Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finding Style in the Middle of Nowhere
The Hartnoll brothers released The Middle of Nowehere over the summer of 1999, amplifying the sheer variety and style of music around at the time. Most of Britain was still in pseudo-trance shock, so this, the fifth Orbital album going, was not only a welcome change, but also a sublime musical experience in its own right.
The opening and eclectic Way Out -> sets...
Published on 30 Jan 2002 by Kesh

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bland, lazy, random electronica
Orbital's early albums saw them pushing all before themselves with a carpet-sweeper of new metallic industrial sounds and busy drumbeats. They could have developed that but instead they got lazy. Everything seems so random here - just notes played in no particular order, and by pure chance here and there certain sequences overlay to produce something vaguely listenable...
Published on 3 Aug 2011 by F. M. Havicon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun for dancin', 15 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Middle of Nowhere (Audio CD)
Orbital never cease to amaze me with the energy they seem to give anyone. Eight tracks of heady techno nostalgia which bounce along inanely but profoundly. The opening Way out has to be one of the most hedonistic, up-lifting party pieces ever with it's stomp along rhythm. Know where to run and Nothing left 1&2 are all outstanding tracks in the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loud, brash, great. Yeah!, 17 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Middle of Nowhere (Audio CD)
The first track "Way Out" is absolutely excellent. It's one of the most exciting, uplifting dance tracks I've ever heard. You just can't ignore it! This is quite a loud, commercial album for Orbital - there's not much ambience to be found, and at times it grates a bit. On the other hand some of it is amazing, so it's definitely worth a buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - bloody fantastic, 20 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Middle of Nowhere (Audio CD)
WHAT? YOU HAVEN'T GOT IT YET? I got it as soon as it came out the middle of last year and it still has pride of place at the top of my 500 strong CD collection. For those that liked/loved the brown album, it's all here but in a more "straight-laced" context. As said, fantastic - bloody fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Orbital's best, 30 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Middle Of Nowhere (Audio CD)
Orbital's Brown album is what got me into Electronic music. It also introduced me a whole new scene and/or culture, which I completely immersed myself in for four years from 1993 to 1997. The need to grow up a bit and take a break from it all, especially the hedonistic accompaniments, meant I lost touch with the music almost entirely. I never dismissed it; I simply took a greater interest in more traditional styles of music. Consequently, everything Orbital released after the Insides album passed me by. A recent chance encounter with The Moebius off the Green album meant I revisited my Orbital back catalogue, which, in turn, resulted in me getting everything else I was missing.

Having avidly listened to all those releases, I can confidently say that Middle of Nowhere is my favourite Orbital album. OK, so it doesn't wear its 'intellingent dance music' tag with as much pride as Insides and Snivilisation, but for instant gratification and epic dancefloor tracks, MoN cannot be beaten. Now I'm older and with my head no longer clouded with those hedonistic accompaniments I mentioned earlier, I'm perhaps more easily drawn to these crowd pleasers than the more 'challenging' stuff. I dunno. All I know is that this is a wonderful record, full of brilliant tracks that (worryingly) make me want to go raving again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their most powerful and energetic to date, 4 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Middle of Nowhere (Audio CD)
From the enormous rhythm of 'Way Out' to the layered build up on 'Nothing Left' this is Orbitals most powerful and energetic offering to date. I loved the darkness of their last album 'Insides' which probably hangs together better than 'The Middle of Nowhere', but can't match it for drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CAN'T ANYBODY HEAR ME?, 6 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Middle Of Nowhere (Audio CD)
The header refers a bit in "Spare Parts Express" that doesn't have put the wind up you on first hearing. Then, you'd probably laugh out loud at the John Craven's Newsround bit in the same song. Such is the atmosphere of this album. Like most people have said in these reviews: "Way Out" - brilliant and thrilling opener leading straight into... "Spare Parts Express" - wonderfully intense track with a hint of Kraftwerk's "Trans Europe Express" (hence the title I assume), "Otono" - harking back to their first album and "Style" - wonderful uplifting single (with, of all things, a sample of Dollar doing Erasure's Oh L'Amour). Inspirational stuff, though some of the other tracks (Know Where To Run in particular) do tend to get too weird and often disturbing. So, I knock a star off for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Contains 2 of their finest tracks ever, 13 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Middle of Nowhere [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Track 3 and 6/7(especially 7)played asloud as you can are my favourite Orbital tracks, and I have got everything they've done I think. Still getting lots of plays nearly 2 years on. Buy with confidence. Alisdair 12 12 00
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great., 20 July 2004
This review is from: The Middle of Nowhere (Audio CD)
Two of my favourite Orbital albums are In Sides and this album, Middle of Nowhere. I think that the former is a higher quality album on the whole, but Middle of Nowhere has a distinctive atmosphere and is amazing music in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bland, lazy, random electronica, 3 Aug 2011
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Middle of Nowhere (Audio CD)
Orbital's early albums saw them pushing all before themselves with a carpet-sweeper of new metallic industrial sounds and busy drumbeats. They could have developed that but instead they got lazy. Everything seems so random here - just notes played in no particular order, and by pure chance here and there certain sequences overlay to produce something vaguely listenable. The percussion is frantic throughout. Melodies are just formular progressions of notes. You've heard this all before and you've heard it so much better on their first four albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars hit and miss as usual, 8 Nov 2000
By 
This review is from: The Middle of Nowhere (Audio CD)
Orbital's albums always seem to represent a bizarre mixture of some of dance music's most powerful material with genuine tosh, which is why listening to their work is such a frustrating experience. In this instance, the quality is in even shorter supply than usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Middle of Nowhere
The Middle of Nowhere by Orbital (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews