Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sh-di-di-di-di-di-di PIM-LU-PA! RAAAAAAARGH!, 23 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Fantomas (Audio CD)
To the majority, this is Mike Patton's bad side; it is everything Faith No More wasn't. For those who thought Mr Bungle would be where he called it a day in terms of musical insanity, they don't know Patton. This is where he ditches the FNM tag for good. The different styles he has been part of before this release is enough to know that his next project will not be predictable in any way.

To get an idea of what's going on, take the aforementioned Mr Bungle (before the almost slightly more mainstream `California' album) and the rhythmic improvisation he has done alone on his four-track that circulates across the web. Make them metal, by adding such members as Ex-Slayer's Dave Lombardo. Now scale their songs down to 1 minute. Now sit back and be amazed. It is pretty sick stuff. Don't even think about trying to tap your feet as you wont be able to keep up.

The album is a sick comic book made into music, not consisting of track titles or songs but `pages'. The lyrics are non-existent, there is only sound, which is only suitable for those who have an open mind, a love of the weird and wonderful, a basic understanding of metal and a sense of humour. Hey, maybe it's not the desired effect, but I can't help but laugh through many of the amazingly complex bursts that hit you from out of nowhere.

The artwork is amazing. The concept will be dismissed by the masses as drivel. But Patton is involved in something he has always been most comfortable in - take the beginnings of Mr. Bungle for instance and how it's something you either love or hate. Whatever you think, it is good to see someone doing something different, even though all the options have been exhausted and to some, this is offensive and I find that refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantomastic, 2 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fantomas (Audio CD)
This is an essential one for fans of Faith No More, Bungle ect. Mike Patton is "GOD" as such but what reviews have failed to comment is that: the music represents the drawings by Patton and another artist inside the CD sleeve. So when you next "wonder what was going through their heads when they record it", it's right there under your eyes. It's good, but I can't help thinking how similar it is to Beefheart's Trout Mask Replica; all his music is represented by art, and is just as bizzare but it just ain't as aggressive so it doesn't pick up as many knob heads on the way. Which is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not the easiest of listens, 3 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fantomas (Audio CD)
but it deserves 5 star purely for being unlike anything i've heard ever. but then it actually is a very good album in it's own way, purely for Mike Pattons gibbering alone. No lyrics, just grunts and the occasional "yatyatyatyatyatyat" or something equally bizzare. The instuments vary from hi hat and symbol drum solos to big thrash metal guitar bursts. Genious, but you have to wonder what they were thinking when they recorded it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I get everything on time and in perfect condition everything went great. Will I ever buy later Thank you for all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz death metal for the attention deficit generation!, 5 April 2008
This review is from: Fantomas (Audio CD)
This is an album of pieces ranging from thirty seconds to two minutes of noise. The first time you listen it will seem tinny, trebly and dischordant. Repeated listenings will bring out the incredible attention to detail and timing of the band, who cram more metal into thirty seconds than many emo, thrash or nu metal bands will squeeze into a whole album. No lyrics means no posturing, whining or agenda. It is so unlike what we are used to it may well languish in obscurity for being too different! Oh well...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A definite grower, 2 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fantomas (Audio CD)
Are you looking for the perfect antidote to Nsync, the Backstreet boys and Britney spears? Well here it is. On first listen you'll probably vomit, but put in in the c.d player again the next day and it will start to draw you in. By the end of the week you'll be humming along, but that's all you will be doing as there are no discernible words to sing along to. This is experimental heavy music at it's best and well worth a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual., 5 April 2002
By A Customer
As other people have pointed out, this album is one long composition. It actually reminds me of a lot of late 20th century classical music like Berio, except Pattons orchestra is the standard four piece rock band and his influences are from heavy metal mainly. It is demanding listening and unconventional. There are no verse-chorus-verse structures here. A selection of interesting and origional metal riffs hang in strategic positions around a canvas of sound effects and some keyboard effects positioned throughout the 42min duration of the disc. However, this is not classical music, it is clever and advanced metal.
Patton composed all of it and it is a superb vehicle for him to display his ample talent without the restrictions of conventional rock music. There is no conventional singing either.
Instead Patton uses his voice to emphasise rhythms without using words. This gives him the freedom to experiment with vocal sounds which are not usually found in metal. The other members of the band don't shock with their technical skill.
Lombardo has already shown his best with Slayer
and the other pair are not over taxed but technical musicianship is not an important part of this album.
I can't say that this is a masterpiece but I certainly enjoyed it and I imagine a lot more people will as well, providing that they are willing to give it the time that is necessary to get used to it. If they do, some will see music in a different way to what they have before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GIVE IT A CHANCE., 3 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Fantomas (Audio CD)
I FIRST BOUGHT THIS CD WHEN IT WAS FIRST RELEASED A FEW YEARS AGO. I TOOK IT BACK TO THE SHOP THE NEXT DAY. AT THE TIME I WAS MASSIVELY INTO FNM BUT HAD NEVER HEARD ANY MR BUNGLE, SECRET CHIEFS 3 OR PATTON'S SOLO STUFF. I BOUGHT IT EXPECTING PERHAPS A HEAVIER VERSION OF FNM DUE TO THE PRESENCE OF ALDRIN AND LOMBARDO. I OBVIOUSLY DID NOT GET WHAT I WAS EXPECTING. SINCE THEN I HAVE REALLY GOTTEN INTO THE LIKES OF MR BUNGLE, SECRET CHIEFS 3 AND OUT OF CURIOSITY I BOUGHT FANTOMAS' BRILLIANT SECOND ALBUM - DIRECTOR'S CUT, WHICH INSPIRED ME TO REVISIT THIS ALBUM. ONLY NOW CAN I APPRECIATE IT FOR THE WORK OF BRILLIANCE THAT IT IS. DON'T BUY IT EXPECTING ANYTHING LIKE FNM BUT IT IS SOMETIMES REMINISCENT OF SOME BUNGLE, SECRET CHIEFS 3 AND DIRECTOR'S CUT STUFF EVEN IF ONLY FOR THE ODD SCREAM, GIBBER OR RIFF. YOUR FRIENDS WILL THINK YOU ARE MAD, NO ONE ELSE YOU KNOW WILL APPRECIATE IT BUT IT IS A GREAT CD AND IT WILL OPEN YOUR MIND TO AN ENTIRELY NEW WORLD OF MUSIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wow, 4 Sep 2002
By A Customer
Have you ever wondered what it would be like to stick an electric whisk into your ears and switch it on? Well after listening to this album you will listen no more. You will know that it is one of the most pleasurably disturbing things you could ever experience. I'll be totally honest with you, you will either love this album or you will totally hate it. Imagine an album with no lyrics, and nothing but seemingly unstructured noise. However the more you listen to this album, the more it will grow on you, to the point where it will no longer sound like noise but more like a glimpse of a future we should all be striving towards. Musically brilliant, cerebally disturding, awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrunty Nutpea Funch!, 19 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fantomas (Audio CD)
Essential listening for fans of Faith No More, Mr Bungle, and Ween. Mike Patton is GOD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fantomas
Fantomas by Fantomas (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews