Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all, 20 May 2001
This review is from: Somethin' Else (Audio CD)
A stunning album, 'Somethin' Else' was a collaboration between three men - Julian 'Cannonball' Adderley, the credited bandleader; Alfred Lion, the producer and that inescapable great of jazz, Miles Davis. It always seems a bit harsh to Adderley that Miles gets so much more credit for this work than his sideman from 'Kind of Blue' - a much larger photo than the former for example - but then you sit back and realise that, as Musician noted in 1992, this is "...Among the candidates for 'greatest Miles Davis record'...". Miles has such a large role in the recording that you wonder if he is actually bandleader. Fortunately, this is not really important - and soloing from all the players is brilliant, Adderley especially.
You can refer to the liner notes for details of the tracks when you get the album - the bonus track 'Bangoon' is reason enough to buy this re-release. 1958 was a great year for jazz, and 'somethin' else' is right up there with the other great releases of its time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest of all the Blue Notes?, 29 Feb 2004
By 
Adam Ventress (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somethin' Else (Audio CD)
This was very much a collaborative effort between Cannonball Adderley and the master himself, Miles Davis, in a rare guest appearance. Adderley was part of Miles' sextet that recorded 'Milestones' around the same time as this recording, and Miles was returning the favour. Miles is, if anything, more dominant on this album than his own.
The beautiful opener 'Autumn Leaves',one of the truly great jazz recordings, is an example of this, as Miles takes three solos to Adderley's one, playing the theme at the beginning and end. The arrangement of this standard is inspired, the piano intro and outro by Hank Jones work superbly well, and Miles is at his lyrical, moody best.
'Love For Sale' is also excellent, particularly Miles' contribution, and it is interesting to compare with the version by Miles' sextet, including Adderley, recorded a few months later, and found on '58 Sessions.'
After those two slow/medium tracks, Miles' own 'Somethin Else' raises the tempo and contains blistering interplay between the two men, both playing brilliantly in a joyful and exuberant performance.
Adderley redresses the balance with 'Dancing in the Dark,' where he takes the only lead role and slowly builds momentum and emotion in his playing.
'One for Daddy O' is another fine track featuring both soloists in great form, and although the additional 'Rangoon' is a pefectly decent performance, the album would be as good without it, as it was in its original form, with Dancing in the Dark' as the closing track.
A classic album, and in my opinion the best of all Blue Note recordings; a must for fans of either star (and the supporting cast isn't bad either including Art Blakey on drums!) It offers yet another element to Miles' remarkable late 50s music, arguably the greatest period of his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for your collection, 14 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Somethin' Else (Audio CD)
One of the favourite CD's in my collection, this record is right up there with the best. Cannonball may be the leader, but Miles is absolutely superb. He plays the tunes like they belong to him and really inspires the band. The thing that impresses me most is Autumn Leaves. Seeing such a common tune on the track listing one thinks 'Oh not again!', but when Miles comes in with the tune, you have to smile with delight - HE'S THAT GOOD! Don't miss out on this great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, sublime, the finest jazz album I know, 4 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Somethin' Else (Audio CD)
One of my first jazz purchases, and the album against which I measure all others: and usually find wanting!
I picked up at random in the store, and it has become my jazz conversion album -- the one I buy for people who don't see why I love jazz.
A very close second to this album for me is Miles Davis, Kind of Blue.
I challenge you to not love this CD. "Autumn Leaves" alone will melt the hardest hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Miles of the mid fifties and a great band, 30 Dec 2001
This review is from: Somethin' Else (Audio CD)
A suberb mix of the introverted cool thoughtful Miles Davis and the extravert swing of Cannonball Adderley.
Everyone plays perfectly and you would think this was a well established unit, not a one off studio recording.
Each track is a beauty - no fillers or duds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eight quid that will change your life, 24 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Somethin' Else (Audio CD)
I'm not an expert, but this is my favourite jazz LP. I could listen to it all day every day and find something new. Overall, a brilliantly lazy relaxing sound, but on closer analysis precise and energetic. This CD contains a couple of extra tracks from the original session, so if you only have the vinyl version it's worth it for that alone. Plus, the recording quality is excellent. If you don't own it already, you owe it to yourself to buy this immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 15 May 2009
This review is from: Somethin' Else (Audio CD)
Some reviewers suggest that in reality this is a Miles Davis session - but in fact this record actually shows why Cannonball was such an excellent bandleader - his warmth and generosity is demonstrated by the fact that he only takes one brief solo in the stand-out Autumn Leaves, letting Miles take three - how tempting to dominate the first wonderful track. Listen to other great records such as Mercy Mercy Mercy to hear the way he talks about his band - lovely man. What really makes this album one of the true jazz essentials is the contrast between Miles' spare, bone-dry playing and Cannonball's warm, lyrical, ever-playful alto. They complement each other perfectly. Cannonball fan though I am, the stand-out moment of the record is the end of Autumn Leaves - the pace slows even further and Miles' trumpet almost breathes rather than plays - truly sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!, 24 Aug 2008
By 
martin jones (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Somethin' Else (Audio CD)
Somethin' Else: Remastered

Quite by chance I caught just three or four bars of the theme of "Autumn Leaves" on the radio. It was so obviously Miles, and at his very best. I immediately decided, on the basis of that brief snatch of melody, to try to get the CD. But it was not easy to run it down as, of course, the band was under the (nominal) leadership of Cannonball Adderley.

This is a wonderful CD with all players on top form and I heartily endorse what other reviewers have said. It is worth its modest price just for that exposition of the beautiful "Autumn Leaves" theme!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something Else, Julian Cannonball Adderley - Delicious bluesy jazz., 25 Mar 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Somethin' Else [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is definitely an album that should be on the list of top ten jazz albums to hear before you die. I think this for two reasons. Firstly, it is an interesting meeting between the old and the new. There are a couple of old standards here (Autumn Leaves and Love For Sale), which are given a `modern jazz' treatment, then a series of originals including the dreamily bluesy `Somethin Else' from Miles Davis. It shows how the old trad styles were giving way to the new bop sound. The second reason is that, musical history interest aside, it is an absolutely exquisite album. As well as alto sax man Adderley, there is Miles Davis on trumpet and Art Blakey on drums. With that much talent in the studio this could have been a bit of a mess as everyone competed for the limelight, but no, something truly exceptional resulted. A languorous, blue album of extended solos which just sweep you along. It's as beautiful a work of art as you could wish to hear. Adderley and Davis recorded `Kind Of Blue' a year later, regarded as one of the best jazz albums aver, but somewhat heretically I consider this to be better and more accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something Else, Julian Cannonball Adderley - Delicious bluesy jazz, 25 Mar 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somethin' Else (Audio CD)
This is definitely an album that should be on the list of top ten jazz albums to hear before you die. I think this for two reasons. Firstly, it is an interesting meeting between the old and the new. There are a couple of old standards here (Autumn Leaves and Love For Sale), which are given a `modern jazz' treatment, then a series of originals including the dreamily bluesy `Somethin Else' from Miles Davis. It shows how the old trad styles were giving way to the new bop sound. The second reason is that, musical history interest aside, it is an absolutely exquisite album. As well as alto sax man Adderley, there is Miles Davis on trumpet and Art Blakey on drums. With that much talent in the studio this could have been a bit of a mess as everyone competed for the limelight, but no, something truly exceptional resulted. A languorous, blue album of extended solos which just sweep you along. It's as beautiful a work of art as you could wish to hear. Adderley and Davis recorded `Kind Of Blue' a year later, regarded as one of the best jazz albums aver, but somewhat heretically I consider this to be better and more accessible.

This Rudy Van Gelder edition is pretty good. To my untutored ears the remastering is excellent, with a crisp clear tone that sounds good on my stereo. There is a good separation, and each musician can be heard clearly where it matters. There is an interesting extra in the form of the more hard bop Rangoon, which adds to the album considerably. A 5 star release of a 6 star album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Somethin' Else
Somethin' Else by Cannonball Adderley (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews