Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer brilliance..., 30 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Meat Puppets II (Audio CD)
Meat Puppets 2 is, simply, a mind expanding, and then mind blowing album. We open with a country tinged hardcore classic in the form of 'Split myself in two' and then head on a rollercoaster journey of exotic and pure soundscapes and observations on life through the lyrics. Curt Kirkwood's guitar work is simply amazing.
However, the standout must be track 5 of the album 'Aurora Borealis'. Quite simply, this song is possibly the greatest piece of music ever committed to disc...if you've ever been to a desertor in the Scottish highlands this song will evoke memories and visions...it's like a musical form of an acid trip (one would imagine!)...
Put simply, open your mind and give the Puppets a try. I own both this and 'Up on the Sun', both CDs permenantly in my CD player (With 'II' playing as I write this). If it were possible to rate this higher than 5 stars I would...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing in every way!, 26 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. R. J. Wallace "Arnoldtheduck" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meat Puppets II (Audio CD)
What an amazing, truly exhilarating album! From the furious punk of 'Split Myself In Two' to the glorious groove of 'Whistling Song', this album is a work of art, and , without a doubt, one of the greatest albums to have been put out there by any artist! My personal favourite: "I'm a Mindless Idiot', the most catchy instrumental song I've ever heard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 27 Jan 2013
By 
eamonn moloney (kilcock, co.kildare Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meat Puppets II (Audio CD)
Every one will know the 2 songs from Nirvana unplugged but listen to the rest of the album and you will find hidden treasures and music of a quality that is hard to find now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!, 14 Dec 2012
This review is from: Meat Puppets II (Audio CD)
This album has everything from crazy punk to psychedelic mellow rock and I personally love it! I highly recommend this album to anyone who likes nirvana, hendrix etc. Very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hank Williams, 3 Dec 2009
This review is from: Meat Puppets II (Audio CD)
A beautiful album, harking back to the days, pre-elvis i suppose, when rock and roll music was made by freaks, outsiders and weirdos, with all the hysteria, and, yes, vulnerabilty, that this stance would lend to the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth buying, 11 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. D. P. Carter "Davey C" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meat Puppets II (Audio CD)
I ve only got this Meat Puppets album but Ive heard its their best one.
I certainly think its an excellent choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Damn Good, 7 Mar 2004
This review is from: Meat Puppets II (Audio CD)
Hey y'all meat pup's fans,
This was the first Pup's album i bought and i NEVER lived to regret it. Bought like many puppets fans after hearing unplugged. I was blown away by those famous three tracks, escpicially Plateau and Lake Of Fire. A lonely guy named Kurt loved this album, and so should you.
It gave a nice base for them to build on after the frankly dismal 'Meat Puppets (I)' album. If you want punk there's nothing wrong with MP I. However, if you want sweet calm chill music with a splatter of psycadelica, MP II is gonna be your first MP album of many.
Categorising MP II is impossible, as it clearly comes from many influences. However, Kurt Kirkwood (Meat Puppets leading man) described them as "world beat" and i think that kinda sums it up.
MP II itself is an amazing album. The diversity between songs such as 'Split Myself In Two' to say 'Aurora Borealis' is simply mind-blowing. Some of the guitar work is ultimate.
'Split Myself In Two' strikes a dischord right away. The singings out of tune, the guitar and bass are rushed and the drums pump to keep up with the chaos, perfect thing to come home to after a bad day.
'Magic Toy Missing' is "about how the moon is really just a pattern showing where to put your spirograph toy". Showing the genius (or alternate thinking) of Curt. A nice banjo-style instrumental.
'Lost' is amazing, showing Curt's Arizona roots amazingly. You will have to listen to it hard to get the real meaning.
'Plateau' - a famous track. The compostion of the solo strives through creating a mind-blowing sunrise of emotion. Maybe the actual track could have been performed better though...
However, 'Aurora Borelias' is the ultimate in what i call 'chill' music. The guitar is breath-taking, a beautiful landscape formed in the mind makes this piece of music in my top 5 of best ever.
I need not say anymore, but with the Rykodisc's release of 'Bonus Tracks' this Album can not and will not be ignored.
MP II is a brilliant piece of art. Although i'd say this should be your first Meat Puppet album, i would'nt say it is their best work (a close 2nd to 'Up On The Sun', which is, in it's own way, the ultimate 'chill' album).
Thanks For Reading All This. Buy MP II & You Will Have A Lot More Relaxing Or Active Or Mind-Blown time.
A Meat Pups Fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a few fillers but overall brilliant, 14 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Meat Puppets II (Audio CD)
The meat puppets were a greatly undervalued band off the 80's and this cd shows off some of their best work. Some has been showcased by nirvana in "unplugged in new york" but even if you have that this cd is well worth a listen especially for the first 3 tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Meat Puppets II
Meat Puppets II by Meat Puppets (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews