Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what has happened to this album
bought this album on day of release in 1985 as a 14 year old just gettin over being into queen and wham.heard never understand and thought what the hell have i been missing .totally changed my listening habits forever.no record before(and none since)has affected me so dramatically.every song on this album is a classic pop song,some are hidden behind layers of feedback...
Published on 14 July 2006 by Mr. P. J. James

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over-rated slice of British psychedelia
Jesus And Marychain coined 'feedback-pop' which was a variation on the psychedelic revival of the 1980s. The idea was quite simple, certainly not new and clinically cynical in its concept and execution. Rather like the musical version of the alchemist's, the band took the Velvet Underground's 'White Light White Heat', added a catchy melody and Phil Spector's 'wall of...
Published on 5 Sept. 2010 by Daniel Margrain


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Essential purchase to understand the history of indie, 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychocandy (MP3 Download)
About halfway through me playing this album, the other half came in: "What on earth's this? It's just a load of feedback." Er, yes, that's the point. The feedback-drenched equivalent of the chainsaw as a musical instrument, until you burrow beneath the monotone wall-of-noise surface to the melodies and well-hidden commercial touches. The Velvet Underground and Joy Division influences are obvious, but JMC managed to mould these into the antidote to much of what was ghastly about over-produced, glossy, early synth-based '80s music. An acquired taste, certainly, but rarely has so much raw energy been so effectively packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This before you buy anything else, 1 July 2000
By 
mass (London UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Psycho Candy (Audio CD)
If God made music it probably wouldn't sound like this however I'm sure even the divine one would try to rip this off. The Marychain are possibly the most important indie band in the last 20 years and this was their launch pad. From the off the album winds its way around your soul speaking to you of your bad days; ; your good days and why it really does feel good to be down. Just like honey really does sound like it was recorded in a tin shed and the opening line "listen to the girl as she takes on half the world" sets the tone for the marychains assault on the musical world. If you plan to buy an indie album start here and then buy the rest of the marychain albums you really will do yourself a favour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Words - BUY. THIS. ALBUM, 29 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Psycho Candy (Audio CD)
Released in 1985, I wore out the grooves of this album within 6 months, having played it every single day.
Each track has the ability to this day to make the hairs on the back of my neck stand up.
This is as near to perfection as music gets - imagine Brian Wilson writing songs for the Ronettes , which are then covered by the Sex Pistols and remixed by the Velvet Underground.
It is hard to single out any standout tracks, but special mention must go to Never Understand, Just like Honey and Something's Wrong.
One tiny gripe - why bother putting Some Candy Talking on the CD? It was released some time after this album and does not really fit in. Those looking for the best version of this song should search out the version that was given away free with the NME, in early 1986 I think.
You are welcome to your mediocrity (Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, anyone?), THIS is the Real Deal.
Anyway, just writing this review has made me want to have the hairs on the back of my neck stand up again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music to my Brain, 26 Aug. 2002
This review is from: Psycho Candy (Audio CD)
In the beginning, there was feedback. Two brothers from Glasgow discovered the power behind it and decided to harness it to benefit all mankind. They wrote a song titled 'Upside Down' and with that, they left a legend...
...The aptly named 'Psychocandy' was the first album from the Jesus And Mary Chain and the most original album ever to have emerged from Scotland. They created an indescribably wonderous sound like no other, which few have attempted to copy.
Anyone who has heard the album's singles: The beautiful 'Just Like Honey', the sweet, sweet 'Some Candy Talking', the whirlwind like 'Never Understand' and the thunderous 'You Trip Me Up' have only scratched the surface of this classic debut. Great album tracks are the true heart of this album. No one will ever write a song as heavy as 'Taste The Floor', or as exciting and adrenaline-pumped as 'The Living End' again.
Loved by magazines and alternative music types alike, this album was a milestone in more than just the Rock'n'Roll genre, but music itself! It is as essential a purchase as Jeff Buckley's 'Grace' or The Super Furry Animals 'Radiator'.
Take it with two hedex and review in the morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Before alternative...there was Jesus & Mary Chain., 23 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Psycho Candy (Audio CD)
A wise man once said that the simple things in life are often the best. The Jesus & Mary Chain epitomize what is best in the alternative arena via emotional, simple songs. If Psychocandy was a wet rag being twisted and rung, the substances extracted would be love, sadness, anger, and joy. As with most JMC albums, Psychocandy contains whisping verse over accoustic play, emotional chorus over power chord triads, and the most grating feedback ever heard. Over the years JMC has exemplified that simple, emotionally true writing often outweighs virtuosity - displayed on this album. This stuff may be simplistic, but man it's a great listen. If your ears can stand the feedback, I highly recommend Psychocandy (& all JMC albums) as an anchor to any alternative collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best pizza you've ever tasted., 30 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Psycho Candy (Audio CD)
Everything you need to know about the group is captured in the genius polarity of the title'Psychocandy'. Not since the Velvets have the extremeties of relationships-mental knives and entwined tongues, rage and tenderness-been imploded quite so magnificently as in the sound and vision of the unChained. It all fits.
William's re-fused guitar mutilated by electric shocks and screaming streams of white-noise-consciousness, Gillespie and Hart's hollow echo of lost rhythmic innocence, while between the sonic states of heaven and hell Jim Reid murmurs the joy and hate of falling in and out of love with others and himself.
Leather's caress, being a plastic toy, feeling soul clean, the eroticism of motorbikes, walking from A to B just to see, this is a sexy dream of a record. A wonderful soundtrack for romantics everywhere. The kiss in the fist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brooding beauty, 18 Jan. 2004
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Psycho Candy (Audio CD)
Inspired by The Velvet Underground and perhaps The Cure, The J&M Chain made feedback and distortion an integral part of their wall of sound, creating a unique and distinctive niche in rock music. It was in the way they did it - the distortion never sounds intrusive or discordant but complements the detached vocals for a cohesive music of eerie beauty. In this crucial way the music differs from most of the output of the industrial genre, in that it has a flowing, hypnotic quality. My favorite tracks on this seminal album include Just Like Honey, The Living End, The Hardest Walk, Sowing Seeds, My Little Underground and the sublime You Trip Me Up, a poignant blend of the tender and the ominous. Psychocandy is a successful experiment in blending feedback with melody, creating atmospheric but always tuneful soundscapes that linger in the mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars F**KING BRILLIANT, 31 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Psycho Candy (Audio CD)
The first time ever I heard the Jesus and Marychain in 1984 I was blown away. The excessive use of feedback, simplistic drumming by Bobby Gillespie(Yes Primal Screams Mainman). It was beautiful. The pre-album singles didn't let me down one bit. And then the album. What can I say? It is among my 5 all time favourite albums, surpassed only by The Velvet Undergrounds White Light/White Heat album. Psychocandy is noisy, obnoxious and assaulting but absof**kinglutely beautiful, all the things a really great popalbum should be. The songs, the noise, everything about it is the mental medication the title does suggest. 5 stars out of five is not enough really. F**KING BRILLIANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psycho Candy (Audio CD)
Unmissable - rock music would never be the same again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 15 years on and still stunning, 28 April 2004
By 
Ian Peter Burrows "ianburrows5" (Reigate, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psycho Candy (Audio CD)
The sad thing is that probably only people looking for JAMC will ever readthis review, and they'll already know the truth about Psychocandy. On theoff chance that you stumble across Psychocandy, better chance on Amazonthan anywhere else I guess, JAMC's first LP is simply outstanding. After15+ years it still sees regular play and The Hardest Walk still resides inmy top 5 tracks of all time.
For people of a certain age Psychocandyis a seminal work sitting comfortably alongside; Power, Corruption & Lies,The Stone Roses, Disintegration, London Calling, A Northern Soul,Doolittle, Nevermind or Hunky Dory - it's simply an LP you have to have inthe collection.
Sadly I won't witness the wonders of the 10 minuteassault as I did at ULU many summers ago, but a few glasses of wine, alate summers evening and Psychocandy at about volume 15 still sends thetingles down the back of your neck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psycho Candy
Psycho Candy by Jesus & Mary Chain (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews