Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dysfunction
Dysfunction is one of Staind's heaviest albums with a lot of focus on distorted guiar riffs and gritty shouted vocals. With Break the Cycle being the most familiar album for new staind fans, I would recommend this to anyone who liked the more metally tracks like Pressure and Suffer, whereas those drawn to Staind for their popular singles It's Been Awhile and Outside may...
Published on 9 July 2006 by MetalHead

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but can be too slow and repetitive.
Good singing, good guitar, but the songs are too repetetive, they tend to go on a bit. There's no screaming either.
But it's still got three stars because everything else is great! Shouting, mood, meaning, guitair, etc.
Published on 26 Dec 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dysfunction, 9 July 2006
This review is from: Dysfunction (Audio CD)
Dysfunction is one of Staind's heaviest albums with a lot of focus on distorted guiar riffs and gritty shouted vocals. With Break the Cycle being the most familiar album for new staind fans, I would recommend this to anyone who liked the more metally tracks like Pressure and Suffer, whereas those drawn to Staind for their popular singles It's Been Awhile and Outside may prefer the more gentle, melancholic sound of the newer releases, Chapter V and 14 Shades of Grey.

This album is a must for fans of Cold's self titled album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Intelligent Debut, 18 Feb 2000
By 
Mr. Jm Parrish (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dysfunction (Audio CD)
Don't listen to the person below. He is rating the album on comparison with Limp Bizkit and Korn while Staind follow a totally different genre of music. Staind come across as a hybrid of Tool and Alice in Chains and are sprinkled with a smattering of nu-metal influences.
The first time I heard this album I was similarly unphased by it but as I listened more I realised that while bands like Limp Bizkit might be great for a while they'll be forgotten before too long.
Staind have real talent and the singer (unlike most nu-metal) can sing very well (and he's a dab hand at the screaming too). If you want proof that Staind really are good I challenge you to listen to Mudshovel, Home or A Flat. RAw is a song most metal bands would kill for as well.
Limp Bizkit have the fans but Staind have won much critical acclaim in America and if you're looking for a great intelligent hard rock band then you don't have to look much further than this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a top album by a band that doesn't get much publicity, 23 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dysfunction (Audio CD)
Heard mudshovel on the rock sound cd. I was in the mood for buying stuff at the time. It's a top album with a few other tracks as good as mudshovel. A lot heavyier than the recent nonsense from Limp Bizkit, more in common with Deftones and earlier KoRn. They are a band that arn't huugley unique in style, but have a decent delivery to them. I'm very surprised they arn't bigger and receive more publicity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hurrah for staind, 9 April 2003
By 
This review is from: Dysfunction (Audio CD)
this quite simply is a damn good album. its heavier than the more recognised break the cycle, but give it a good listen and u'll realise its also just as thoughtful - in fact, i found it to b more emotional and heartfelt than the mainstream feel of break the cycle. standout tracks for me were a flat, crawl, home, me and just go, not to mention the great hidden track at the end, excess baggage. it can get a bit too loud and shouty at times, but is a mostly excellent listen if ure into grunge and metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any true Staind fan, 17 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dysfunction (Audio CD)
This is one hell of an album i must say! The lyrics are charged with meanings and the sounds to the album just makes it as good as it is. Aaron has writted every record to perfection and thats what is all about, from his "look at me im just an addict" in "ME" i feel you should purchase this amazing album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great album from an underated band, 22 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dysfunction (Audio CD)
This album is steeped in emotion, evident in both the lyrics and singing style. Meanwhile, rest of the band provide the perfect backdrop, ranging from tender strumming to raucious thrashing.
The whole thing is great, with the only draw back being it is not hugely original. But if you can make music this good, it doesn't matter.
Oh and check out the hidden track, it's beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "i can't take it"- Staind r just 2 good!, 14 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dysfunction (Audio CD)
I heard a track by this band from a cd that i got free with a magazine and although i didn't like the track ("mudshovel") at first it grew on me with time and have since become one of my favourite bands. I live for the genre of nu-metal and besides Deftones, Filter and KoRn these are one of my all time favourite bands because everything that Aaron sings about seems so genuine. At times his topics of writing do start to make him sound a little like Radiohead but when this happens there's always the music to fall back on. Mike's guitaring is truly amazing and as far as i can see there is nothing wrong with this band. If they keep coming up with tracks and cd's like this then they can't go wrong. If ne one has the first album that they released "Tormented" could u please email me and let me know eher u got it coz i'm desperate for a copy! Cheers y'all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best thing to come from the US in a long time, 7 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dysfunction (Audio CD)
We get a lot of "pap-metal" as I call it. With the likes of Korn and Limp Bizkit masters in this genre and their hundreds of spawned copy-cat artists. And when I heard about some band that Fred Durst, of Limp Bizkit fame, had picked up this band for his record label I was a little dubious. Then I heard "Crawl" on the Scream 3 soundtrack, which is also a top CD, I was personally blown away. I have never been so taken away by one song..ever. So I looked it up on amazon and booked my pre-release copy, and when it arrived It stayed in my CD player for about 3 weeks. With songs like "Mudshovel", "Me" and Raw" these have gotta be huge. I ended up buying their first CD "Tormented" for 120 a week ago and it seems that this band dont write bad songs, and I have never spent that much money on ANY band. They truely deserve greatness, as they have much better tunes than anything Korn or Bizkit can write. If they dont become huge, its a crime towards music. So stop reading my review and BUY THIS CD. BUY 2 OR 3 and give them too your friends they will love you for showing you the most honest and moving music ever. They have taken my number 1 band spot from Incubus and I thought that wasnt possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars smells like staind, 26 Mar 2000
This review is from: Dysfunction (Audio CD)
If your looking for a powerful exciting and energetic album buy dysfunction, these guys are one of the biggest nu-metal experiances i have had in a long time, soothing vocals soon break and turn into a chino moreno style screaming. this album is a none stop energy rush from the moment you put the CD in the drive until the moment you take it back out, ill leave you now saying BUY THIS ALBUM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-Blowing!!!, 26 Jan 2002
By 
This review is from: Dysfunction (Audio CD)
Many people will have been drawn to Staind's More recent effort "Break the Cycle", but if they want a really sincere look at the mind of Aaron Lewis then this is the album to buy.
Mike & Aaron seem to have come up with a heavy album that blends immensely into a story of pain & anguish without sounding like a dying cat!
I'd recommend this album to anyone who is a fan of the band, those people swayed by singles like "It's been a while" & "Outside" may not find the album as appealing but to those who wanna hear the band at their best then this is THE album of choice. Tracks like ME & JUST GO display the real talents of Aaron Lewis & maybe should be avoided by those near open windows!
I didn't mind paying an OTT price for this album on the High-Street cause this is just an amazing piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dysfunction
Dysfunction by Staind (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews