Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the fans
As a long term Alice fan, I had been putting off buying this compilation because I had most of the recordings on it. However, I relented because there was still a considerable number of songs that were unavailable elsewhere. The early songs are interesting and the sound quality is quite good considering the age. Though they are before the famous Alice sound was formed...
Published on 7 Aug 2000 by A. Thirsk

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pick And Mix
This box set compilation, covering pre-A.C. days to the mid 1990's, is a very mixed bag of tracks with an excellent booklet. The first few tunes - when the monikers The Spiders or The Nazz were used - are okay in an early Beatles/Stones wannabes sort of way. The rest of CD One has selections from 'Love It To Death' through to 'Schools Out'; they're all excellent tracks...
Published 20 months ago by colcon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the fans, 7 Aug 2000
By 
A. Thirsk (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life And Crimes Of Alice Cooper (Audio CD)
As a long term Alice fan, I had been putting off buying this compilation because I had most of the recordings on it. However, I relented because there was still a considerable number of songs that were unavailable elsewhere. The early songs are interesting and the sound quality is quite good considering the age. Though they are before the famous Alice sound was formed and some people might wonder about there inclusion here but this is the start of the Alice story and that is enough reason for me. We then get into the 'classic' Alice period and any fan would have all of these apart from three. 1. Call it evil - A bluesy type jam, sounds like it may have been fun but poor recording spoils it. 2.Slick black limosine - excellant. 3. respect for the sleepers - Muscle of love tune with different lyrics. All too soon we leave the classic period and move into the solo stuff. Most of this is perfeclty respectible rock but as in all compilations, one wonders why some songs are included and others excluded. There are still surprises here such as a movie track version of Road rats. A heavier rock 'from the inside' and a superb blues/soul/alice type duet on a song called 'no tricks'. This song is worth the price on it's own. Also the missing track from Special forces turns up'Look at you over there,ripping the sawdust from my teddy bear'. Unfortunately there are a few nasty surprises as well,'Hard rock summer', This is definately a good buy for the fans. RIP GB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant retrospective, 6 Dec 2001
By 
Mark Goodman (Chippenham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Life And Crimes Of Alice Cooper (Audio CD)
There are boxed sets and there are boxed sets but this one is brilliant. A fully comprehensive retrospective of Alice's career.
Much of the previously unavailable material is well worth having, especially 'No Tricks' an out and out blues number that see's Alice's voice in fine form doing something very different. It was nice to finally get the funky 'Look at you over there, ripping the sawdust from my teddybear' that was omittted from the Special Forces album.
All the classics are here also, Desperado, School's out, Hello Hurray, Elected and Ballad of Dwight Fry along with more modern greats such as Lost in america and It's Me.
The accompanying book is likewise very comprehensive and a great read. There were in my opinion a few great songs left off such as 'My Stars', 'Generation Landslide', 'Hard Hearted Alice' and 'Might as well be on Mars'. Also it would have been nice to have included a live version of All Strapped up but I guess you can't have everything.
Whether you are a long time fan or not this is well worth having. A great package and very much value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say!, 8 Mar 2000
This review is from: The Life And Crimes Of Alice Cooper (Audio CD)
Quite simply the finest collection of songs from the greatest showman to walk this planet. Every song is a telling story of how Alice has developed his creative persona over the last 30+ years. First 2cds in particular are just mindblowing. Rhino have certainly given value for money, with an incredible 81 tracks, including loads of rare stuff. A must for fans, and recommended for anyone even remotely interested in this hugely underrated performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Cooper Compilaton, 9 April 2011
By 
Disc 1 and 2 are in my opinion the best because I love early Alice Cooper work and they cover it all brilliantly even including some really early demo versions of songs that I had never found anywhere else. I would pay the price of this box set just for these two discs alone! Best Tracks : every one!

Disc 3 - This disc is my least favourite of the 4. It features quite a few songs that are less 'rocky' with a lot of 80s synthy and ballady stuff on it that I am less fond of. However it also has song good demo songs I had not heard before. Best Tracks: Because (Beatles cover with the Bee Gees) and Look at You Over There Ripping the Sawdust From My Teddy Bear [demo].

Disc 4 - This disc gets a lot heavier with late 80s in 90s Alice Cooper. It is a really good disc to rock out to. Best Songs: Hand's of Death (with Rob Zombie) and Freedom.

Overall this is a very good compilation as it completely covers the career of Alice Cooper up to the mid 90s including a lot of rare demo work. A brilliant addition to any Cooper fan and a great starter for any Cooper fan to be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 Mar 2003
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Life And Crimes Of Alice Cooper (Audio CD)
This is one of the best rock n' roll box sets on the market. Almost everything of inportance is here, and the quality of the material is uniformly high. Rhino has obviously had no trouble finding enough songs to fill four CDs - at no point do they resort to "filler".
This is the definitive Alice Cooper collection, and a fitting tribute to a man who should be recognized as one of the most influential people in popular music, a true trailblazer and a superb and enormously versatile songwriter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Compilation, 31 Jan 2010
This 4 CD set is a good mix of tracks through Alice Coopers career. Doesn't just focus on the main hits as the other compilations do. Book in the centre also very imformative. At the price a great addition to your music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Alice Cooper History, 10 Jun 2009
By 
Mrs. Mel Mullane "Poppyhattie" (Southampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great box set and covers Alice's very early years which I haven't found anywhere else right up to the classics and later stuff. There is a great book in the middle of the pack too which explains where each song came from and the thinking behind it. I have got all the major Alice Cooper albums, but this has got all the best bits in one place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really is a must have for Alice Cooper fans, 24 Feb 2002
This is a four CD set spanning not just the Alice Cooper era but also his first two bands "The Spiders" and "The Nazz", Alice Cooper band being made up from members of the previous bands. A book comes with the package which is imformative and full of great pictures many I've not seen before. Disc 1 is the real eye opener as it is mostly early tracks , the first four being pre Alice and of a totally diferent style and show what could have happeded if they made it early!!!
All Disc's have a few different versions to album tracks and demo or unreleased stuff. Disc 4 is the weakest of the CD's as it has different guests such as Rob Zombie and Axl Rose on two tracks and tends to have the later pop/rock tracks.
I only give 4 stars as since the box set was produced Alice has released two more albums. If you are thinking of buying any "Best of" type Alice CD's get this instead, it IS worth the extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 21 July 2010
Brilliant!!! Love Alice Cooper and listen to his music a lot. Seen him in concert twice, Glasgow 2007 and Newcastle 2009. Awesome showman!!! This boxed set has all his best tracks and more. Wanted some CDs and bought this collection for my husband's Christmas stocking. A real Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alice, 15 April 2013
By 
I. S. Henshaw "twink" (Oldham ,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well what can you say you know all the songs and it is a good selection of Alice's catalogue. Have got all the vinyl in the loft so this is a great way to listen to a lot of the music again, and it makes it easier to transfer to my iPod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Life And Crimes Of Alice Cooper
The Life And Crimes Of Alice Cooper by Alice Cooper (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews