Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
33
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 September 2000
This CD is a compilation of the 3 LP's Allen released in the 1960's. Having been a very succesful and highly-paid television-writer, Allen took to being a lowly-paid (at first) stand-up comedian. Anyone who is familiar with Woody Allen's comedy movies will instantly recognize his style of humor on this disc. Psychiatry, his disastrous relationships with women, his relatives, etc. are his favourite topics, and they are treated with the typical Allenesque point-of-view, which somehow manages to put you on the wrong foot every single time. Some of the jokes on this album later turned up in his movies. This CD actually doesn't include all the material that was available on the original LP's, but what it lacks in quantity, it more than makes up for in quality, and, like it or not, this is all we're ever going to get. Somehow I don't think he'll ever go back to standup. It's our loss.
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Woody Allen is most famous for his brilliant films both as an actor and a director.
But in his early days he was a superb stand up comedian. In my view he is the best stand up of all time,
This is a compilation of his finest sets, recorded before live audiences in the early sixties.
Utterly brilliant although some of the political references are of the time and may not make sense to younger generations
without explanation.
I still laugh out loud, even when hearing this for the umpteenth time.
A comedy masterclass from a genius.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2006
Far from limiting himself to movie roles and directing, Allen has a rich past of musicality and stand-up, as well as fiction writing (have you read his Complete Prose?).
This is a CD of some fantastic early material, featuring the wonderful and individual style of comedy that is unmistakable Allen: he's abstract, fantastic, imaginative, creative and caustic all at once.
This is a real treat to anyone interested in outlandish and frivolous comedy - please sample it, it's simply brilliant.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2005
"I want to have a quick word about oral contraception. I was involved in a classic example of oral contraception a few weeks ago. I asked a girl to go to bed with me, and she said no." Woody Allen only ever released three albums, all contained here, but he changed the face of comedy forever. Classic skits such as The Moose and Mechanical Objects makes this a must have.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
I had these on tape but they appear to have disappeared so as I needed to hear some of these routines again I purchased the CD. As always with these types of purchases, you worry that your memory has played tricks on you and that the quality will not be as good as your recall but that was certainly not the case here. Woody appears to have been way ahead of his time and this almost feels like a British stand-up as the humour is self-depreciating and often surreal while being somehow relatable. A sort of non musical Bill Bailey, a less manic Ross Noble or a less cynical Stewart Lee if you will
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2011
Buy this CD, and then listen to it in private. If you put it on your ipod/ music player, like I did, you will end up embarrassing yourself as you crack up with laughter on trains, underground networks and airport lounges. Utter genius at work. Enjoy a man with a really strange view of the world. Strange but very, very funny. Laugh out loud funny!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2011
This is a very funny CD, I first heard it as a tape cassette 20 years ago and lost it in a house move. It has everything you would expect: religion, sex, sport and the Klu Klux Klan with a moose playing a walk on part at a fancy dress party. Wonderful material with great timing and delivery. Classic comedy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
Woody Allen raw and unspoiled by Hollywood and the rumours which destroyed him later on in his life by the gutter press !

This cd is brilliant and the humour on it from Mr Allen which over 40 odd years later is still funny and fresh today.

Anyone who has grown up with this type of life annalistic comedy will love this cd .

Great fun filled hours with Woody !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2006
I bought this album off the back of his films and i was expecting it to be good but it exceeded my expectations. Some great srrueal anecdotes. You can really see how he inspired some other great comedians. (Emo Philips for example.)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
Early recordings of Woody Allen, which I had heard when I was much younger. The sound quality relates to the period even though the recordings have been re-mastered, really not suitable for playing on modern hifi-systems. Probably ok on car systems or walkmans, nevertheless a reminder of one's youth. All the old favourites are on this recording including "The Moose" which was the very first time I heard of Woody Allen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.