Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What are you wimps talking about???
This is one of the freshest bands in ages. Nearly every song on the album is a classic. The best has to be Love Dump and the title track. Heavy, catchy and instantly memorable. Anyone i know who's heard them loves them because they are a band who are accessible and cutting edge. I love ministry, white zombie and most other industrial metal but they are easily the best...
Published on 21 Oct. 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars doesnt impress me like i wanted it too
static x have impressed me on every album that i have heard bar this,there are of course some good tracks on here,but i have to go to song four to find the first song of any greatness and thats not good enough,the first three songs are heavier than any song on the excellent shadowzone or machine but that doesnt mean they are good,static x deliver pounding industrial...
Published on 20 April 2006 by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What are you wimps talking about???, 21 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Wisconsin Death Trip (Audio CD)
This is one of the freshest bands in ages. Nearly every song on the album is a classic. The best has to be Love Dump and the title track. Heavy, catchy and instantly memorable. Anyone i know who's heard them loves them because they are a band who are accessible and cutting edge. I love ministry, white zombie and most other industrial metal but they are easily the best. Granted, Machine was a dissapointing follow up but this album is fantastic. Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 26 Dec. 2008
By 
Jasper Wong "jbywong" (Canterbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wisconsin Death Trip (Audio CD)
Forget Static-X's most recent, utterly dischordant, dissonant, and repetitive effort 'Cannibal'. Truth is, this is the only decent static-x album - the follow up to this (machine) was a flop, as were the ones that followed 'machine'

Look past the dodgy cover and the fact that the industrial metal trend is gone and done and you will see that 'wisconsin death trip' is actually a relatively good release even when you listen to it nowadays. It is filled with gutteral growls and electronic/industrial noises and very strong blast beats - disco industrial metal indeed. Standout songs include the addictive 'Push it' and the deeper sounding 'love dump'. For fans of that late 90's and early 2000's industrial craze, this album would certainly satisfy, but i urge fans of other musical tastes to try it out - it is definately a grower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars doesnt impress me like i wanted it too, 20 April 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wisconsin Death Trip (Audio CD)
static x have impressed me on every album that i have heard bar this,there are of course some good tracks on here,but i have to go to song four to find the first song of any greatness and thats not good enough,the first three songs are heavier than any song on the excellent shadowzone or machine but that doesnt mean they are good,static x deliver pounding industrial rock/metal,this album feels nu metal at times as well which of course sounds dated,the chorus' arent as memorable as any of the great chorus' that make static x a class rocky metal unit,the album just doesnt grab me like the others,static x keep it simple,its what they do,they aint into technical soundscapes or breakdowns,its straightforward in style but on their day they can write a great rock tune,on wisconsin death trip the feeling of quality doesnt ring true
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good starting point, 24 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Wisconsin Death Trip (Audio CD)
ok so then where did static-x start. well one one foot firmly in the nu-metal fraternity and its very obvious from the start of this album thatthe shadow of nu-metal hangs heavy on this album. but that isnt such a bad thing as they take the nu-metal style and stamp all over it with big sharp guitars(not downtuned like all the others) and frantic industrial bleeping and samples and beats flying everywhere. its a joy to behold, think korn meets white zombie and you`re almost there. the simple fact is that this is a very consistant debut,push it im with stupid,bled for days, love dump awesome way to start an album its not until track 5 that i even think about the skip button. go listen and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whoah!, 20 Oct. 2000
This review is from: Wisconsin Death Trip (Audio CD)
Fast, powerful, dark, fiendish and very loud. Not one for bad moods or early mornings, but when a full throttle helping of evil techno-boosted metal is required this is the one to reach for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars head bashing crazy fun, 16 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Wisconsin Death Trip (Audio CD)
Non complicated head banging fun. I loved this album from the first time I heard it. It is short but really wonderful stuff. the riffs are simple and there are bits of electro stitched into it here and there which really adds to it. I had a bloody great time drawing and listening to this crazy music. some people take heavy music so damn seriously. i'm no tech buff and just enjoy what I hear so I guess that makes me lucky. full marks for this album start to finish, I honestly don't see anything wrong with any of the songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Static-X album aswell as one must-have Industrial Album, 21 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Wisconsin Death Trip (Audio CD)
Debut album for Static-X and their best one yet. If you've heard of them and like to try them I really recommend you buy this one! It'll make you bleed till the end..all the songs on it are pretty good..rythmic, dark, trancecore, disco...all industrial awsome sounds you could expect. You'll love listening to it since track#1 (Push it) wish it's a bad ass beginning!.. till track#12 (December)wish is a good finish to calm down your body from all the hard rocking songs trough all the CD!
Very cool artwork on the cd..it surely fits with the cd.
Note: I've been listening to it for 3 years and I still can't bother of it!..You won't want to change the track since you play it..you'll hear it to the end! So don't listen to those bad mouthing reviews, those are only lies for an album that has sold millions of copies with no publicity on it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Asparagus never sounded so good, 3 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Wisconsin Death Trip (Audio CD)
Great debut by the boys from the asparagus capital of the world(Wisconsin). Heard the cd at release and was blown away.The depth of the riffs and his tasmanian devil vocals made one heck of a sonic soundscape. Wayne and the boys have managed to take everything musical that made White Zombie excellent, ripped it apart and made a new dynamic sound from it, Can't wait for the follow up.(and Wayne Static's next hairstyle). A must for any metal fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic album!, 30 May 2007
By 
P. M. Carlino - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wisconsin Death Trip (Audio CD)
This album is by far my favourite Static-X album ever. Each track is completely unique with no crappy filler tracks to ruin this album. The album keeps it's fury and fire with all the tracks until it gets to "December", a nice calming finish to a furious and faced paced album. If there was one critism of the album, it would be the fact that it is only 45 minutes long. Overall, a very good album and one that any true metal fan must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing stuff, 8 May 2012
By 
subject2status (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisconsin Death Trip (Audio CD)
OMG, I've died and gone to heaven.

I've recently re-discovered Static-x after a 10 year hiatus and having only bought one of their albums 'back in the day'.

This is now on my iPhone along with two other of their albums and it has entertained me on countless journeys from Southampton to Leeds.

Just listen to the first track, 'Push It', and I defy you to say this is anything other than amazing stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wisconsin Death Trip
Wisconsin Death Trip by Static-X (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews