Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless
Classic, traditional British rock music, imbued with superlative musicianship. They don't make 'em like this anymore! Sure, it feels out of kilter with today's bombast and sludge dominated rock guitar bands, but this lot were an inspiration to 2 of the genre's biggest and best - Iron Maiden and Thin Lizzy - and probably countless lesser groups. Taut, adroit drumming,...
Published on 3 Mar 2010 by Mrs. Jennifer Tyler

versus
1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One good, one bad album
New England is really the best of the Wishbone Ash albums that Laurie Wisefield had anyhthing to do with, but in itself nothing spectacular, you get a feeling it might just be a number of surplus songs left over from earlier albums. Front Page News however simply demonstrates that he (and Andy Turner) can't sing, write good lyrics or come up with listenable tunes, it's...
Published on 18 Jan 2011 by F. M. Havicon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 3 Mar 2010
By 
Mrs. Jennifer Tyler (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New England / Front Page News (Audio CD)
Classic, traditional British rock music, imbued with superlative musicianship. They don't make 'em like this anymore! Sure, it feels out of kilter with today's bombast and sludge dominated rock guitar bands, but this lot were an inspiration to 2 of the genre's biggest and best - Iron Maiden and Thin Lizzy - and probably countless lesser groups. Taut, adroit drumming, coupled with supportive bass lines beef up the sound, while the guitars twist and weave throughout the songs, packing some serious riffing in between more considered picking. Great value for 2 albums of such quality as well! Plus this lot are still touring and knocking 'em dead across the globe. I saw them recently at the Queen's Hall in Edinburgh - my first time - and was blown away I cannot understand why they have not had more success, but attention spans have diminished in the modern age, along with taste and appreciation of fine musical culture. Some of us still adhere to the old precedents though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Classic Ash, 8 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New England / Front Page News (Audio CD)
I just love this band, especially the mark2 line up featuring Laurie Wisefield. It's good to be able to buy two albums in one package at a budget price, but I'm hoping that one day these two albums will be re-mastered and re-released individually, maybe with extra tracks, like No Smoke without Fire and Just Testing.(Would still love to see a CD release of Live Dates 2 !)
For me, the music's great. Great songs, lyrics, vocals and that trademark fantastic guitar playing. A bit laid back mellower / American sounding but in my mind they always stretch their boundaries and always produce good material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wishbone Ash: New England/Front Page News, 5 May 2009
By 
Mr. Robert Green (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New England / Front Page News (Audio CD)
I was familiar with 'New England' in the '70's (but was surprised how much I'd forgotten). 'Front Page News' I hadn't heard before. Enjoying the British band with a strong U.S. influence. Some interesting bits on the sleeve notes. Great value for the two albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia Wishbone, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New England / Front Page News (Audio CD)
Haven't heard them for years but this was a 60th birthday nostalgia fest and it was great to renew contact with them. Dated in places but an enjoyable collection if you were a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars new england and front page news, 30 Mar 2011
This review is from: New England / Front Page News (Audio CD)
has the above reviewer been living on a different planet, the new england album is a master class in guitar playing and guitar tones,as all of w.a early albums were, and who,s andy turner ? get your facts straight mate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One good, one bad album, 18 Jan 2011
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New England / Front Page News (Audio CD)
New England is really the best of the Wishbone Ash albums that Laurie Wisefield had anyhthing to do with, but in itself nothing spectacular, you get a feeling it might just be a number of surplus songs left over from earlier albums. Front Page News however simply demonstrates that he (and Andy Turner) can't sing, write good lyrics or come up with listenable tunes, it's just about the most uninspired thing you'll ever hear left over from the 1970s, and the average quality of life in the world as a whole will increase a tiny bit if it never existed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New England / Front Page News
New England / Front Page News by Wishbone Ash (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews