Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On Stage Deluxe Edition
First thing to note is the remastering on the On Stage album, which is very good. Cozy sounds great, and Tony and Jimmy are clear in the mix. If you have a previous remaster of this album, this one is still worth getting. I won't review the On Stage album itself - if you're reading this, I assume you're familiar with it. If you aren't, stop reading and click "Add to...
Published on 11 Nov. 2012 by Doug Brown

versus
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stageless
is "A Light in the Black," the one track that was played in 1976 not yet made available. Why not? I'm listening to 'Black Tapestry,' a 16 December 1976 Budokan (Tokyo, Japan) afternoon show that features this song as the third track of disc 2. Not including it on a "deluxe" version of "On Stage" makes no sense to me, especially since what is included are other versions of...
Published on 5 Nov. 2012 by eurocrank


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On Stage Deluxe Edition, 11 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Stage (Audio CD)
First thing to note is the remastering on the On Stage album, which is very good. Cozy sounds great, and Tony and Jimmy are clear in the mix. If you have a previous remaster of this album, this one is still worth getting. I won't review the On Stage album itself - if you're reading this, I assume you're familiar with it. If you aren't, stop reading and click "Add to cart."

Now for the second disc - the labeling and booklet are incorrect. The bonus songs are not from Osaka; this is most of the Tokyo 12/16/76 evening show (only Stargazer and Still I'm Sad are missing). I've confirmed against both the Song Brothers and Mr. Peach sources; it's all Tokyo. The version of 16th Century Greensleeves from On Stage is entirely from this show, so you get the same version of this song twice (boo - hence the docked star from the rating). Didn't they listen to the tape and ask themselves "Doesn't that sound familiar?" Blues and Starstruck from this show are also on On Stage, so you get those twice as well. And why no Stargazer? They claim in the booklet that they couldn't find a version of it, but they have all the songs up to Stargazer, and the encore from later in the show. However, the version of Catch the Rainbow from this show is outstanding except for one little flub in the first "Bless me" section; I'm glad to finally have it in excellent sound. Mistreated isn't one of the better versions - Ritchie cuts the solo short. The Osaka versions are better, as is the Tokyo afternoon show version. Do You Close Your Eyes has never been one of my favorites, even more so when you're spending a couple of minutes listening to the band play the riff over and over because Ritchie was busy demolishing a cheap Strat. I could have done without the encore and the duplicated material from On Stage in exchange for Stargazer and/or Light in the Black (which was played at the Tokyo afternoon show, so we know they taped it).

Overall, for Rainbow fans the deluxe edition is worth getting for the remastering and for the bonus version of Catch the Rainbow. I docked it a star for the duplicated material and the incorrect date & location information on the packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rainbow DELUXE indeed!, 9 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
History - Blackmore left Purple, Bolin joined Purple, Purple imploded! All this in 12 months in the mid-seventies. Blackmore replaced the guitarist in a relatively unknown band called Elf and recorded one album. He then demolished the band and replaced everyone, except the singer; Ronnie James Dio. In came super drummer Cozy Powell, keyboardist Tony Carey and bassist Jimmy Bain. These five musicians recorded, what in my opinion is easily the greatest Rainbow studio album ever; Rising.

The deluxe edition - Many Rainbow fans felt a little shortchanged when the original On Stage album was issued; there was the fire of the band, working off each other, Blackmore having free reign to do whatever he wished, yet songs were left off, songs were seemingly cut, solo's ignored, and some songs patched together!! This latest release is excellent insofaras we get (nearly) six officially unreleased songs, plus the original songs. This is fine, the mix on the new songs (recorded in Osaka, Japan during 1976, according to the CD, but it was actually Tokyo!) is a huge improvement. There's a real ferocity from the start of Kill the King until the end of Do You Close Your Eyes. We get another version of Mistreated, Dio is damned good and makes the song his own. As a huge Purple fan he isn't quite as good as Coverdale on what is ostensibly a blues song, but he is still a superb vocalist. now the slight disappoinment, the "extra" version of Sixteenth Century Greensleeves is the same as the original album, just re-mixed, It sounds better, however it's a shame we aren't given another version! Next up is Catch the Rainbow, which I think part has been cut, but it is still over 18 minutes long. Penultimate extra is Man on the Silver Mountain, again though parts of this song were used on the original On Stage. Lastly is Do You Close Your Eyes; a good song indeed.

If you're a Rainbow fan then be aware this isn't a full concert, but is still worth owning, if only to realise what Blackmore used to do before his return to Purple and then his on going folk music interest!!

Overall this release improves on the original On Stage. However for a full Rainbow concert, I would highly recommend you purchase the 3 German 76 concerts (Cologne, Dusseldorf and Nuremburg).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best!, 24 April 2003
This review is from: On Stage (Audio CD)
Quite simply this is Blackmore and Dio at their best, not to mention fine contributions from the Bain-Powell-Carey trio. It was indeed Rainbow's classic line-up. Opening up with a powerful rendition of one of Rainbow's best songs, 'Kill the King' (after a fun 'Wizard of Oz' intro), they then move on to a terrific medley, the highlight of which is the Blackmore-Carey inspired 'Blues' piece. There are so many great performances on this album. The cover version of 'Mistreated' is way better than any version Deep Purple ever did but the creme de la creme has to be 'Catch the Rainbow'. This is a monster version of this track which includes a wailing Blackmore solo that must rate as one of his best. In the middle, the solo halts into momentary silence (you could hear a pin drop) before Ritchie kicks off again. Absolute genius. Dio's voice is seldom better and he is superb throughout, particularly during his inter-action with the crowd during 'Man on the Silver Mountain'. Other than the slight disappointing absence of the line-up's best track, 'Stargazer,' this live album is a masterpiece. Buy it, you won't be disappointed. Why Ritchie split up the 1976-77 line-up as soon as he did I'll never know.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blackmore & Dio at their best, 17 Feb. 2003
This review is from: On Stage (Audio CD)
Though many edits from different tapes have contributed to the near perfect versions of this array of classic's, it is an essential for any Ritchie or Ronnie fan. Quite simply, you won't find either Blackmore or Dio in better form on any other product they have graced, hard to believe but I do rate this more than 'Made in Japan' as a live album. Why hasn't anyone released the Munich 77 footage on video to accompany this I don't know, it would serve justice to this classic lineup at their peak and show those of us who didn't witness this band just what we missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing despite the trimming, 16 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: On Stage (Audio CD)
On Stage is one of those albums which frustrates now because as the 1976 German tour set and the various bootlegs prove there has been a little amount of cutting and splicing. We can only hope On Stage is revisited someday and the full versions of the doctored songs are released in their raw glory and in the right order (Mistreated, Man On the Silver Mountain, Still I'm Sad). Quite possible the main reason for the cutting was purely down to the time and quality limitations of vinyl because if you search out the original versions you will not be disappointed. Thankfully there is none of the overdubs that blight other alleged 'live' albums but considering what it could have been I should remove a star but I haven't because the quality od performance on offer is remarkable.

Not that the cutting takes anything away from the pleasure of hearing a band in complete control. Ritchie dominates proceedings with some amazing playing and Dio never sounded better than he did with Rainbow. This paring along with Cozy's drums looked set to propel this band to world domination.

The qualities displayed live by this band are almost spiritual. By leaving one of the best live bands on the planet to create another in Rainbow is something Mr Blackmore should be celebrated for. Listen to Scandinavian Nights, Made In Japan and Live In London followed by On Stage and be astounded how much his playing changed and developed over the six years. Sidekicks, Cozy Powell with his relentless drumming, and Dio, inpirational soaring vocals were perfect for the balance of this band. Unfortunately the colaboration would only last one more studio album after this live affair and fans of the band would be polarised by the future direction.

After the Judy Garland/Wizard of Oz intro, as a starter, Kill the King rips your head off, this song being purposely written as a show opener: it delivers exactly what they set out to do. Ritchie flys through an electrifying solo at breakneck speed yet still displays feel and melody. RLD roars the words with fire and passion.

Next up is a heavily doctored Man on the Silver Mountain from the Japanese tour minus around 4 minutes, the usual frantic Lazy intro has been discarded among other parts. Despite the culling this song rocks, Ritchie cranking out the riff with a much different feel to the studio original. The Blues sector in the middle, something Ritchie introduced on stage with MK III Purple, is brilliant, quite possibly the best version captured for us to enjoy with Carey complimenting the guitar with his keys. Dio is as ever powerful, poised and pure.

On the original vinyl Catch The Rainbow's 15 minutes or so takes up a whole side and is simply magnificent. Where the studio version saunters along with Richie's subtle guitar the live version spirals to a crescendo after another blinding solo before the ethereal ending. Modern rock is awash with drippy power ballads but none can match the majesty of Catch The Rainbow.

Taken from Cologne 1976 we have the blues call of Mistreated, transformed from the original Deep Purple version into a different realm. Ronnie makes the song his own in some style and Ritchie's liquid fingers return a solo of unequalled genius. Cut from the end is Dio and Ritchie's duelling which is a shame but the On Stage version is still amazing. Coverdale fans can argue all they want about the original being best whereas for once I have to disagree, this is Rainbow.

Another Japan tour version is Sixteenth Century Greensleeves. If the original is a classic then the live version is a magnum opus. Ritchie's jaw dropping intro making way for the familiar riff. Quite a short song in comparison to some of the fare on offer yet we still get several guitar solos and that spell binding intro.

Set closer Still I'm Sad is yet another inspired piece, the band as a whole injecting life into the old Yardbird classic in ways which astound. Sadly Cozy's 1812 drum solo is another cut, which is a shame because although drum solos are considered passé (ok they have for decades) Cozy always delivered more than just a solo.

So despite the obvious trimming there is a lot to listen to here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back On Vinyl, A Classic Rainbow Live Album:, 19 Sept. 2010
By 
P. Kelly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Stage [VINYL] (Audio CD)
I was very fortunate to seen the band live on the UK leg of the World Tour back in Sept 1976. This album was taken from Japanese and German concerts from this World Tour and released in 1977. I had the original vinyl but it got lost with various house moves over the years. I have been listening to the 1999 CD re-mastered version prior to purchasing this vinyl copy, which is not bad quality but for me vinyl will always be the preferred music format for listening to rock albums.

This album is a part of the Black on Black; rock classic, Rainbow vinyl series. The first 1000 pressings of each release are done on coloured vinyl. This release is white vinyl. The original cover has been beautifully restored and reinforced to carry the heavy vinyl disks. Great to read again the list of equipment they had for tour on the back cover of the album. Unfortunately like many vinyl LPs today they have used very thin paper inner sleeves that I rip to remove the record to limited the risk of scratching on removal and replace it with a heavier weight plastic covered, antistatic, paper inner sleeve. The weight of both vinyl records is 188g each. The album contains the original eight tracks released in 1977 over the two-vinyl albums. This makes sense in terms of optimised audio quality for the total running time. `Catch the Rainbow' (excellent vocals) and `Mistreated' (great guitar work) take up one full side each.

The audio quality over the whole album is excellent. The records are virtually flat with minimal surface noise. The sound is clean, clear and very sharp. Guitar is hard right and organ hard left with drums perfectly balance, thundering from both channels giving a wall of sound directly across the speakers. The vocals are crystal clear with lots of fine detail. You can really feel and picture the band directly in front of you such is the detail from the speakers. Even after 33 years hearing again the `Wizard of Oz' dialog then the band playing `Over the Rainbow' and into `Kill the King' at the start of the record sounds sonically amazing. For me this has never been bettered on any intro to a live rock album, absolutely brilliant.

All the early live stage favourites are here and although there are less instrumental solos than on the `Live in Munich' album (recorded on the next European tour in 1977 with a change in personnel), it does not reduce the listening pleasure of the album. On listening to this version again it makes me appreciate more the contribution to the band's live sound made by Tony Carey on keyboards. It is something that does not stand out as much on the CD version. Although I no longer have an original vinyl copy to compare, l get the impression there is minimal (if any) sound compression on this re-issue. In fact it sounds better on vinyl than I can remember.

In conclusion, I strongly recommend this vinyl re-issue. The team at `Back on Black Rock Classics' have done an outstanding job recreating this vinyl album of Rainbow, `On Stage'. Even if you have the `Live in Munich' record, I would still buy this as well (and vice versa). There is only one way to listen to Rainbow and that's on vinyl played loud then you can really appreciate what a great band they were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh to have seen this Live! Rainbow On Stage and ON FIRE!, 28 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: On Stage (Audio CD)
This Live CD captures Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow at their peak and every band member gives a scorching performance.I have had this album for 15 years and it still gets thrashed as it has complete power even in the quieter moments.It's a true concert album and a must have if you're a fan of Ronnie James Dio,Ritchie Blackmore or the late great Cozy Powell.Their musicianship is awesome.Kill the King and Mistreated are stunning.Most tracks are ten minutes plus and there's never a dull moment.Check it out you definitely won't be in Kansas anymore!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LIVE................... 3.5 STARS, 9 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: On Stage (Audio CD)
I must admit i've never understood the love that pours forth for this album,yes its good(in parts) flawed (in others).It was spliced together from various sources and i feel it kills the atmosphere.Highlights are the splendid intro/Kill The King opening and the wonderful 'Blues' interlude,'Catch The Raibow' has some moments of wonder but the rest is ok nothing inspired,never understood the need to do 'Mistreated',again its ok,will never beat Coverdale's versions,i remember back in the day it was one of the highest priced double albums ever and the general disapointment with it but it was all we had,it would be 3 decades almost before we got the real deal with the 3 Germany'76 discs and Munich 77.For me its not a neccesary purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On Stage, 22 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Stage (Audio CD)
On Stage was a genuine attempt to put the best of Rainbow's 1975 tour onto record. Taking the best available versions the producers fashioned a brilliant album from one of the best ever live bands. The strict structure that vinyl forced the producers to adhere to, (4 sides of 15-23 minutes) and the fact that most tracks were about 15 minutes long must have forced some difficult decisions. The biggest of these was to leave out Stargazer which was and is generally thought of as Rainbow's best song. However, listening to the complete German concerts now available it's clear that Stargazer never seems to come out quite right live so it's shocking but understandable that this was the major track they decided to drop. The other ommissions are the messy Do you close your eyes encore and Cozy Powell's drum solo which did tend to interrupt the flow of the incredible Still I'm Sad performance. So all in all the enforced omissions make this a much sharper and tighter album of total start to finish quality. Fans will always prefer the complete shows but if you just want Rainbow's best performances at a low price this is still the one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The classic line-up's classic album........., 4 April 2003
This review is from: On Stage (Audio CD)
Quite simply this is Blackmore and Dio at their best, not to mention fine contributions from the Bain-Powell-Carey trio. It was indeed Rainbow's classic line-up. Opening up with a powerful rendition of one of Rainbow's best songs, 'Kill the King' (after a fun 'Wizard of Oz' intro), they then move on to a terrific medley, the highlight of which is the Blackmore-Carey inspired 'Blues' piece. There are so many great performances on this album. The cover version of 'Mistreated' is way better than any version Deep Purple ever did but the creme de la creme has to be 'Catch the Rainbow'. This is a monster version of this track which includes a wailing Blackmore solo that must rate as one of his best. In the middle, the solo halts into momentary silence (you could hear a pin drop) before Ritchie kicks off again. Absolute genius. Dio's voice is seldom better and he is superb throughout, particularly during his inter-action with the crowd during 'Man on the Silver Mountain'. Other than the slight disappointing absence of the line-up's best track, 'Stargazer,' this live album is a masterpiece. Buy it, you won't be disappointed. Why Ritchie split up the 1976-77 line-up as soon as he did I'll never know.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Stage
On Stage by Rainbow (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews