Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars57
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2001
Buy this cd now or regret it forever that you have not heard the best example of good old fashioned pub rock ever recorded.This cd is packed with rock and r&b gems,Lees instantly recogniseable gravelly vocals are well supported by various incarnations of the Feelgoods.This is simply good music.BUY IT NOW.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Dr Feelgood was (is) a bar band. A pub rock band. They played short, unpretentious rock songs, muscular and melodious R&B loaded with crunching guitar riffs...you must've heard their renditions of "See You Later, Alligator" and "Violent Love".
These forty tracks are really everything that the casual Feelgood fan needs. "Roxette" is here, as is "Keep It Out Of Sight", "No Mo Do Yakamo", "Sugar Turns To Alcohol", "Milk & Alcohol" and every other well-known song, including four from the post-Brilleaux album "On The Road Again".
Not every song may be of the caliber of "Roxette" or the other classic hits, but there is certainly nothing bad on here.
I'm sure that some dedicated fans can find good some albums tracks missing, but this is really a very good and thorough compilation., and should satisfy almost everyone.
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2000
If like me you can remember seeing the Feelgoods at full throttle in the days before seated venues then you will love this! All the energy is here, plus the incredible Lee B at his gravelly best. A must for those that like pure, unadulterdated good fun R&B.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2009
Saw Dr Feelgood recently and what a great Rock & Roll band they are and this fantasitc album represents the best of their work apart from a couple of tracks they played. Buy it you won't be dissapointed at what the best band out of Essex for 30 years has to offer.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2009
Managed to see the DOCS live a few weeks ago and bought this cd to remind me of a brilliant night. Ok there may be a few tracks i'm not wild about but the cds do cover 25 years and the range of music from rock to blues to rock and roll and a little bit of lighter stuff is all there. if in doubt, check them out on you tube or see them live , then like me you'll be ordering this cd.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2000
Debbie Harry credited Dr Feelgood with saving the mid 1970s New York punk scene, by showing that there was an audience in Britain for the back to basics approach to rock 'n' roll. It's your basic r 'n' b really, competently done and there are many classic tracks on this 2 disc set. It stands as a poignant tribute to the late Lee Brilleaux and the spirit of the band that carries on with the same integrity and competence. Maximum feelgood factor.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2011
This CD is absolutly fantastic... How come I didnt have it years ago. It makes you want to dance.. I LOVE IT.. ROCK and amazing BLUES... You won't regret buying it, I can't stop playing it... ROCK ON
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
Saw this brilliant crazy manic mob seven or eight times with different line-ups,and never once left the venue without a big beaming smile,and drenched in sweat,Always superb live and always great value for money,they never ever left anything behind,gave their all every show i was at.To call them just a pubrock band does them a massive injustice,they were/are an ultra professional rock n roll-r n b outfit.If this music is your thing,then buy this 2 disc comp.I promise you won't ever regret it,this is fantastic stuff,i play this without fail at least 3-4 times every month.The feelgoods were so much more than just milk and alcohol,and Lee you are still very much missed fella.This is what they really mean by the feelgood factor i reckon.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2010
If, like me, you were a teen in the 70s, then you can't have failed to notice Dr Feelgood. Explosive, powerful and with a beat that got even the stiffest of feet moving, they were and still are one of the greats of British R&B. All of the classics are here and some more... Essential listening in the car, jogging or just to get you in the mood to get up and go.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
As a devoted Rock fan it took me many years to get into (old-fashioned) R & B. How I regret that now - I missed out on seeing Dr Feelgood with Lee Brilleaux singing. What a treat I missed. And, although I always considered Dr Feelgood to be an R & B group, they cover several different styles on these CDs including Rock and old-fashioned slow Blues (my personal definition of R & B is "blues played fast"). They even come close to Heavy Metal with Crazy 'Bout Girls! And, despite the title, Violent Love is a gentle song that features acoustic guitar.

While making notes for this review I wrote the word "highlight" against 14 of the 40 songs - I'll refrain from listing the whole 14, but suffice to say that Wilko's guitar work is one of the main reasons for most of those highlights; a notable exception being Put Him Out Of Your Mind, where the excellent harmonica playing makes this track one of the 14.

It's wonderful to have live versions of such classics as Roxette, Back in the Night, Baby Jane, and Down At The Doctors.

The final four songs are post-Brilleaux, but don't let that put you off. Peter Gage was a more than adequate replacement and sounds a lot like Brilleaux. The final song on the collection that has Lee doing lead vocals is a live version of Heart of the City. Instead of the track ending after a small amount of applause, like the other live tracks on the collection, it is allowed to run on for some time with the crowd chanting "Brilleaux" - a nice tribute.

A small number of tracks were only ok - yes, the worst tracks on this collection were still good enough to merit ok. With 14 highlights and considerably fewer than 14 "ok" songs I cannot possibly award less than five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)