Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
I think the new style is a love-hate thing...and I love it! Every album so far has been different in it's own way, from the country/folk of TGTHM, through to the more aggressive electric guitars of AWL, and this new change is just as cool. Ellen Reid's songs are great ("Get You in the Morning" has to be one of the best CTD songs ever!), and the rest are just...
Published on 3 Jun 2000

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, what a waste.
Having followed CTD through their last three albums and having found something new in each, I was left wanting with this latest offering.
The dummies have tried becoming more funky. On its own this would not be a bad thing. However, the strong and quirky lyrics that I have come to expect have not turned up in this jewel case. I can only assume that the artists...
Published on 29 Jan 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, what a waste., 29 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Give Yourself a Hand (Audio CD)
Having followed CTD through their last three albums and having found something new in each, I was left wanting with this latest offering.
The dummies have tried becoming more funky. On its own this would not be a bad thing. However, the strong and quirky lyrics that I have come to expect have not turned up in this jewel case. I can only assume that the artists feel the same way, as this is the first Dummies album without a lyric sheet.
Perhaps the words in the last track of Worms Life have come horribly true "Now that I've used all my ideas". Please, Brad, prove me wrong on the next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Noooooo!, 9 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Give Yourself a Hand [Us Import] (Audio CD)
I am a very big Dummies fan, but to anyone that bought the preceeding albums and enjoyed them will be disappointed in what has happened. Gone is the guitar-based rock/country element to their sound, and in it's place is something far less engaging and genre-defining. It IS still the Dummies, and I bought it for that alone, but on listening to it you will certainly wonder what has happened to the band that produced such timeless classic songs as those found on the three earlier albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A major disappointment from a great band, 19 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Give Yourself a Hand (Audio CD)
I have been a CTD fan for many years and loved their brand of quirky pop. When listening to Give Yourself A Hand, I was very disappointed with the new direction of songs that Brad Roberts had written. Gone were the catchy pop songs and acoustic guitars of previous albums, instead Brad had attempts at singing rap and in falsetto (both to bad effect). The only decent songs on the album were sung by Ellen Reid. (Go back to the old style songs Dummies, I miss them).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Give Yourself a Hand (Audio CD)
I think the new style is a love-hate thing...and I love it! Every album so far has been different in it's own way, from the country/folk of TGTHM, through to the more aggressive electric guitars of AWL, and this new change is just as cool. Ellen Reid's songs are great ("Get You in the Morning" has to be one of the best CTD songs ever!), and the rest are just as innovative and catchy. If you're a big Dummie fan, then no matter what, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get a grip!, 17 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Give Yourself a Hand (Audio CD)
I loved it! The Dummies have changed their style to incredible effect, and produced by far their best songs to date. Anyone who hates this album just isn't listening to it enough - yes, I admit it's a slow grower, but it does contain so many great tracks: Keep A Lid On Things, I Love Your Goo, and the gorgeous Ellen Reid fronted 'A Little Something'.
And to address the issue of the new lyrics: well, just check out A Little Something and Playing Dead, and you'll see that Brad has lost none of his prowess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hugely disappointing, 6 Nov 2008
This review is from: Give Yourself a Hand (Audio CD)
I think the first 3 albums were amazing and I have listened to them constantly from original purchase to the present day over a decade later. This, however, was the one that stopped me buying any more.

Gone are the offbeat subjects, the pervading sense of something unexpected. Even gone for 3 tracks is the actual sound that tells you it's the CTDs - terrible mistake. The lady has a good voice for background melody and a reasonable lead voice, but these are dull songs that could have been recorded by anyone.

Give this one a miss and listen to "Ghosts" again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Give Yourself a Hand [Us Import]
Give Yourself a Hand [Us Import] by Crash Test Dummies (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews