Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great way to complete a Del Shannon 60's collection
When BGO reissued Del's 60's LP's on CD a while back (and they are excellent by the way), I had hoped that all non-LP singles sides would be issued as bonus tracks. Unfortuntately, this was not the case. This 2 CD set rectifies the situation as it contains every 45 single side (from US, UK, and Phillipines) issued by Del on the Big Top, Berlee, and Amy labels in the early...
Published on 18 April 2001 by Charles Phelps

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars truly great music from a truly talented singer
Any one whio can listen to "since she's been gone" and not fully empathise with the mood of this song must surely have a heart of stone. And this is only one of the many wonderful tunes available on this album.
Del Shannon is consistent in his delivery and you know that any song is going to be good. The only problem with this album is that it has so much...
Published on 19 Mar 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great way to complete a Del Shannon 60's collection, 18 April 2001
By 
Charles Phelps (McKinney, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
When BGO reissued Del's 60's LP's on CD a while back (and they are excellent by the way), I had hoped that all non-LP singles sides would be issued as bonus tracks. Unfortuntately, this was not the case. This 2 CD set rectifies the situation as it contains every 45 single side (from US, UK, and Phillipines) issued by Del on the Big Top, Berlee, and Amy labels in the early 60's. Thus it includes tracks not readily available elsewhere such as "The Wamboo"--the flip side of "Little Town Flirt".
The sound is just fabulous. I guess Charly must've gotten their hands on some low-generation masters. The fold out booklet has a good essay on Shannon's career, primarily focusing on the years the set covers, 1961-65. It also includes a discography of that era.
The only complaints, if there must be any, is that stereo masters were used in some cases rather than the original mono singles masters. Nitpicking? Maybe a little. However, because of this, "Hey! Little Girl" is missing Del's harmony vocal. It was dubbed onto the original mono master at mix time making the mono version the only 'real' version of the song (thankfully it is included on the BGO Runaway/Hats Off...CD).
Get this CD, the BGO reissues, and the hard-to-find US CD "Liberty Years" and you will have a complete record of Shannon's 60's output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Del Shannon, The Definitive Collection - Hats off to Del!, 24 Mar 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
This, as far as I can tell, is one of the best collections of Del Shannon's work currently available. This two disc collection collects together 40 of his best tracks, including all the big hits such as `Runaway' and `Hats off to Larry'.

I bought this as I was looking for a copy of `Runaway', and found myself amazed at the quality of the other tracks. There is a wealth of material here, mostly in the vein, all with Del's distinctive vocalisations and all uniformly excellent. There are covers of quite a few tracks that were hits for Roy Orbison (`Running Scared' and `Crying' for example), and I am starting to prefer Del's versions to Roy's (quite an accolade from a die hard Orbison fan such as myself!)

The sound quality is OK, and there is a decent booklet with an essay about Del Shannon's recording career. This really is a great set even if you only want one or two of the big hits - I can assure you you'll be listening to it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars truly great music from a truly talented singer, 19 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Any one whio can listen to "since she's been gone" and not fully empathise with the mood of this song must surely have a heart of stone. And this is only one of the many wonderful tunes available on this album.
Del Shannon is consistent in his delivery and you know that any song is going to be good. The only problem with this album is that it has so much material on it that you can't help but feel they were scaping the barrel at times.
On the whole though, this is an album that puts you in the mood -it doesn't matter what mood you want to be put into, this is the music to take you there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive hits collection, 9 Mar 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
It appears that Del Shannon (born Charles Westover) was more popular in Britain than his American homeland although his first and biggest hit, Runaway, was a huge 1961 hit in both countries.
In Britain, he had seven further top ten hits, these being Hats off to Larry, So long baby, Hey little girl, Swiss maid, Little town flirt, Two kinds of teardrops and Keep searching. Most of them made the UK top five. Del had minor UK hits with Cry myself to sleep, Two silhouettes, Sue's gotta be mine, Mary Jane, Handy man and Stranger in town. The run of hits ended in 1965.
All of Del's UK hits are here, together with his covers of pop songs that were originally hits for Roy Orbison), Elvis Presley, Dion, Bruce Channel, Jay and the Americans, the Beatles, Peter and Gordon, the Four Seasons and Gene Pitney among others. There are also covers of country songs by George Jones, Hank Williams, adapted (like the pop covers) to suit Del's style.
This is an outstanding collection of Del's finest music. If you enjoy rock'n'roll music of the early sixties, you will surely enjoy this compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The word "definitive" is a understatement!, 18 Feb 2014
By 
W. Taylor (Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
This is most possibly the best Del Shannon collection there is around, certainly the best that I have ever come across.

Contains a few rarities that don't often appear on collections like these such as "The Snake" that is a non Del Shannon track but recorded by Max Crook the keyboardist who played in the instrumental break of "Runaway" that was accidentally released as the B side on the first few thousand copies of the single (a real collectors item!) and the recordings for Pepsi Ads which I previously had never heard before but obviously another gem.

Another few other tracks I hadn't heard before were: The Wamboo, Since She's Been Gone, Time of Day, Stains on My Letter & This is All I Have to Give.

There is another collecton which bears the same title also released by Charly under the Snapper Music label, THIS ONE IS BY FAR MUCH BETTER! More tracks and more comprehensive (covers all areas - A/B-Sides, album tracks, covers, and rarities)

BUY WHILST YOU CAN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Del is still a star., 6 Aug 2009
By 
essex eagle (Romford, Essex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
I have always loved Del's music, this album has all he's greatest hits plus lots of covers, which is why i bought it, love needles and pins, which was an orignal by the searchers plus twist and shout, rag doll, go away little girl etc, a splendid album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A two way influence, 7 April 2008
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Shannon influnced the Beatles they influenced him.Hence the first American to cover their then current hit From me to you.
But the lower review is incorrect-theres no sign of The Wamboo on this CD neither are other B sides included like Jody,The answer to everything and Ginny in the mirror.
Plenty of covers though to my delight.
However album tracks like his Hank Williams covers can be found here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my kind of music, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
great tracks would recommend to a friend
not heard a lot of the songs in a long while
would concider buying more of the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great nostalgia., 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Del Shannon was my first pop idol, and it is good to hear his stuff on CD, even if my tastes have changed somewhat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2 CD Pack the definitive del shannon...buy it now, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Recommend to all fans of Del Shannon, it has a very big range of his songs included on 2 CDs at a very good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Definitive Collection
The Definitive Collection by Del Shannon (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews