Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius distilled onto three tracks, 18 Jun 2007
This review is from: Windowlicker (Audio CD)
I can't recommend this highly enough. The cartoonish electro sleaze on the actual track Windowlicker is Aphex Twin at his best. Formula is perhaps an aquired taste, it crosses over more into digital art rather than music (the face embedded in the sound waves) but is one of my personal favs of his. Nannou is an incredibly tranquil tune, the music box sounds remind me alot of what Sigur Ros did on Takk six years later.

Jist is, just buy this, it will be the best purchase you ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bizare with A Capital B, 24 Dec 2006
This review is from: Windowlicker (Audio CD)
Opening with a noise that sounds suspiciously like someone belching into a microphone, Windowlicker opens into one of the most strange and brilliantly inspiring songs ever. It has the ability to sound all over the place, yet still stick to a tune and pattern, which is a pretty hard to do. I can't stand Formula (hence the 4 stars, otherwise it would have 5), its just unlistenable. Nannou is really fascinating. Its like a music box dancing accross a table top in the middle of the night.

I think the cover sort of defines it. Richard D James has invaded music, made it swallow a bomb and given the detonator to a monkey.

Inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Equally Melodic and Mental, 16 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Windowlicker (Audio CD)
Windowlicker is probably one of Aphex's most accessible tracks of recent times, starting with an almost R'n'B tinge, it proves to be a lot more chilled out than anything on his previous output, the RDJ album. The second track is an absolutely stunning piece of audacious electronica, reminicent of something from the Come to Daddy EP having gone through a food processor a few times. Truely madcore. Finally Nannou is a refreshingly melodic piece not dissimilar to Flim. I would definately recommend this single and envisage the first track appealing to quite most people while two and three specifically to those who liked Come to Daddy (Also, I think this version may contain the highly witty Chris Cunningham video which is also worth checkin out.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 20 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Window Licker [12" VINYL] (Vinyl)
This vinyl is definitely a must for any Aphex Twin fan. The three tracks are Windowlicker, (Equation), and Nannou. All three songs are incredibly different, yet so much alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome and interesting album, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windowlicker (MP3 Download)
Awesome and interesting album. my only qualm is that the abrasive 2nd track, 'equation', is now stuck in my head, and is gradually degrading my sanity...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm getting really sick of coming up with titles, 1 Aug 2007
By 
A. Weaver "Thing Witch" (Somewhere in England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Windowlicker (Audio CD)
This is a great starting place for anyone new to Aphex Twin. If you are already an Aphex fan then you've got this. Unless... well, then, you better buy this one quickly and not tell anyone that you didn't own it at one point.

If you know anything about Aphex Twin then you already know what the music on this single is going to sound like. Also, unless you don't own a TV, you have probably seen the video to the title track late at night. If you haven't, then, it's like the front cover but moving. Also, if you don't know anything about Richard D. James and his wonderful music then the songs sound like that cover.
The title track is his usual mix of genius electronic music, loud and abrasive drum - I'd like to say beats here, but, really it's less of actual beats and more of just beating the drums - and weird and terrifying sampled (I assume) vocals. It sounds simple enough but after Richard D. James gets his hands on anything, instead of turning to gold, it turns to Windowlicker.
Formula is weird, good; I like it anyway, but is basically just horrible noises for five minutes.
Nannou is a great song that's simple but not in anyway simple. I know you get me so don't pull that face. ... Actually, I can't even be bothered to write about it. It's just a really catchy music box tune.

Anyway, buy this now. It is worth it for Windowlicker and Nannou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Windowlicker, 8 Jun 2009
By 
peter Thompson "Retep" (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Windowlicker (Audio CD)
worth owning on CD and never ever convert to MP3 its a crime.........this kinda dynamic quality is acheived only on CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aint Carol the sexiest ladyboy that youv`e ever seen., 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windowlicker (MP3 Download)
Once again Amazon MP3 Download came to the rescue . I had the original whole album on CD , but wanted it on my computer- unfortunately this particular track was scratched and un recordable/un playable . SO recorded all the other tracks from the CD then Downloaded this track from Amazon .RESULT have now got the whole CD on my Computer Ready for all our wild Transexual Sex parties - Gay Vicar, Labour MP`S ,Chief Mason of the Grand White Buffalo Order, Police Commisioner,Top Coppers & City Coucillors included . NICE !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windowlicker (Audio CD)
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stupidly good, 27 Mar 2007
By 
Tumble Wentherain (Pool of Black, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Windowlicker (Audio CD)
Sometimes you just have to hold your hands up and say 'fair enough you've got me'... unbelievable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Windowlicker
Windowlicker by Aphex Twin (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews