Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From Sunset Boulevard to Chateaulait
Poor old Love and Money! They possessed too much intelligence to play the record company game, yet were dismissed by the "hip" press as being a teeny bopper band, a kind of watered down Hipsway. In truth this fine compliation shows James Grant's band to be purveyors of tastefully (in the main) assembled music for mature and thoughtful people - hence the poor...
Published on 6 Aug 2000

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Greatness in patches
I am slightly disappointed by this "best of" mainly because the 1988 album (Strange Kind of love) seemed to indicate a truly talented and inventive band (at a time when this was uncool). What emanated from that album was a series of wonderful, message-driven tunes that were very much out of place in an era of Johnny Hates Jazz et al. "Strange Kind of love" has one of the...
Published on 27 Jun 2003 by Damien Boyd


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From Sunset Boulevard to Chateaulait, 6 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cheap Pearls And Whisky Dreams: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Poor old Love and Money! They possessed too much intelligence to play the record company game, yet were dismissed by the "hip" press as being a teeny bopper band, a kind of watered down Hipsway. In truth this fine compliation shows James Grant's band to be purveyors of tastefully (in the main) assembled music for mature and thoughtful people - hence the poor sales. The album draws on material from all 4 LP's plus a couple of non-LP songs. The running order isn't in chronological order so the listener misses out tracing the growth of the band. Their first releases were cluttered and bombastic and haven't dated very well. "Candybar Express" is as mid-80's as "Wall Street". Things improve with the "Strange Kind of Love" material. Produced by Steely Dan whizz, Gary Katz, the sound is smooth, discreet yet adds an edginess to Grant's songs of elusive love. The band's playing is at turns jazzy but not meandering, funky but not silly. Eventually garnering respectable sales there was no breakthrough single and Grant had missed his opportunity of achieving the fame of his contemporaries like Roddy Frame. Nonetheless, L&M devotees were rewarded with the "Dogs in the Traffic" set which probably contained even stronger song writing and also the introduction of folkish elements to the mix (but don't let that put you off). After the commercial failure of "Dogs...", the band were dropped by Fontana. The final L&M release came out in the Iona Gold label. The songs on "littledeath" were darker than previous material, although there was always a dash of despair in Grant's craft. If you like well played, tasteful, intelligent pop then you could do a lot worse than to buy this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Greatness in patches, 27 Jun 2003
By 
Damien Boyd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cheap Pearls And Whisky Dreams: The Best Of (Audio CD)
I am slightly disappointed by this "best of" mainly because the 1988 album (Strange Kind of love) seemed to indicate a truly talented and inventive band (at a time when this was uncool). What emanated from that album was a series of wonderful, message-driven tunes that were very much out of place in an era of Johnny Hates Jazz et al. "Strange Kind of love" has one of the most affecting intros of any song I know...slow, moving, guitar-led, deliberate drum beat etc. Other prominent numbers from the aforementioned album are "Halleluiah man" and "Jocelyn Street". Both are excellent. One major omission is "State of Things to come" one of the band's most celebrated, lyrically-strong songs.
The best of the rest ? - "River of people" and "looking for Angeline"..
Maybe this album isn't a fair reflection on the band. "Best of's" rarely are.
But, at times, greatness shone through!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I still think about L&M, but only really when it rains., 22 Dec 2000
By 
just some guy "fnord33" (Oakland, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cheap Pearls And Whisky Dreams: The Best Of (Audio CD)
I have loved this band's music ever since I picked up the single "Jocelyn Square" years ago. Aside from a used copy of the album it came from (Strange Kind of Love), I have not seen any L&M CD's in the US. I'm glad I ordered this for import. It's great to finally hear music from the scope of the band's career, and all the songs I would have chosen from the album I have are included here. Witty yet dark, mature yet danceable, I cannot get enough of this album. "Hallelujiah Man" (which must be an ode to Guy Fawkes) is a particular stand-out, as are "The Last Ship On The River," "Wanderlust 2" and "Sometimes I Want To Give Up." I find that I keep putting this CD on when I cannot think of what I want to listen to. Maybe I should just leave it in the changer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why is this band not enjoying global success, 11 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cheap Pearls And Whisky Dreams: The Best Of (Audio CD)
love and money grew out of the ashes of friends again-a superb 80's scottish pop act which divided when chris thompson formed the bathers and james grant l & m many great things were predicted for love and money but so many wrong choices for singles ultimately camoflaged their true songwriting and performing talent. masterpieces such as 'winter''jocelyn square' and'last ship on the river' are worth the price of this c.d alone. any orange juice/lloyd cole/texas/ fans will love love and money----five stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolute magic album. All You Need Is, is still my favourite but this will do. Bringing back a lot of memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheap Pearls And Whisky Dreams: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Cant fault the quality of this cd. Spectacular James Grant at his best. Can listen to this album morning, noon amd night
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Missed Jem, 5 Feb 2010
By 
Gary Palmer "Devonhead" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I 'discovered' this band when I heard a friend playing it. Can't honestly remember them but I'm surprised that they didn't make it bigger. This is now when of my most often played albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EIGHTIES JOCK N ROLL, 30 April 2009
By 
W. mccarry "FOXBARMAC" (PAISLEY SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cheap Pearls And Whisky Dreams: The Best Of (Audio CD)
THE BEST OF JAMES GRANT AND THE BOYS. ALMOST EVERY TRACK ON THIS COMPILATION IS MAGIC.20 YEARS ON'STRANGE KIND OF LOVE' STILL HITS IT. GOT A COPY FROM AMAZON AT A REASONABLE RATE. DONT GET RIPPED OFF DO WHAT I DID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good jock bands, 30 July 2013
This review is from: Cheap Pearls And Whisky Dreams: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Took me back to late 80's when a lot of jock bands were good lloyd cole & the commotions, hipsway & Jesus & Mary chain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9295354)

This product

Cheap Pearls And Whisky Dreams: The Best Of
Cheap Pearls And Whisky Dreams: The Best Of by Love & Money (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews