Customer Reviews


31 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!, 24 Aug. 2008
By 
martin jones (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Somethin' Else (Audio CD)
Somethin' Else: Remastered

Quite by chance I caught just three or four bars of the theme of "Autumn Leaves" on the radio. It was so obviously Miles, and at his very best. I immediately decided, on the basis of that brief snatch of melody, to try to get the CD. But it was not easy to run it down as, of course, the band was under the (nominal) leadership of Cannonball Adderley.

This is a wonderful CD with all players on top form and I heartily endorse what other reviewers have said. It is worth its modest price just for that exposition of the beautiful "Autumn Leaves" theme!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars big love for this, 22 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somethin' Else (Audio CD)
This album is full of beautifully constructed music (that'll be of the jazz variety of course). My girlfreind hates it but after she's fallen asleep i love to get it playing throught the old amp (she's a heavy sleeper) and get lost in its daydream like qualities. Autumn leaves is an absolute masterpiece the rest of the album doesn't quite match(for me) but my god the rest of its full of sublime moments, it sounds very refined and masterfully kept at a level where its at the same time chilled but quite exiting. Their are some catchy tunes (alisons uncle) and lots of really nice long solo's (like piano on 'one for daddy o' and the saxaphone on 'dancing in the dark' amongst quite afew other others), yea its a good album listen too it, i'm not a massive massive jazz fan so might be missing afew tricks i.e. there may be alot better stuff out there all i can say is it sure does it for me.

PS autumn leaves ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Cool Jazz, 20 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somethin' Else (Audio CD)
If you have only recently come over to jazz then I would definitely recommend you launch your jazz collection with this classic album from the Blue Note label produced in 1958, "Somethin' Else".Cannonball Adderley and Miles Davis are two of the finest exponents of the genre.Here you can catch them in the early years of their illustrious careers.Art Blakey was also in the top echelon of jazz musicians,a tremendous drummer.One of my all time favourite evergreen tunes comes first on the album,Autumn Leaves.11 minutes of guaranteed bliss! One For Daddy O is my other favourite track.There is one added track which didn't appear on the original vinyl album,Bangoon. Buy it and enjoy it forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired playing from Cannonball & Miles in 1958., 4 Jun. 2013
By 
Jazzrook - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Somethin' Else (Audio CD)
This excellent quintet album led by the great alto saxophonist Cannonball Adderley(1928-1975) was recorded for BLUE NOTE in New Jersey on March 9, 1958.
Adderley is in lyrical and exuberant form with equally fine playing from Miles Davis(trumpet) and a superb rhythm section of Hank Jones(piano); Sam Jones(bass) & Art Blakey(drums).
The six memorable tracks feature three standards plus originals from Miles, Nat Adderley and Hank Jones. Highlights include 'Autumn Leaves', Miles' title-track and Hank Jones boppish bonus track 'Bangoon' previously issued as 'Alison's Uncle'.
'Somethin' Else' is one of Cannonball Adderley's finest albums and an essential item in any serious modern jazz collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AS GOOD AS IT GETS, 8 May 2013
This review is from: Somethin' Else (Audio CD)
If I had to name my greatest jazz album of all time I would list "Somethin Else" as joint top alongside "Kind Of Blue" Although "Something Else" is titled as a Cannonball record I would say that Miles Davis has as much influence and some of his playing is awesome...Maybe some of his best ever. The album is very similar to "Kind Of Blue" in as much as it has some really tender moments followed by some really fast paced uplifting moments but without anyone over playing. Sort of simple but at the same time very clever. As a sax player, Cannonball is my fav of all time. I really respect Tranes talent but I could never get used to all that over playing. This album is essential listening.....Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unbelievable bargain, 26 July 2014
This review is from: Somethin' Else (Audio CD)
Amazon are selling this for £2-98 . We CD collectors owe the downloaders an enormous debt of gratitude in that their quest for free music led to albums suddenly becoming affordable . This is a true jazz classic and can now be in your collection ( and that is certainly where it should be ) for less than the price of six Marlboro Lights . Listen to Hank Jones play a beautiful Ahmad Jamal piano intro and then the horns surprise by starting to blow Autumn Leaves - it'll get you every time . Cannonball's alto and the trumpet of Miles Davis is a marriage made in heaven . Lovely lovely stuff . An unbelievable bargain .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bubblin' up and under, 11 Sept. 2010
By 
N. Jones "Nic The Pen" (Oxford, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Somethin' Else (Audio CD)
Julian "Cannonball" Adderley, along with the likes of Phil Woods, was an alto sax player who took an element of Charlie Parker's overwhelming artistry and fashioned new things out of it. In his case it was Parker's spontaneous joy that was the whole deal.

He gets the chance to express it on `Somethin' Else' where he's joined by one Miles Davis on trumpet. Recorded on March 9th, 1958 the resulting music is shot through with the innate understanding and appreciation each man had for the other's work.

On `Autumn Leaves' Davis produces a muted solo the like of which perhaps no alto sax player then living could have matched. Adderley seems to know this because he just doesn't try to compete. Instead he produces a little gem of his own, marked with a joy of life quite at odds with Davis's melancholy eloquence.

On the title track the two men indulge in a little call-and-response with Davis taking the lead. He goes on to take a solo so tellingly sparse that again the business of trying to compete is simply a waste of time. Being sharp, Adderley knows this so proceeds to uncork something of his own, the earthiness of his work reaching right back to the origins of the music.

In summary `Somethin' Else' is one of those titles that won't ever let you down, but then it could hardly be any other way given the calibre of the musicians involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic., 5 May 2009
By 
David Smith (Redhill, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Jazz doesn't get any better than this.....well maybe Miles Davis' A Kind of Blue. Classic jazz and at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight to your heart like a Cannonball, 27 July 2011
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somethin' Else (Audio CD)
This whole album, from as long ago as 1958, is an utter delight from start to finish.
And what a start. An eleven-minute version of Autumn Leaves that announces the group`s intentions from the outset, with Miles Davis playing some of his freshest, most alluring trumpet. Although this is Adderley`s date, Miles proves throughout to be not only a generous, big-hearted sideman - some sideman! - but plays like a dream too.
Love For Sale is a gorgeous reading of the Cole Porter classic, a ballad played for all its subtleties with not a false note to be heard anywhere.
Things continue pretty much in this vein, Somethin` Else being a truly great jazz record that`s damn well impossible to fault. Another classic, Dancing In The Dark, consists of a gloriously confident, expansive four-minute alto sax solo from Cannonball backed only by the rhythm section - quite a section they are too: the superb Hank Jones, playing wonderful piano figures and some deft solos, Sam Jones excellent on bass, and the ever succinct Art Blakey making his feisty presence felt in the drum seat.
It`s been referred to in the past as more of a Miles album than Adderley`s. Stuff and nonsense. It hardly matters anyway when everyone`s so on the money as they are here. This is a band playing terrific music at full stretch, and I`m glad I`m alive to hear it.
Most highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is what you wanted, Alfred., 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somethin' Else (Audio CD)
If you're new to jazz, I cannot recommend this album highly enough. It's friendly and welcoming but also so, so classy. Stunning performances from Adderley, Davis and Blakey and terrific piano from Hank Jones combine to make this one of the best albums of all time of any genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Somethin' Else
Somethin' Else by Cannonball Adderley (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews