Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worlds Best Guitar Solo?
Nobody has mentioned that "Gates of Babylon" contains the worlds best guitar solo. Ritchie Blackmore at his best!
As for the rest of the album, the production is fantastic, but if I had to choose between this and "Rising" it would be "Rising" every time.
Published on 27 Aug 2004 by Ken Rawe

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful version
Great album but they've created a very clear SACD version without the guts of the original. Rainbow Eyes works but Gates of Babylon leaves you reaching for the CD or vinyl versions. And it's bloody expensive.
Published on 21 Jun 2011 by Music Lover of Essex


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worlds Best Guitar Solo?, 27 Aug 2004
By 
Ken Rawe (Coventry, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Long Live Rock 'n' Roll (Audio CD)
Nobody has mentioned that "Gates of Babylon" contains the worlds best guitar solo. Ritchie Blackmore at his best!
As for the rest of the album, the production is fantastic, but if I had to choose between this and "Rising" it would be "Rising" every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Fling, 15 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Long Live Rock 'n' Roll (Audio CD)
Long Live Rock 'n' Roll was the end on an era for Rainbow as the now sadly departed Ronnie James Dio quit the band because he refused to tow the Blackmore line as the indomitable guitarist requested more 'love song' style lyrics. This would also mark the last time Ritchie would work with the legend Martin Birch.

The album itself features an interesting mix of songs and some of Ritchie's finest studio soloing. Although the music is trademark Rainbow in most respects the style is generally less mysterious and epic than 'Rising' but the songs themselves are equally as impressive.

The album kicks off with the title track, an interesting choice considering Kill The King was the set opener at the time, but a good starter. Cozy's machine gun drumming launches the whole affair followed by the catchy chorus swathed with Ritchie's recognisable run. An upbeat number much removed from the previous efforts.

Lady of the Lake is a beautiful evocative song with some amazing slide guitar, punchy drums and a haunting Dio vocal. The production by Marin Birth is pure brilliance resulting in one commentator thinking Ritchie's guitar was in fact keyboards.

LA Connection is one of those annoying songs which some days you love it and others you leave it. The stuttering riff intro segues into a mid-tempo song which just drags on a little. The bands three main men are all on form throughout, as they are everywhere on the album, but the two minutes of extended chorus to fade is a minute too much. Ritchie's solo is as measured and brilliant as ever but minus a minute and this song would be improved.

Never mind because Gates of Babylon is worth the wait. From David Stone's synth intro through to the single violin theme at the end this absolute gem captivates. The tempo and structure whisk you back in time to a mystical middle-eastern land (now part of Iraq!) and Dio relates the tale with his usual perfection. The guitar solo is simply one of the best, building to a mind bending crescendo. Many a time have I listened to this song more than three or more times consecutively to bask in the glory of Ritchie's strat.

Kill The King had been in the band's repertoire for two years before making into the studio proper. Cunning imagery from Dio, with lyrics based on a game of chess, face melting guitar (thanks Jack Black) and pile driving drums are the backbone of this all-time classic. No one does it better. Ritchie rips up the rule book again with a blistering solo and classically tinged bridge. Another song which would make my top ten of Rainbow songs although never as good as a live rendition this song will slay you.

So here we are, 5 songs in and you're thinking it cannot get any better but somehow it does. I once read Ronnie wrote this song about the old Shed end at Stamford Bridge, so taken was he by the power and atmosphere at 'The Bridge', hence '(Subtle)' in the song title. The song itself beats you into submission. Ritchie's opening salvo does not prepare you for the onslaught to come because the riff drums and vocals beat you unsubtly around the head in a way that LA Connection wishes it had. Punctuated by a typically perfect Ritchie solo this song leaves you as battered and bruised as it intended.

Sensitive to Light is like 'Do You Close Your Eyes' light, but not in a bad way. Short sweet and punctual, the trio continue to dominate proceedings as they do the front cover. This is a rock 'n' roll tour de force.

Album closer 'Rainbow Eyes' is a massive shift in direction and will take you by surprise. Rock this is not, but it is a beautiful piece. Mellow acoustics from Ritchie, some strings and wind from an orchestra and Dio's emotive vocal. Probably not everyone's cup of tea but it is quite simply stunning. Ritchie and wife cover this song live in his current venture which shows how dissimilar this is from all the usual Rainbow fare.

The production on this album is simply unfathomable for 1978. Ritchie's guitar is clean yet heavy; clinical yet emotive. Dio's vocals are divine and Cozy's drumming too perfect for words (Michael Schenker was so taken by Cozy's sound on LLRnR he booked the studio along with the Birch to record Assault Attack but unfortunately Cozy had left his band by then).

Overall the album is a worthy follow up to 'Rising' and a superb way to bring the Dio era of the band to a close. Musically Ritchie was to change his style many times over the subsequent 30+ years but to me this was the end of his finest era, and only sparingly would we be given a glimpse of his total magnificence in the studio over the ensuing years and albums. Rainbow, as good as they could be with Bonnet, JLT and Dougie were never this good again.

Not to say I don't listen, enjoy and rate Down To Earth, Difficult to Cure, Straight Between The Eyes, Bent Out Of Shape and the very much underrated Stranger In Us All; it is just they are musically and emotionally so different it is difficult to consider them as being produced by a band named Rainbow.

Over recent times Ritchie's to main cohorts from this era have sadly been taken from us so listen to this album with a view that you will never here its' like again.

Here's hoping the 'Deluxe' edition does this justice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Live Rock 'N' Roll!, 29 Feb 2004
By 
Peestie (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Long Live Rock 'n' Roll (Audio CD)
The third studio outing for the Rainbow boys, and the last one to include Ronnie James Dio on vocals, before Blackmore went for a more commercial style. This album is proper hard rock performed by a band of musicians that would be hard to rival. The legendary singer Ronnie James Dio, hailed by many (including me) as the best rock singer ever. Ritchie Blackmore, lead guitarist of hard rock legends Deep Purple (although his work with Rainbow is better). Cozy Powell, one of the best drummers to ever live.
The songs on this album are all hard-rockers with the exception of "Rainbow Eyes", which is, despite its different style, one of the best songs on the album.
The album kicks off with the title track which is one of Rainbow's best songs. Lively and energetic it is certainly a high point on the album and an excellent song that will get you hooked on the album as a whole.
After that comes "Lady Of The Lake" which, along with a great riff makes use of fantastic fantasy lyrics.
Then we move onto "L.A. Connection", which is in my opinion the worst song on the album. It is mid-paced song that chugs along quite enjoyably. Its a good song, just not as high a standard as the rest of the album.
"Gate of Babylon" is nearly seven minutes long and is another high point. It has a sort of Arabian feel to it and is a classic that seems to be forgotten by many people.
At the start of what was on vinyl the second side is LLRNR's best song. The blisteringly fast "Kill The King". This again makes use of the fantasy lyrics that Dio is so good with and the whole band shine on this song. The last 10 seconds is the best bit of the song, where
"Shed (Subtle)" starts off with a solo from Ritchie and then leads into a hard rocker with an amazing riff. After that is "Sensitive To Light" which is quite a short song (only 3 minutes) but it is still of very high quality. As you would expect from one of the best Hard Rock bands ever. The last song is not something you would expect though. This is a very slow, soft song and still one of the best.
This is one of the best rock albums ever, by some of the best rock musicians ever. A must have for any rock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than 'Rising', 2 April 2006
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Long Live Rock 'n' Roll (Audio CD)
I disagree with the view that Rising is Rainbow's best release: LLR&R is far better!

Dio's voice is superb, Blackmore's guitar excites and the late Cozy Powell is as solid and rocky as the Himalayas. A favourite balls-out moment is the fabulously frenetic guitar solo and accompanying double bass drums and fills in Kill The King (winner of 'most exciting axe solo' on the album for my money).

There are no bad tracks at all on this album (which can't be said for Rising: Tarot Woman, Run With The Wolf and Do You Close your Eyes are all turgid and stodgy to my ears - only Starstruck and Stargazer really cut the mustard, tho' Light In The Black's okay, I guess). Even the weaker moments of LLR&R are damn good by anyone's standards: The Shed and Sensitive to Light ain't Rainbow's best, but they still rock righteously enough.

Blackmore's penchant for medieval tom-foolery rears it's head on the beautifully mellow (they use recorders for Christ's sake!) Rainbow Eyes, which Dio sings exquisitely.

Truly their finest hour, and a classic taste of heavy rock at it's best...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rainbow: Long Live Rock & Roll Vinyl Reissue 2010., 23 Aug 2010
By 
P. Kelly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately this was the last studio album to feature Ronnie James Dio in Rainbow and for me the last classic Rainbow album made. In my view the rest that followed did not reach the same very high level set by the first three studio albums. This album caused some talking points at the time such as who did which bass tracks and the later revelation that the inside cover photograph was taken from a Rush concert. I manage to see this line-up of Rainbow playing live back in late 1977 and they were magnificent.

I still have an original copy of the 1978 vinyl record on the Polydor label but it is in very bad condition after extensive playing. I have been using the 1999 re-mastered CD version, which I consider to be more compressed and flat sounding compared to the original vinyl. For me vinyl still rules particularly with rock music and to find this album released on vinyl again was a dream come true.

So to this latest version, weighed in at 190g on clear vinyl vs the original standard black pigmented copy at 116g. Personally I prefer clear vinyl as adding black pigment to PVC always adds the risks of imperfections in the record due to the in-complete dispersion of the carbon black.

The double gatefold cover is perfectly restored to the original with relevant extra support in the cardboard structure to handle the heavier weight vinyl. The cover illustrations are tastefully re-printed on the record label. Unfortunately, as so often with record companies today, the weak link in the packaging is they try and save money by using a thin paper inner sleeve. This offers inadequate protection and high risk of marking the record surface when removed for playing. Very frustrating. I always replace this type of sleeve with a thicker, antistatic plastic coated paper sleeve.

The sound quality of this new version is more compressed dynamically vs the original but with significantly lower background noise it is a much better listening experience. A back to back comparison to the CD (including a second person's listening ranking) confirms it is enhanced sonically vs the CD version.

The music is still brilliant which ever format and version you listen to and this album produced in my view four Rainbow classics: `Long Live Rock and Roll', Kill The Kill (still confusing having this track 1 on side 2 rather than side 1) Gates of Babylon and Rainbow Eyes. Kill the King is for me a track I never get tired of hearing. The shear force and speed of the guitar and drums combined with magnificent vocals made it a popular live opening song long before and after this album was released. Then at the other end of the music spectrum is `Rainbow Eyes'. This was the Blackmore/Dio writing and musical combination at it's very best. Recently this track was re-done on the Blackmore's Night album, Secret Voyage. It is a very different and interesting remake of the song and worth checking out.

In conclusion, this new vinyl release of the classic Rainbow album falls short in sound quality vs the original but is better vs the last re-mastered CD version. Therefore, if you miss the sound of speaker rattling vinyl then the new 2010 vinyl version is what you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LONG LIVE ROCK 'N' ROLL CD DELUXE EDITION, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Live Rock N Roll (Audio CD)
I am a big RAINBOW fan, so when i found out that this CD would be given a DELUXE EDITION release
i knew i had to buy it, i knew Disc 1 would be remastered so i checked Disc 2 which has 7 rough mixes of the album except for Rainbow eyes
and also has some LIVE tracks LIVE on Don kirchners show from the 70'S,
very rare LIVE tracks actually that have never been played LIVE again

let's start with the rough mixes which do sound good i was trying to compare them to do the finished remastered album on Disc 1
most of the tracks sound very similar to Disc 1, some songs i couldn't tell the difference even thou they are rough mixes by Martin Birch
maybe couple tracks have different solos in them i don't know i couldn't tell
The Shed rough mix version one of my favourite tracks on this album is an instrumental with no solo, so i know that much
but if your a Huge fan of RAINBOW you will love these rough mixes
you can analyze every track if you want and compare them to the finished remastered album on Disc 1

now these Rare LIVE tracks on Disc 2 i was very disapointed with them, they're suppose to be LIVE tracks with crowd clapping at the end but they're definitely not
they sound just like the studio versions so i read more about these extra tracks in the new Collector booklet inserted with this Deluxe edition
which tells you about this Deluxe edition and the extra tracks on Disc 2
i found out the LIVE tracks have been over dubbed even thou it's stated on the packaging recorded LIVE on Don Kirchners show
very very pathetic, what is the point of saying they're LIVE tracks when they're clearly been over dubbed when you listen to them and they sound like studio versions
Universal released this Deluxe edition maybe that had to decide whether to have the LIVE tracks dubbed or not, which is pathetic
if the tracks were LIVE to begin with they should've just left them as they are cause they're collectors songs to fans like myself
i was very annoyed a waste of money i thought.

so if your a big RAINBOW fan and are interested in the rough mixes then get this Deluxe edition but i can't say much for the LIVE tracks
which are not really LIVE tracks cause they sound over dubbed, they sound like studio versions

but if you already have the first remaster from 1998, than just keep that, it's up to you your decision.
i gave this deluxe edition 4 stars instead of 5 cause the LIVE tracks are false it's a mislead
the rough mixes are very good thou
but i Love the album period
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic Rainbow album, 14 Feb 2002
This review is from: Long Live Rock 'n' Roll (Audio CD)
Together with "Rising" this is the second in a pair of two fantastic albums . Worth buying purely on the the strength of "Kill the king " where the guitar solo rates as one of Ritchie Blackmore's greatest.The album also includes the stargazeresque "Gates of Babylon" with another typical Rainbow combination of a string ensemble and a rock band, and finshes with the ballad "Rainbow Eyes" giving Ronnie Dio an opportunity to display another side to his of his vocal talents in his last recording with Rainbow.This really is Rainbow at the top of their form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars After the Risen but before the Sabbath..., 18 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Long Live Rock N Roll (Audio CD)
Dio and Blackmore. Two monsters of Classic rock. Shown here doing what they do best. If you look back at the family trees of these musicians you have a wide span from Deep Purple through to a later Black Sabbath. If Rainbow were a dog it would be thoroughbred.
Long Live Rock N Roll, does exactly what it says on the tin, Dio's Vocals are what you would expect from Rainbow in the early days, this is a different beast to the later Bent out of shape and Down to Earth.
Where as the later stuff is more main stream pop this feels much more uninhibited metal rock 1970's. -True classic
Lady of the Lake, has a Led Zeppelin meets Yes feel to it, although the sound is clearly distinct.

Richie Blackmore has always been a little strange and his most recent Black Night outings with the fairies and wizards are a little odd. When I saw him in concert with a re-formed Rainbow, he had his guitar too loud, so it distorted the pa, he did not give the performance on the Rainbow on stage album nor the quality this album.
Buy this album it's a great example of relatively normal Blackmore and a young pre Sabbath Dio!
If you like this you will love Rainbow on stage.*

*If you are a techie geek check out the spec of the "Rainbow light computer" in its day groundbreaking, however these days its got about the same power as a household toaster!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long live Blackmore & Dio! !, 3 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Long Live Rock 'n' Roll (Audio CD)
These guys really knew how to make great rock n roll and this proves it. This would be the last Rainbow album to feature Ronnie James Dio and what a way to go out, this album is amazing everyone is playing at their best. The one that stands out is of course Ritchie Blackmore especially The Sheds(Subtle) the intro to it has made my idol alongside with Tony Iommi if i'm ever gonna be as good as these guys then i shall be in heaven. Ronnie James Dio has a great impact on this album as his lyrics and vocals are just perfect this Rock N Roll masterpiece.

The chemistry of the band is amazing as you can tell they all enjoy playing with each other. The best songs for me are Long Live Rock N Roll, Lady Of The Lake, Gates Of Babylon, Kill The King, The Shed(Subtle)(amazing intro) & Rainbows Eyes(amazing ballad sung beautifully by Dio).

All in all if you love rock and roll you must check out Rainbow their first 3 albums are masterpiece(all with Ronnie James Dio) which are Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow, Rising and this album. Also if you like this you will love Black Sabbath's Heaven and Hell which Ronnie James Dio is their vocalist and Tony Iommi is just a god at the guitar as I said if you love this Heaven and Hell must be your next purchase(if you can find it of course). Gods among Rock I tell you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Rainbow, 26 Jan 2003
This review is from: Long Live Rock 'n' Roll (Audio CD)
Along with "Rising" this is surely the definitive Rainbow album and line-up. Blackmore and Dio are at the peak of their powers and in places both can make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up. Lady of the Lake and Kill the King are balls to the wall rockers and if Rainbow Eyes doesn't bring a lump to your throat, you ain't human. I bought this on vinyl way back in the dim and distant past of the late 70's and it has remained a constant within my favourite albums.
Whilst the current trend for Limp Bizkit and Papa Roach et al is all angst ridden dispair, the sound of a lot of these "Nu Metal bans owes alot to the like's of Rainbow, Black Sabbath and indeed Deep Purple, and those ionfluences can be clearly heard resonating loudly on this classic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Long Live Rock 'n' Roll
Long Live Rock 'n' Roll by Rainbow (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews