Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars11
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£1.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2000
I first became aware of Catatonia in '98, when "Mulder and Scully" was released. Since then I have followed everything they have done. I believe this to be their best album to date, as it is far more in depth than previous releases "Way Beyond Blue" and "International Velvet", this is desplayed for example in the beautiful "Bulimic Beats", although keeping the brilliance that Catatonia naturally possess. A must have album for all music lovers.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2000
Okay, so it probably would be unfair to compare this album with the pure brilliance of International Velvet/Way Beyond Blue but that is no reason to write it off! Listen to the wonderful Dead From The Waist Down, The lively Karaoke Queen, the slow beautiful Bullimic Beats, Valerian and then be amazed by the catchiness of Dazed Beautiful and Bruised, Nothing Hurts and Shoot The Messenger! By this CD now and set yourself back for hours worth of musical enjoyment!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2004
Cataonia's third album must go down in musical history as one of the most maligned releases of all time. Following on the back of their hugely successful 'International Velvet' (an album that was far from perfect itself) expectations were running unbearably high. The band, instead of trying to match 'Velvet's' Britpop thrash and bluster wisely chose melodic introspection and wider, more thoughtful palette of topics.
Sure, the big pop songs were there with 'Londinium', 'She's A Millionaire', 'Karaoke Queen' all crammed with more hooks than a fisherman's kit bag. But it was the the sheer beauty of songs like 'Bulimic Beats' (admittedly a terrible title that did the song no favours), 'Dead From The Waist Down' and 'Nothing Hurts' that melt the heart. 'Valerian' is one of their most lovely melodies set to a gently pulsing beat that showcases Cerys Matthews' vocals perfectly.
The only weak song is the rather formless 'Post Script', but again, it's only because it is set amongst such quality. Maybe it was the unweildy album title or the horrible artwork, but the commonly held view that this is a clunker is woefully wrong.
It's time for a reassessment of a lost gem
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2007
I ordered this album without great expectation after seeing an average score of 4 stars here on amazon, but it has greatly exceeded my expectations. In my opinion it's every bit as good as Way Beyond Blue and International Velvet.

As always with Catatonia there's real variety of musical style here, from the ultra pop melodies of Karaoke Queen, Londinium and She's A Millionaire to the more serious and sophisticated Bulimic Beats and Shoot The Messenger and the awesome and powerful Dazed, Beautiful and Bruised, which is possibly Catatonias best piece of music, and would be one of the best songs I've ever heard if it had an extra verse.

As well as the variety there's the same top notch songwriting all the way through the album, and of course Cerys Matthews wonderful voice. Maybe it's not pop enough for some people, but Catatonia albums have always had this same variety. Otherwise I'd have to figure some people made up their minds after only one listen, which doesn't work with any music.

If you like any of the other albums you need to own this one too. Only tiny downside, no welsh language songs.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 1999
Equally Cursed & Blessed, the third album from the Welsh band Catatonia is not necessarily their finest. Full of wonderful eye catching songs refined with new innovative technological sounds, this album is a little off the classic 'Cerys and guitars' formula that made International Velvet such a success.
There are as always on any Catatonia album, wonderfully beautiful songs such as the sorrowful Ballard 'Bulimic Beats' and the mellow 'Nothing Hurts'. In conjunction with the unserious 'Karaoke Queen' and the arm swaying 'Dead From The Waist Down', there is a fine variety of sounds that will keep your ears happy.
Definitely worth buying and having in your record collection but may disappoint if you're looking for the indie sounding Way Beyond Blue, their first album. One of the albums of the year and yet they'll get no credit for it. Oh well, we can only look forward to what comes next year from Cerys and co.
Amir Durgahee
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
The follow-up to International Velvet struggles to match the excellence of its predecessor. However, this album is still worthy of your consideration in many respects including as it does the lilting 'Dead From The Waist Down', the classy 'Londinium' and the unusually titled, yet lovely, 'Bulimic Beats'. I would recommend adding it to your collection if only to compare and contrast with its predecessor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Apart from the obvious singles which begin this CD, I get bored usually halfway through and don't play the remaining tracks - music is a little predictable and voice samey - the slower tracks providing some depth - otherwise very average.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
I am maybe too old for this type of music but I must admit I love Catatonia & really enjoy this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Great band,& the beautiful Cerys too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
good price arrived in super fast time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)