Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LEGENDARY EARLY MASTERPIECES
Dylan purists used to frown on this collection when it was first released in the 1960s, since he wasn't a singles artist and perhaps believing that it somehow cheapened his work. I disagree. This was my introduction to his music and it still serves as a superb anthology of his early masterpieces. Here you most of them together: Blowin' In The Wind and The Times They Are A...
Published on 22 May 2003 by Pieter Uys

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A review for people who are not actually massive Dylan fans..
A person's view of an album is always going to be subjective. If you love Dylan, this is 5 stars all the way. If you hate him and hate his voice, then it get 1 star.

I'm going to steer the middle ground, and write a review for people who haven't really heard much Dylan, or who are not such big fans. Firstly, it's an early compilation, so not exactly a career...
Published 24 months ago by Moonlight Shadow


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LEGENDARY EARLY MASTERPIECES, 22 May 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bob Dylan Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Dylan purists used to frown on this collection when it was first released in the 1960s, since he wasn't a singles artist and perhaps believing that it somehow cheapened his work. I disagree. This was my introduction to his music and it still serves as a superb anthology of his early masterpieces. Here you most of them together: Blowin' In The Wind and The Times They Are A Changin' where he sounds like a latterday prophet, the beautiful and poetic Mr Tambourine Man with its vivid imagery, the buoyant She Belongs To Me and the lilting I Want You, the bluesy It's All Over Now Baby Blue and the other classics Like A Rolling Stone and Just Like A Woman. Dylan's a very prolific singer/songwriter and created a magnificent body of work in the decades following the 60s, but these early masterpieces still exude a unique charm for their authenticity and originality. I recommend this brilliantly remastered CD as well as More Greatest Hits for a thorough collection of Dylan's legendary early work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to a great artist, 24 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Bob Dylan Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Making a greatest hits LP for Bob Dylan was always going to be tough, as his canon contains such a plethora of songs worthy of inclusion. Although not containing many songs I would wish to see, this collections is a good starting point for those unfamiliar with Dylan's work to explore. Covering his first seven albums, up to the career apex of Blonde on Blonde, the greatest hits charts his development from folk singer into the electric rock music he embraced during the mid sixties.
If you are new to Dylan this is a perfect introduction (although it is worth remembering the amount of stupendous songs, such as 'visions of Johanna', that do not appear). If you are wishing to investigate further I would look to buy ‘Blonde on Blonde’, ‘Highway 61’ (both terrific challenging and intelligent rock albums), ‘the times they are a changin’ (Man, he was annoyed), ‘Blood on the tracks’ (depressing) and if you want some unchallenging, relaxing, Country, fun. ‘Nashville skyline’
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Introduction., 16 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bob Dylan Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I was about ten, it was a sunday evening and it suddenly occured to my dad to put on some music, he takes from the shelf this album and says "This is a man who alot of people think of as being as good as the beatles" at the time I laughed i thought no-one could be as good as the beatles, the first track came on (Blowin' in the wind) and to be perfectly honest i wasn't incredibly impressed I thought the lyrics were great and that it was a solid tune but not as good as the beatles, my opinion started to change, however, by track 3 (mr tambourine man) the words were unbelievable and the tune was great. By the end I was intregged and decided that Dylan was great.
Now have about ten bob Dylan albums and he remains my favourite ever musician, music means everthing to me, im a fanatic not just about Dylan but about music in general. I dont think, however, that it would be quite the same without this album. Its not only a great introduction to Dylan its a great Introduction to Music in general and play this to any kid like it was for me and you can bet it'll have a fairly similar effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best songwriter ever..., 16 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Bob Dylan Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a great album to play in the car, no skipping necessary. From 'Blowin' In the Wind' to 'I Want you' this album takes you through the hits of his great career and you can never get bored. It is a real Sunday afternoon listen, just to relax or sing along to. I would recommend this to anyone that hasn't heard much of Bob and want a good all-round feel to what all the fuss is about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starting point number one if you want?, 22 April 2005
By 
Mr. K. Watton "kaydoubleyou" (Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bob Dylan Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
When I was 12 I think or maybe 13 back in (well never mind) I bought this album. It was just released then and I played it into oblivion.I have most of his CD's now but in many ways this compilation has a special place for me. Of course as man who has lived with Dylan all my life I want you to buy certain albums way and beyond this. But as a starting point for Dylan there is no simpler, easier way in. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Dylan, 21 July 2009
By 
J. Irvine (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bob Dylan Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Everyone should have at least one Boy Dylan in their music collection why not start with his greatest hits, it's worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original greatest hits collection, 1 Jun 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bob Dylan Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Released in 1967, 'Bob Dylan Greatest Hits' was the first compilation of Bob Dylan's music. Riding high on hits, it's an excellent summary of the prolific singer/songwriter's best-known songs from of his first seven albums. Although there are now much more extensive collections out there, this was the first CD I purchased of Dylan's work, and I still regard it as an excellent overview of this talented artist's early years. He certainly knew how to write a good song, and the gems on this classic greatest hits album are the proof of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Dylan's Greatest Hits, 24 July 2011
By 
June Doll "June" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bob Dylan Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Bob Dylan is one of those iconic musical figures whom I had always intended to listen to, but somehow I had never got round to doing so. Buying his greatest hits album seemed like a good introduction and it proved to be so. I hadn't really appreciated what a fabulous song writer he is - so many great songs all on the same album. I loved the album and intend to buy more Dylan albums. I want to hear some of his later work as well as his early stuff. Bob Dylan should be part of everyone's musical education and mine is just beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The first Greatest Hits, 4 Nov 2009
This review is from: Bob Dylan Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
It wasn't till about 1967 that the first Dylan Hits album was released and was the only one issued that year.
Really a stop gap from Columbia until new stuff arrived which was the year after.
Today there are at least a dozen hits albums-the latest is the one called DYLAN yet this unimaginately titled comp is not the one it should have been namely the early 70s one of cover versions a la Self Portrait.And here in 2011 its still missing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great if u like bob dylan, 11 April 2012
This review is from: Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
If you like bob dylan then get this album it has all his hits and it is pretty cheap. Good deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bob Dylan Greatest Hits
Bob Dylan Greatest Hits by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews