Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typically Trojan - great value, great selection
Trojan box-sets are a great way of building up a collection of Jamaican music - the price is right and the choice of music is almost invariably excellent, and this Ska box is another excellent addition to their line. This is an excellent choice of sixties Ska, concentrating as much on those artists who later moved into reggae as those who stayed Ska purists. There's...
Published on 11 May 2004 by Peter Fenelon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, could be better
This set is OK and good to have, but some of the tracks in this ska collection are so rough and difficult to hear that I'm surprised they made it. The tunes in Trojan's Rocksteady collection is much better overall and those tunes will stay in your head.
Published on 6 Oct 2010


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typically Trojan - great value, great selection, 11 May 2004
By 
Peter Fenelon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trojan Ska Box Set (Audio CD)
Trojan box-sets are a great way of building up a collection of Jamaican music - the price is right and the choice of music is almost invariably excellent, and this Ska box is another excellent addition to their line. This is an excellent choice of sixties Ska, concentrating as much on those artists who later moved into reggae as those who stayed Ska purists. There's inevitably some difference in quality between the tracks on here, the average standard of performances and recordings is astonishingly good though. As an introduction to Ska this is fantastic - it shows clearly how the genre evolved into rocksteady and reggae, including a few tracks by people who later became reggae greats alongside the Ska purists.
Top 3 tracks for me:
007 - Desmond Dekker
Miss Jamaica - Jimmy Cliff
Guns of Navarone - Skatalites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 25 Mar 2006
By 
Labal (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trojan Ska Box Set (Audio CD)
Question in a pub quiz I was at not so long ago that ran along the lines of 'Who recently covered the Blondie song - The Tide is High?' Wasn't her song, I complained into my beer, and this proves it... Another great Trojan box set with masses of material that has inspired at least 3 waves of Ska revival, outstanding tracks such as Guns of Navarone, Blazing Fire, Train to Skaville, Phoenix City. I could go on. And of course The Paragons covering Blondie. Grrrrr... BTW If you're into the modern equivalent check out Pama International and The Splitters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a box set !!, 8 Feb 2007
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trojan Ska Box Set (Audio CD)
3 CDs of absolute classic ska. With the sheer volume of tracks this set provides, its a bargain. This is the real deal.A good cross section of Jamaican ska, with some tracks better known than others (perhaps) but don't let that put you off. If you have only heard the tracks that have also appeared on other ska compilations & you liked them, then the rest of this collection is a must.
This is a really expansive collection of quality ska music & Trojan have done a great job in selecting the tracks for this set.If you enjoy this , then the Rude Boy box set is also worth a punt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful music, 26 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Ska Box Set (Audio CD)
I bought this because I was curious about the roots of my well played Two Tone albums and came away feeling that I had found a treasure chest of songs and artists which I may never have found before. Although sometimes the standard of recording is not always brilliant (some is distinctly "tinny" and crackly) it only adds to the feeling of the quick turnaround of the small Jamaican studios that many of these would have been produced in; having said that the songs are of a consistently high quality and will get you moving to the rhythm.

Something else that has come out from listening to this music and reading the liner notes is my understanding of how the music evolved over time (and weather!) to the reggae of the Wailers, which of course is not an end in itself but merely a more recognised step in the evolution of music from this somewhat troubled island.

These Trojan boxsets are great value and allow the uninitiated to satisfy their curiosity without breaking the bank. I have since bought the Ska Volume 2 box set and the Rocksteady boxset. None have disappointed. With many more of the Trojan boxsets on my wishlist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, could be better, 6 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Ska Box Set (Audio CD)
This set is OK and good to have, but some of the tracks in this ska collection are so rough and difficult to hear that I'm surprised they made it. The tunes in Trojan's Rocksteady collection is much better overall and those tunes will stay in your head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff for the ear's, 3 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Trojan Ska Box Set (Audio CD)
This is a good listen not padded out with fillers,This is just what you need when you need cheering up ! spend the money and enjoy .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trojan, 3 Mar 2009
This review is from: Trojan Ska Box Set (Audio CD)
Great Stuff. I own several of these box sets and they are great. Some real gems on each one and plenty I'd never heard too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite as described, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Ska Box Set (Audio CD)
cracking box set contents great but a bit disappointed by condition of box as this was for a present luckily only a stocking filler
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trojan Ska Box Set
Trojan Ska Box Set by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews