Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quality album
When I first got this it never left my CD player, and also after a while it does lose its impact, this is still a good quality album. There’s the fantastic “Bartender and the Thief” and “Just Looking”, as well as many unreleased tracks which are all just as good. You definitely have to be a fan of Kelly Jones’ unique voice before buying...
Published on 11 May 2003 by baybeedoll

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Turgid
I bought this cd around 10 years ago and after a few plays put it away in a drawer with a few other crap cds. Recently i dug out these and gave them a spin! This cd was so bland and so boring! I took it to a second hand music shop with all the other crap cds i'd got and got 50p for it! I was absolutely amazed that the shop gave me that much for this complete and utter...
Published 10 months ago by Davo


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars world class, 1 July 2001
This review is from: Performance And Cocktails (Audio CD)
This is probably the best rock album of the 90's. The Phonics have created a true master piece that shows everyone that they are definately a world class band. 'Performance and Cocktails' is one of the few ablums of today that captures the true feel of rock music. The album has a brilliant mix of fast exciting songs like 'The Bar Tender and the Theif' and slower relaxing songs like 'Hurry Up and Wait', as well as the classic hits like 'Pick A Part' and 'Just Looking'. 'Performance and Cocktails' has something about it that will satisfy both older and younger rock fans. The Phonics are one of the few bands both me and my Dad both like and despite the age gap we'd both happily listen to this album. There are no negatives about this album, so if you buy this album you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance And Cocktails (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance And Cocktails (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The second 'Pohnics album is their best ever..., 29 Feb. 2004
By 
Hugh Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Performance And Cocktails (Audio CD)
Performance And Cocktails shows the true potential of the wonderful band that is Stereophonics. Packed with wonderful tracks such as "Roll Up And Shine", "Pick A Part That's New", as well as some of their hit singles: "Just Looking", "Hurry Up And Wait" and the wonderous "The Bartender And The Theif". All Stereophonics albums are good but none equal the musical power of Performance And Cocktails
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance And Cocktails (Audio CD)
Present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance And Cocktails (Audio CD)
thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Nov. 2014
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY BRILLIANT. BUY IT!!!!!!!!!, 17 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Performance And Cocktails (Audio CD)
Untill I heard this album, I had heard of 'phonics, but I didnt really listen to much of their stuff. But this is different. I cant stop listening to it. If you love music, buy this, trust me. Brilliant lyrics, tunes, and beats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What indie music should sound like, 16 April 2004
This review is from: Performance And Cocktails (Audio CD)
This is aan album which annoys me to some extent. I listen to this, and I feel so disappointed with al the other stereophonics that i've heard - and before i heard this album i loved performance and cocktails and word gets around. This is quite simply brilliant, with a wonderful blend of styles and speeds that keeps the listener interested from the very beginning to the nostalgia evoking end of "i stopped to fill my car up". The palpable emotion in the slower tracks, particularly "is yesterday tomorrow today" - a track possessed of one of the best slow riffs ever - is so well balanced by the faster "bartender and the thief", "plastic california" and more. Kelly jones and co use the melodies so well, and the variations in pace and melody are just exceptional. Oh, and if that wasn't enough, "just looking" is one of THE best ever tracks by any indie band. BUY THIS ALBUM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A poor excuse for rock music, 29 Dec. 1999
By 
C. Angell (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Performance And Cocktails (Audio CD)
Another album that just can't stop selling. And another album that really isn't up to much. The Stereophonics seem to have caught the mood, but the music is simply second rate AC/DC. Extremely limited in vision, and soon forgotten about. Thankfully
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Performance And Cocktails
Performance And Cocktails by Stereophonics (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews