. Not what I expected, perhaps I should have read the reviews more carefully, but thought it would have been more subtle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure carnage., 25 Aug 2013
By 
Prof TBun (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don's Party (DVD)
Don's Party gets off to a slow start, but it is not long before the personalities start to clash with some hilarious results. There is also some tentative and not so tentative seduction that goes on.

The conversations and action are no holes barred, but there is less profanity than I expected and the lustful behaviour did not seem out of place. In fact I can honestly say that I have been to some fairly similar parties albeit with a younger age group.

The genius of this production is that it manages to throw together a group of tragic characters, makes things even worse for them, yet you feel that they are all going to be better off in the end. I loved the honesty of the male/female interaction when everyone is a little intoxicated. There is a lot of uncertainty as to whether the characters frustrations and desires will get the better of them and what will happen if they do, all very well acted out.

Whilst I think this is a brilliant film it isn't going to suit every one. It is a middle class party and if you have not at least been to university you are going to struggle to relate to the character types, and may find some of the decandent behaviour too incredible.

I'm struggling to think of any other screen drama to compare it with, because it is much more typical of stage theatre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd have been there !, 7 Jun 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don's Party [DVD] [1976] [US Import] (DVD)
An assorted bunch of professional, politically minded pals have a boozy get together to celebrate a change of government.
70s suburban Oz! Bawdy, Rip roaring, 100 proof comedy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not everyones cup of tea, 25 Mar 2009
By 
P. D. Glendon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don's Party [DVD] [1976] [US Import] (DVD)
Watch with plenty of red wine and you can almost join in the party. Great film, wish I had been there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic of 70s kitsch, 4 Dec 2007
This review is from: Don's Party [DVD] [1976] [US Import] (DVD)
First saw this film at university film club about 20 years ago and have never forgotten it. Many will recoil at the unreconstructed neanderthal boorish beer-swilling Aussie stereotypes depicted, but others will rejoice in the joyously non-PC sentiments, expressed with paradoxical eloquence by a bunch of academics on election night. The election itself (mirrored in late 2007 by the ousting of John Howard) saw the end of Liberal rule under Malcolm Fraser and lends an extra dramatic tension as the evening wears on and closet conservatives in the party are unmasked. Exquisitely hilarious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars australian humour, 2 Oct 2010
This review is from: Don's Party [VHS] (VHS Tape)
1970s australian comedy crude yet humourous

having spent numerous years in australia in
the fifties sixties and seventies one is aquainted
with the humour
quite true to life
graham kennedy shines quite well
one of my favourite australian actors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7e7f48c)

This product

Don's Party [DVD] [1976] [US Import]
Don's Party [DVD] [1976] [US Import] by Bruce Beresford (DVD - 1999)
Used & New from: 9.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews