Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably Herbie's Finest
Empyrean Isles by Herbie Hancock could be viewed as a warm up for Maiden Voyage, universally accepted as one of the greatest jazz albums ever produced. On Empyrean Isles, the celebrated Hancock/Carter/Williams rhythm section (working in Miles Davis's band at the time) combine with the artistry of trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, (the whole group, together with saxophonist...
Published on 30 Sep 2005 by mtro

versus
0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected!
I thought I knew Herbie Hancock's music , but this was not what I expected. Maybe the years have passed and the music changed!
Published on 23 Nov 2011 by Daydream Believer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably Herbie's Finest, 30 Sep 2005
This review is from: Empyrean Isles (Audio CD)
Empyrean Isles by Herbie Hancock could be viewed as a warm up for Maiden Voyage, universally accepted as one of the greatest jazz albums ever produced. On Empyrean Isles, the celebrated Hancock/Carter/Williams rhythm section (working in Miles Davis's band at the time) combine with the artistry of trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, (the whole group, together with saxophonist George Coleman, recorded Maiden Voyage) who provides an interesting contrast to Davis, with his more aggresive, Coltrane-influenced take on Hard Bop trumpet playing. The aggressive opener 'One Finger Snap' is pure floating groove as generally associated with the rhythm section, while Oliquoi Valley takes a more relaxed but still powerful bent as Freddie Hubbard and Herbie Hancock show their affinity for one another's playing style. The third track is the well known 'Cantaloupe Island' that in the style of 'Watermelon Man' from 'Takin' Off' provides a modal blues line with a stunning groove. The final track is 'The Egg' a free improvisation, where Ron Carter in particular shines. It's interesting to note the disparity in approach between 'The Egg' and other early free jazz, for example the work of Ornette Coleman. Overall this album shows Herbie Hancock's self-assuredness at this early stage in his career and may have never been topped, even by Maiden Voyage, depending on your point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't get much better than this, 9 Jun 2011
This review is from: Empyrean Isles (Audio CD)
I remember hesitating about buying this back in the sixties...my meagre pocket money wouldn't stretch to buying an album without a sax player...even if it was an album by Herbie Hancock.I managed to get a secondhand mono copy from the Dobells used list.Those were the days.I've since bought the Stereo disc & quite a few CDs for friends as it's become apparent that this is one of the greatest albums from the mid sixties period. Not content with influencing an entire generation of pianists as a member of the Miles Davis group, Hancock went into the studio with Ron Carter, Tony Williams, and Freddie Hubbard and four original tunes and came out with one hit ...Cantaloupe Island...and a record of the highest achievements in improvisation in modern jazz.I mean....Freddie Hubbard's solo on 'One Finger Snap' never ceases to amaze....not least because on the alternate take he doesn't repeat one idea or phrase.The same with Herbie....his solos are thoughtful inventive and addictive to listen to because of the way he negotiates tricky changes with such grace.Ron and Tony are peerless and the recording is fabulous. I'm not sure that the sixties ever got better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great music, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empyrean Isles (Audio CD)
Item required as expected in perfect condition's. Great quality especially if you consider the price. Can definitely recommend this item for others that enjoy this type of tune
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More great jazz at bargain prices!!!, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empyrean Isles (Audio CD)
My title for this review pretty much says it all , a wonderful slice of Jazz played by a bunch of high quality musicians who had perfected their mutual craft on other peoples equally seminal recordings.
One of things that I have truly become to love about Jazz is that many of the musicians are so invloved with each others recordings and by simply picking up one release you can find yourself entertained and indeed captured by not only the group performance but inspired enough to go out and hunt down other recordings by the amazing people involved - for example for me after hearing this I had to track down more of Freddie Hubbards back catalogue.
Herbie Hancock him self played with both Miles and Coltrane and it is with this fine legacy that this record and many others like it continues to entertain me in my quest for a serious jazz collection..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 25 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empyrean Isles (Audio CD)
I bought this for my uncle who at 72 is a Blue Note Jazz fanatic. He has a large Blue Note Collection and this C/D adds to his collection. He loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empyrean Isles (Audio CD)
A classic HH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP CLASS, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empyrean Isles (Audio CD)
MUSIC THAT IS JUST A MUST FROM A MASTER MUSICIAN, HIGHLY RECOMMEND ANYONE TO GET THIS AND ADD IT TO YOUR COLLECTION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good cd, very fast delivery, 22 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empyrean Isles (Audio CD)
very good cd, very fast delivery. Very nice that such an relatively old album is available on cd. And the price is very modest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected!, 23 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empyrean Isles (Audio CD)
I thought I knew Herbie Hancock's music , but this was not what I expected. Maybe the years have passed and the music changed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Empyrean Isles
Empyrean Isles by Herbie Hancock (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews